Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first
I rank John Dies at the End (JDATE) as one of my favourite books, but it has flaws. Due to the way that it was written, in parts over time, the story becomes a bit too random and piecemeal. It's as if the author didn't have an end point and was having to stick together interesting story ideas while somehow finding a driving narrative between them.

This second...
Published 17 months ago by S. Smith

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me!
In fairness, this is not the type of genre I would normally read. However, seeing the reviews I thought I would diversify and give it a go. I am afraid I found it neither funny nor scary. Nevertheless, I can imagine it appealing as a bit of cult fiction to some.
Published 14 months ago by Mike707


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first, 18 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: This Book Is Full Of Spiders: Seriously Dude Dont Touch It (Paperback)
I rank John Dies at the End (JDATE) as one of my favourite books, but it has flaws. Due to the way that it was written, in parts over time, the story becomes a bit too random and piecemeal. It's as if the author didn't have an end point and was having to stick together interesting story ideas while somehow finding a driving narrative between them.

This second book solves this issue and offers a fully fleshed out, coherent story from start to finish while maintaining the humour that made JDATE such an enjoyable read. On the humour front I have to say that this book isn't quite as funny as JDATE and there are long periods of the book where humour isn't used but this is actually part of some excellent pacing and made the book scarier. Breathless horror sequences and chases are broken up by ridiculous encounters and well placed humour which keeps you turning page after page.

All-in-all an excellent read!

A couple of notes:
If you are new to this series I would recommend reading JDATE first as it is great, but it is not essential. You can read this book as a stand alone and you will not be lost.
My version of the book (paperback version) had a printing error on page 397 where a couple of pages were out of sequence, I am not marking down for this as it may have just been my copy and it didn't affect my enjoyment of the story, but just so you know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read with no pretensions, 22 Feb 2013
This is an excellent not-quite-parady of a zombie horror story. John and David's inherent uselessness are captured in an entirely believable way. everyone knows someone who is like John or David to some degee.

whilst a hilarious take on the genre, what happens is far more believable than most novels. Am waiting eagerly for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than the First, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Book Is Full Of Spiders: Seriously Dude Dont Touch It (Paperback)
'This Book Is Full of Spiders' could have proved that Mr. Wong had only one story to tell. It manages however to be a scintillating, surreal novel. I cared about all the characters, even the villains. Episodes involving supernatural creatures managed to be fresh and vivid. Some of the humour is puerile, but never inappropriate. Dialogue felt natural and characterful. Not one word, in short, was superfluous.

I have two problems with the novel. First, the 'furgun' felt like a random addition. Second, many details should be familiar to Mr. Wong's readers. Characters give facts about human behaviour and genre tropes that can be found in Mr. Wong's articles on Cracked. These are the only reasons why I gave the novel four stars instead of five. Buy it please without hesitation. Hopefully, Mr. Wong will write another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Book Is Full Of Spiders: Seriously Dude Dont Touch It (Paperback)
You certainly need to read the first book before this, not because it is essential but because it is equally brilliant.

David Wong is exceptional at combining horror and comedy and still delivering them at 100%. One moment I cried with laughter (well, most pages had me crying with laughter) and others just had me crying. I now check every corner of my room for spiders before sleeping.

I recommend you do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even better than the first book and twice as crazy. Fully recommended. I hope to see more of these characters in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first one!, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Book Is Full Of Spiders: Seriously Dude Dont Touch It (Paperback)
I'm really not going to say too much because I'll get all excited and start giving stuff away. All I've got to say is, if you read John dies, you'll love this book. And if you haven't read John dies, go and look at that, work out if the genre's for you from those reviews..... And then buy it. These are seriously some of my favourite books. Also worthy of noting is that it isn't so forced as the first book, and there's none of that awkward section changing that made John dies feel like the author was struggling just to keep things going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES!!!, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Book Is Full Of Spiders: Seriously Dude Dont Touch It (Paperback)
i read the first book 'john dies at the end' after seeing the film and all i'm ging to say is there need to be more books written like this, its trippy, its grusome, its got deformed zombie like creatures and as always supernatural floating jelly fish that are attracted to light bulbs!! it is truly fantastic, congratulations to 'david wong'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Book Is Full Of Spiders: Seriously Dude Dont Touch It (Paperback)
This Book Is Full Of Spiders really seems like a step forward for Wong. Just as interesting, unique and mildly disturbing as the first novel, TBIFOS is much more streamline in it's story and not as messy and disjointed as it's predecessor. I honestly look forward to more.
If you enjoyed John Dies at the End buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely fabulous, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Book Is Full Of Spiders: Seriously Dude Dont Touch It (Paperback)
It's one of those books that will keep you busy reading it for hours. I generally don't ready this kind of books ( I prefer self development material ) but this is definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously, do touch it, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Book Is Full Of Spiders: Seriously Dude Dont Touch It (Paperback)
Great book. More horror focused and less scatter-gun humour than the previous John Dies at the End novel, but is much better for it with tighter plots and characters you feel for. Very dark humour lovers will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0b90a50)

This product

This Book Is Full Of Spiders: Seriously Dude Dont Touch It
This Book Is Full Of Spiders: Seriously Dude Dont Touch It by David Wong (Paperback - 2 Oct 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews