Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starting to Bring the Story Together ...
Another instalment in the Collegium series - and the story is now coming to its conclusion. I'll not give any of the plot away, but there is plot development and more of an insight into Mags' origins.

I thoroughly enjoyed this instalment.
Published 4 months ago by Lily the Pink

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but not worth the price of buying
This is the fifth book and it looks as if it needs another one to finish it all off properly - when in reality the whole lot could have been done in three good books. I regret to say it but I think Mercedes Lackey has lost her inventiveness and is now relying on her name and reputation and the fact that she and the publishers know people will buy her books in series just...
Published 6 months ago by Joyanbluboy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but not worth the price of buying, 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar) (Paperback)
This is the fifth book and it looks as if it needs another one to finish it all off properly - when in reality the whole lot could have been done in three good books. I regret to say it but I think Mercedes Lackey has lost her inventiveness and is now relying on her name and reputation and the fact that she and the publishers know people will buy her books in series just to see the thing through; but really this series has to have been a bit of a waste of space and the worst she has written. An awful lot of trivial scenes that really don't bring excitement or anticipation to the story at all and are quite simply padding it out to novel length. The characters much more wooden and almost boring to be honest. Certainly not worth the money and in future any books will be borrowed from the library and then bought if enjoyed but if this is typical of what she has to offer from now on she'd be better retiring and resting on the laurels of her earlier books which were far superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointment, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar) (Paperback)
I have read nearly every Mercedes Lackey book written, I thought after the comments readers had posted on prevoius book in The Collegium Chronicles book 4, Miss Lackey may have upped her game as book 4 was full of empty chapters, ramdomly selecting whole tracts of previous titles in this series, and rambling on at great length about kirball games. I am so sorry to say i was incredibly disapointed in Bastion, it was just a novel filled with mundane information on ramdom people who had no impact on the plot, should have rounded up the first 3 books to include the conclusion and left it as a trilogy! Shame loved Mags etc in earlier books, I just feel ripped of not worth the paper printed on let alone the money i paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Painfully slow, 12 Oct 2013
By 
J. Mcpherson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar) (Paperback)
I have to agree with other reviewers that this story could have been told in 3 books. After a good first book, the action practically ground to a halt in the remaining books. This last book was the worst. Hardly surprising since the only thing left to tell us was where Mags had come from. Nothing really happens until the last few pages, which eventually tell us what we want to know. The ending was very rushed as if the author was as bored writing it, as I was, reading it. I'm not entirely sure that the fault lies with the author, as this seems to be quite common for these series. I suspect that the publishers, having got a popular book, want to drag out the series for as many books as possible. I am getting so fed up with this tactic, that I am increasingly reluctant to start reading a new series. In the case of the Collegium Chronicles, if the first book had been as slow as the others, Mags would barely have made it to Haven by the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely tied up ending to the trilogy but slowly paced, 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar) (Paperback)
I listened to this as part of my Audible subscription. For readers of the previous books, this ties up all the unanswered questions and is probably a 'must' read. Like all other Mercedes Lackey books it is entertaining and an easy read. That said, the book is quite slowly paced and leaves the real action until right at the end.

For those readers who haven't read the previous books, it is lacking as the real enjoyment comes from finding out how the characters are progressing and as I've said, the action is slow. Indeed, the book could probably be reduced by a third.

So my conclusion is that although I enjoyed it, it isn't really worth the price of a hardback copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starting to Bring the Story Together ..., 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar) (Paperback)
Another instalment in the Collegium series - and the story is now coming to its conclusion. I'll not give any of the plot away, but there is plot development and more of an insight into Mags' origins.

I thoroughly enjoyed this instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Satisfactory Conclusion, 1 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar) (Paperback)
This is the fifth of five books telling the tale of Mags, an orphan made a mine slave and then Chosen as a Herald Trainee.
In my mind, it is the best of all the 'Collegium' books. It has a good story, it is fast moving (at least, compared to the other books!) and it introduces some new and very believeable characters, as well as answering a lot of outstanding questions from the earlier books. It is obviously set a long time earlier than Queen Selenay's rule, maybe not much more than 100 years afte the 'Last Herald Mage' which means that some aspects of Valdemar are different. The villages round The Bastion itself, for instance.
The one question I keep asking myself, though, is: 'Did Mercedes Lacky write this series?'. I'm still not sure. The style is totally different from most of her earlier books and if you compare Mags with Talia's pickpocket friend Skif (Take a Thief), there are considerable differences in the way the two similar stories are handled. Part of this may be due to a different publisher, Titan instead of Daw, with different sized books, different formatting and even different font styles, so that these books actually LOOK different, but to my mind, it doesn't read like she wrote them. Worked out the plot lines, yes, but the actual writing style doesn't seem to be hers - and this is maybe why some readers don't like the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A suitable end to a controversial series, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Russell Hafter (Lake District, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar) (Paperback)
Having not been utterly enthralled by these books, each bought as they appeared, I sat down and read the whole story right through again from the beginning over the lat week.

This way, it all hangs to gether much better.

Ideally, all five books should probably have been published in one single volume, rather like some massive Victorian novel, which is what the whole thing reminded me of at times. But neither author, nor the publishers, nor the book shops, would have made as much profit out of that!

Unlike the individual volumes in most of Mercedes Lackey's other Valdemar series, the individual books tend not to stand up well on their own - the ending of 'Foundation' is, after all, a cliffhanger, not an ending, and much the same can be said of the other books too.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with these books containing significantly more background info about Haven and about the society in which Heralds, Healers and Bards train and develop, and many readers will welcome this, but I can see that others may prefer something much pacier.

If you have not yet read these books, be aware of this difference from some of Mercedes Lackey's earlier work. To be honest, it is probably not worth starting with any book in the series except 'Foundation', the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars An unexciting tale of nothing, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar) (Paperback)
I have to confess that I am a die hard fan of Lackey's books. But this one is not to her credit. Watching paint dry would have been more exciting than this compilation of irrelevant details, meaningless conversations and boring characters. What was bad about part three and four has got even worse in this instalment and if this is the way the author intends to continue I will borrow any new books from the library because they are not worth buying.
The main character wanders aimlessly through a non-existent plot, secondary characters are only decorative with nothing substantial to tell about plot or characters. The whole thing looks and reads like Lackey's exploration of the character from a forgotten notebook. And that is where it should have stayed.
Conclusion: Don't waste your money, reread some earlier books of hers you already have or
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bastion, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar) (Paperback)
Not one of Mercedes Lackey's best books. Not much new happens and I actually got bored. Strangely it felt as if she was writing for a younger audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars xmas presnt, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar) (Paperback)
finished all 5 what will i read know what a brilliant set of books to read will now be looking for more from the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0bd16c0)

This product

The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar)
The Collegium Chronicles - Bastion (Book 5) (Valdemar) by Mercedes Lackey (Paperback - 4 Oct 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews