Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The end of western civilisation?
The second instalment in this series focuses on building an image of a world where American economic and military might disappears suddenly. With most of the population and economy gone (but much of its military assets temporarily still available) those remaining fight to decide what a new America might look like. Internally this develops broadly as conflict between...
Published 20 months ago by Adrian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first
A reasonable read but not up to the standard of the first in the sequence (Without Warning) It is as if the story is running out of steam, the characters and developing storyline are struggling to remain believable.
Published 13 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The end of western civilisation?, 2 April 2013
By 
Adrian (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Without Warning - After America (Paperback)
The second instalment in this series focuses on building an image of a world where American economic and military might disappears suddenly. With most of the population and economy gone (but much of its military assets temporarily still available) those remaining fight to decide what a new America might look like. Internally this develops broadly as conflict between idealist immigration supporters and "America for Americans" rejectionists. Externally this divides into former allies and former enemies with the BRICS overall surprisingly quiet.

The bogeymen and the plot are perhaps a little predictable but I thoroughly enjoyed the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put this one down either!, 30 Aug 2014
By 
Mieczyslaw Kasprzyk (Oldham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without Warning - After America (Paperback)
After reading "Without Warning" I couldn't let too much time pass by before I read the next in the trilogy. In "Without Warning" the apocalypse has happened, at least for North America. Birmingham built up a plausible world of chaos and survival. In "After America" we are three years into that post-apocalyptic world. The US has been virtually emptied of all human life, great destruction has occurred, now it is time for something to fill that vacuum. Once again John Birmingham does a very plausible job of painting one possible way things would develop... and it's not a nice world. It is unsafe, violent, full of fanatical extremists trying to establish their own fiefdoms and of a rump US trying to create some sort of stability in a world where it is no longer number one.
I found this to be a very thrilling ride with just enough variation of pace to keep the various storylines running and keeping my attention riveted on the page. There were times it read like a war novel, others when it read like a spy novel, but there were also times when it was very much in the post-apocalypse genre. I would give this book five stars but I'm trying to reserve those for truly mind-boggling stuff... This was a close-run thing. I can't wait to read the next in the series....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without Warning - After America (Paperback)
I liked John Birmingham's ww 2.1 books however this just did not work for me on any level, it lacked the invention and flare of his first books. I fould this to be deeply Disappointing I will keep any on his other books to see if they get better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SF from the near future, 3 April 2014
By 
Michael Coleman "micole" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without Warning - After America (Paperback)
This trilogy explores the social and military effects of a huge disaster befalling the USA and then goes on to show how the whole world depends upon the USA rising from the ashes in its usual predictably robust form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A reasonable read but not up to the standard of the first in the sequence (Without Warning) It is as if the story is running out of steam, the characters and developing storyline are struggling to remain believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Flick Read, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is what I call a flick read - story was good, but there were large sections where I could just scan the pages and it didn't interest me. So, flick onto the next section that has some relevance. A long book with only a few really interesting bits. Could have been shorter with less padding. However, the timing of the coming together at the end was not good or believable. The whole series was just too long with too much padding. Preferred the World War series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating follow up to WITHOUT WARNING, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without Warning - After America (Paperback)
It was good to see some of the original characters from WITHOUT WARNING and again the realism of JOHN BIRMINGHAM leaves you unsure of what will become of these characters as you turn the pages. It leaves you where THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK left us before RETURN OF THE JEDI sorted out the Star Wars triology. I am about to start ANGELS OF VENGEANCE and cannot wait to see the worlds progress since AFTER AMERICA finshed. Great stuff !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, can't wait to read the final in series, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without Warning - After America (Paperback)
This book is a good sequel to Without Warning. The characters and plot are developed well from the first book. I was so disappointed when the book ended, as I was on holiday and had to wait to return to order the 3rd and final in the series.The only dissappointment is it is still not clear what caused the initial event, I hope the author puts me out of my misery by the end of the final book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Keeps Getting Better, 6 July 2013
By 
J. N. Bullock "JNB" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Without Warning - After America (Paperback)
John Birmingham is an author who has nothing to prove but he does keep turning out really fine stories.

After America is the second episode of an alternate history that sees American economic, political and a good bit of the military might virtually disappear overnight. Now there will be those out there that think that that is no bad thing but if it did happened and the world turns out anything like Birmingham's projection it would be a bad world to live in. This second instalment deals with the various rival factions who are trying to establish a new country but those factions are pulling in very different directions.

The plot is a little dis-jointed at times but in a way that adds to the excitement of the whole story rather than detract from it and I have to say that this is a real page turner.

Well done Mr Birmingham...more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars kept me hooked, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just about kept me going with it . In danger at times of losing me with too much detail but flitting between the characters and individual story lines worked well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Without Warning - After America
Without Warning - After America by John Birmingham (Paperback - 22 Feb 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews