Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dramatic start for Birmingham's new series
John Birmingham's latest novel wastes no time launching its premise: on March 14, 2003, as the world awaits the impending start of the Iraq War, a massive energy bubble appears in North America, instantly wiping out every lifeform within it. In the weeks that follow, the world faces the consequences of the loss of the world's sole superpower. The military attempt to...
Published on 6 Feb 2009 by MarkK

versus
64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the earlier Axis of Time trilogy, but still entertaining
14 March 2003. The world watches on as the United States and her allies prepare for the controversial invasion of Iraq. What happens next is totally unexpected: a field of energy materialises over the North American continent, stretching from north-east of Newfoundland to just north of Acapulco, and from just south-east of Seattle to a few miles north of Guantanamo Bay...
Published on 18 Feb 2009 by A. Whitehead


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A different premis for a disaster movie., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without Warning (Kindle Edition)
Set in 1991 just prior to the first gulf war most of Amercia is destroyed by an unknown energy field. The story is about how different people around the globe cope. The story lasts about a year. This is the first of three books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars without warning, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without Warning (Paperback)
Having read a page of this book in a local bookshop i decided to buy
this book. I have not regretted it. The story line is excellent and the
characters believable. John Birmingham knowledge of the military
Is amazing. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dam good read, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without Warning (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book well written , good characters and storyline , can not wait to read sequels , well done john Birmingham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Flick read, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without Warning (Kindle Edition)
This is what I call a flick read - story was good, but there were large sections where I could just scan the pages and it didn't interest me. So, flick onto the next section that has some relevance. A long book with only a few really interesting bits. Could have been shorter with less padding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without Warning (Paperback)
The only reason I haven't given it the 5 star treatment is that I wanted to give After America 5 stars and I think the 2nd book in the series is better, but then I am an action junky,
I'm probably not deep enough to follow the characterisation as well as it deserves so that me problem not the author's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful premise, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Without Warning (Paperback)
Loved the book and two subsequent stories John Birmingham is top of my 'must have' list. Long may he continue to enthrall us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Future history or is it..., 16 Mar 2013
This review is from: Without Warning (Kindle Edition)
The book has a very interesting premise, what would happen if the USA wasnt there anymore?

Now I bought this hoping for something a little deeper, thought it would explore a little more deeply what the world would be like if the USA was wiped of the face of the world. Instead what I got was a very good Future/alternative history, though it is a potted alternative history.
I thoroughly enjoyed the book, its a good piece of scifi and the only reason it didnt get 5 stars is its a little rushed at the end. Now there are 3 in the series but i really wanted a little more depth from the characters. If it was always planned to be a series then there was no need to rush the end, if it wasn't then that's unforgivable. A missed opportunity.

OK the story revolves round a sudden energy wave taking out the USA, you have a number of characters to follow and it all blends in very well. Ask yourself what Israel do if it was all alone and surrounded by enemies? How would the UK turn out? France would it celebrate or implode? as for the survivors in what is left of the USA what would they do? can the Constitution still be effective or will it be mob rule?

John Birmingham speculates on some of these answers, though not too deeply.

Its a well written story that could have been a brilliant story, Some of the characters I didn't care about but some i did. Its hard to tell a story from multiple view points and the characters I liked others wont and visa versa. that said I have bought the next one in the series and another book by Mr Birmingham. So no worries on his writing style.

But Mr Birmingham if only, if only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but a little bland, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The concept is a sound one and the writing is strong but unfortunately the story side tracks into some conspiracy theories & then politics that make the overall premise stagnant unfortunately this leaves the reader feeling like the overall story stalled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars techno-thriller with a twist, 1 Feb 2013
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Without Warning (Paperback)
Author John Birmingham enjoys producing "what if?" novels with interesting themes. His first trilogy was about a modern battlefleet being caught in a time warp and dropped back in WW2. And the subsequent impact on WW2.

In this we have a mysterious energy wave that drops on the most of the US (and bits of Canada and Cuba) and wipes out all humans leaving an impenetrable barrier. That is the early set up and the book then gives us a perspective of a few set characters and a vision of what would happen to the world if the US suddenly was no longer in the picture. It is also set back in the time when the coalition forces were sitting in Kuwait about to kick off he invasion of Iraq, so this happens when significant American forces are outside the US but suddenly have no command structure.

So along with individual stories, we have how the world economy reacts, how different countries react and how the isolated elements of the US deal with their new position. It's very dark and felt very well researched with considerable thought. It essentially is the story of a world in collapse through the eyes of a number of individuals. The author also gives real people roles and reactions (for instance Blair as UK Prime Minister basically seals up Britain after chucking out any `undesirables') which made it feel very realistic. It is in essence a techno-thriller but a very intelligent one.

So I thought this was a well written page turner which also made you think a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Without warning, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good, just the right amount of interwoven plots to make it so you won't put it down. One of the better " what if" books. Can't wait to down load the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Without Warning
Without Warning by John Birmingham (Paperback - 4 Jan 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews