Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Man of Steel
Man of Steel is a great novelisation of my favourite film of the year so far. It's fast-paced and exciting, and includes lots more detail, thoughts and explanations than the film does. This is why I love film and TV tie-in novels so much; they're like a bonus round in a video game, full of extra juicy bits that you don't see on the screen. While this particular novel...
Published 12 months ago by Jenny, Wondrous Reads

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book but a frustrating number of mistakes
I've just finished reading Greg Cox's novelisation of MAN OF STEEL and while I enjoyed the book there were many sentences with missing or repeated words which was frustrating.

There is an example of this every few pages in an otherwise well edited book. For example on page 308 there is a line that reads "There was a lot of work of work to do,". This was really...
Published 12 months ago by RICHARD HAWES


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Man of Steel Rocks!!!, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel: The Official Movie Novelization (Mass Market Paperback)
If you loved the movie and want to see the actual early draft that was based on the film with a few changes then get this book.

If you enjoyed the movie but were left confused by some plot threads, character actions and other confusing things then get this book because it will in some ways help explain away those problems.

If you love Greg Cox or reading Movie Novelizations in general then get this book. It was a fun read and also interesting to help understand the world of that Zack Snyder and David Goyer have created in the movie universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superman, 5 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good reboot to a classic hero, an exciting story that brings a new slant to his origin. In all a good piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel: The Official Movie Novelization (Mass Market Paperback)
Really good, I love the fact they have some of the quotes from the movie. But the only thing I dislike is the size of the book. I felt it was a bit small (not page wise but hight). I found it a bit annoying and fiddly. But it is well worth the money, I wise I spent the extra to get the hard back version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good novel and enjoyable read however the film beats it hands down!, 30 Jun 2013
By 
D. Kingsley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book as a whole was a very good read and kept to the most part to Zack Zynder's vision and David Goyles and Christopher Nolan's screenplay, but and this is big BUT, Greg Cox's adaptation fell short of the great movie that Zack Zynder presented. There are subtle differences between the film and the book and it does make a difference:

In the film the molten lava on Krypton is yellow/gold not the green radioactive lava mentioned in the book
In the film Kal-El's uniform is dark navy with a dark crimson cloak, in the book Greg Cox keeps referring to it as bright blue,
yellow and red!
In the book Faora calls Kal-El a 'dog', I don't remember this in the film and its highly unlikely an alien would know what a dog is!
In the book the history of Krypton is shown on screens, in the film its done by liquid metal.

Greg Cox's description of the Scout Ship was poor, and obviously done without referring to the film or prequel comic.
In the book he describes 4 couches, 3 of which contain skeletons. He also describes clothes hanging up, one of which was the uniform that once belonged to Kal-El's ancestor - amazingly Kal-El and his ancestor are the same size!!

The film clearly shows 4 cryogenic pods, one of which is empty, the other 3 containing skeletons. The uniform is shown to be in a chamber on its own which was initially behind a closed-door panel. It is the AI Jor-El who opens the panel to this chamber; it is also quite obvious that the AI Jor-El has also just generated the said uniform for his son as the uniform is clearly for the male form. It's a shame Greg Cox did not co-ordinate properly with Zack Synder over this as in Synder's universe the scout ship actually belongs to Kara Zor-El aka Girl of Steel an ancestor of Kal, her story can be found in the prequel to Man of Steel. So no guesses as to whom the empty cryogenic pod belongs to. So the question is where is she, like the Kryptonians in the film, her body will need to adapt to earth's atmosphere and recover from cryogenic sleep - so was she somewhere else in the ship adapting when Kal was aboard and did she meet Jor-El after Kal left the ship and download a copy of him onto her key. Clothes won't be a problem as the chamber will form clothes similar to the one's she left Krypton in. Hopefully if she makes an appearance in the next film this will all be answered.

If I had to choose between the book and the film, it would be the film. Zack's vision of the man of steel universe was fresh and a far cry from the original cheesy version. It was a relief not to be plagued with green kryptonite. I know some people were moaning about the violence and destruction, but most of the action hero films (The Avengers, Thor, Iron Man) are all violent. It would have made the film totally unrealistic if Kal would have been able to save everyone. In the film the word 'superman very rarely popped up. It made a nice change to refer to him as the man of steel or his Earth or Kryptonian names, let's face it the word Superman has not exactly been that lucky. I just wish David Goyles and Christopher Nolan had also written the novel adaptation as well.

I felt Greg Cox whilst trying to keep to Zynder's vision kept slipping back to the past versions of Superman, which has no place in the new revamped Man of Steel. I hope they find a way to bring Jor-El back either through Kara, the ships that were wrecked or Black Zero if it returns in a future movie. There was no mention of Jor-El being removed from Black Zero in the book or film. The new version of Jor-El was amazing and fresh; it portrayed him not only as a genius scientist but a very powerful and athletic warrior. Russell Crowe really nailed the part, as did Henry Cavill as the Man of Steel.

Everyone has their own opinion, but would highly recommend that you buy the book, but make sure you see the film before reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film and super book!, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed the new film so just had to read the novelisation. Bought the Kindle version and could hardly put it down. It followed the film almost exactly and filled in a few blanks. A really good read especially for Superman fans. Can't wait for the sequel. Hope there's more than one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I ordered this by mistake, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel: The Official Movie Novelization (Mass Market Paperback)
I contacted the dealer and had a nice reply to my email and a full refund. I give him (they) 10 out of 10 for the best customer relations; plus a good show of thoughtfulness also understanding of others problems. I have a grate sense of respect also thankfulness for there way of dealing with customers. EXCELLENT sevice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superman lives, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best Superman since first two movies. Darker than I expected but uplifting none the less. No doubt SUPERMAN REBORN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man of Steel: The Official Movie Novelization
Man of Steel: The Official Movie Novelization by Greg Cox (Mass Market Paperback - 18 Jun 2013)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews