Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars mixed with bond
This story is Drew Karpyshyn at his best. This story takes place after the Immortal Sith Emperor is feared dead the Dark Counsel and Sith Lords are on the back foot in the war with the Republic. They have one major ace up their sleeves. The Ascendant Spear. The biggest, fastest, deadliest star ship ever created. It is an amalgam of engineering, Sith alchemistry (magic),...
Published 18 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a different hero
I enjoyed that the story was not based around a jedi/sith hero and it developed known character backgrounds. If you are into the Old republic you will enjoy this book but i found myself thinking it was just to easy for him to bypass high security systems.
Published 19 months ago by ROBERT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars mixed with bond, 5 Feb 2013
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story is Drew Karpyshyn at his best. This story takes place after the Immortal Sith Emperor is feared dead the Dark Counsel and Sith Lords are on the back foot in the war with the Republic. They have one major ace up their sleeves. The Ascendant Spear. The biggest, fastest, deadliest star ship ever created. It is an amalgam of engineering, Sith alchemistry (magic), and Human/Falleen interaction. Thanks to cybernetic enhancement a Sith Lord can take control of the ship and uses it as an extension of her own will.

Theron Shan is a Republic spy. He is a decedent of Star Wars The Old Republic - Revan but unlike his (secret) Jedi master mother he is not force sensitive, though is raised by another Jedi and taught methods of force meditation and other techniques. He believes in the Republic and has dedicated his life to protecting it, just not the Jedi way.

After being a maverick and compromising a secret Republic mission he is in the dog house, till he is called for a mission to destroy the Ascendant Spear, which could potentially end the war.

The great thing about the story is that you do not have to be a Jedi to make a difference. It is actually the little thing in this book that adds realism. All the characters know their limitations and have to make hard choices. I am looking forward to what happens next or before. I would love to know how the Emperor was actually killed (I mean this guy make Sidious look like a wuss), or even what is next for the Old Republic family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a different hero, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed that the story was not based around a jedi/sith hero and it developed known character backgrounds. If you are into the Old republic you will enjoy this book but i found myself thinking it was just to easy for him to bypass high security systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Annihilation, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My favourite Star Wars author comes good again. Darth Bane is a hard act to follow but another Old Republic classic delivered by Drew Karpyshyn. Fully recommend this one for all fans of Star Wars and in particular the Old Republic era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy, 10 April 2014
By 
Mr. J. Lynch "Lynchyboysmith" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and enjoyable story plenty of action and fits in perfectly where the old republic left off. Hopefully there will be more novels set during this time period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommended for Star Wars fans, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another amazing book by Mr Karpyshyn, while I enjoyed Children of fire, I hope he writes more Star Wars stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The final (probably) book of a mixed-quality series., 17 Aug 2013
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic - Annihilation (Paperback)
THE STORY:
(3,641 BBY) Set after the events of 'The Old Republic' computer game and following on from 'The Old Republic: The Lost Suns' comic books, this book reveals a galaxy where the Sith Empire is finally being defeated by the Republic but calls upon one last trump card; a near-invincible warship called the Ascendant Spear. Knowing that the Spear could turn the tide of the war once more, the Republic sets special agent Theron Shan and Jedi Master Gnost-Dural the task of taking the ship out of the fight.

WHAT'S GOOD:
I was a bit dubious about the idea of Theron Shan as this book's main protagonist but actually found it quite refreshing to read about a non-Force-sensitive who uses Jedi techniques whilst simultaneously scorning Jedi philosophy. He reads a little like James Bond, with a curious mix of morality and ruthless expedience. Gnost-Dural (the Jedi voiced by Lance Henrikssen in the online chronology for TOR) complements this well by being the sort of battle Jedi who doesn't agonise over every being he kills. I also enjoyed seeing the stuff going on behind the scenes in the war, with Darth Marr's desperate attempts to hold together the fragmenting Empire and the revelations about the history between Supreme Commander Jace Malcom and Grand Master Satele Shan being of particular interest.

WHAT'S BAD:
It's a little hard to quantify, but overall this book just felt a bit shallow. It lacked the depth and complexity of say a Timothy Zahn novel, coming over much more pulpy. That's not always a bad thing, but I just feel (as with Karpyshyn's 'Revan') that the subject matter deserved a more in-depth, sweeping epic. Another slight disappointment was that, as the last 'The Old Republic' novel, I would've liked to have seen some follow up to the other novels of the series. How is Zeerid Korr from 'Deceived' doing by the end of the war? What became of Darth Marr's apprentice after the end of 'Fatal Alliance'? Maybe a cameo from Lord Scourge from 'Revan'? I understand the TOR novels were all supposed to be independent stand-alones, but it really wouldn't have hurt for a bit of interlinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Fan, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic - Annihilation (Paperback)
Another awesome book it is one of those star wars books you can't put down bing set in the old republic there is the sith jedi war and a hard pushed republic trying to survive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Old republic, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most recent book set in the old republic era in the star wars universe is an okay read, some good action sequences and Drew Karpyshyn uses a non-force user as protagonist (Theron) cleverly however the ending seemed too far-fetched as Theron defeated a sith lord with a broken gun. Good for a fan of star wars but the weakest book from Drew Karpyshyn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomness, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book! Goood condition! And I love the old republic! One of the best books I have ever read ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant story, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
unputdownable, great story,good characters,did not want book to end .i think Drew Karpysyn writes excllent star wars novels.His Darth Bane ones are amazing reads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: The Old Republic - Annihilation
Star Wars: The Old Republic - Annihilation by Drew Karpyshyn (Paperback - 24 May 2013)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews