Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You're gonna need a bigger coffee table..."
There are loads of documentaries and books that chronicle the making of Jaws [DVD] [1976]. Perhaps The Jaws Log (Newmarket Insider Filmbooks) is regarded as the king above all and justifiably so. Author and screenwriter (and as Meadows, actor) Carl Gottlieb documented what he saw day to day and every other book on the subject rides on its wake.
Until now that...
Published on 17 Oct 2011 by Andrew Boulton

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal complement for collectors blu ray
Traducción
Excellent book with lots of interesting facts and data of a mythical film, locations and details collected in the same set.
Published 24 months ago by Josep A. Ferrús


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You're gonna need a bigger coffee table...", 17 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are loads of documentaries and books that chronicle the making of Jaws [DVD] [1976]. Perhaps The Jaws Log (Newmarket Insider Filmbooks) is regarded as the king above all and justifiably so. Author and screenwriter (and as Meadows, actor) Carl Gottlieb documented what he saw day to day and every other book on the subject rides on its wake.
Until now that is.
Like i said there ARE loads of documentaries and books about the making of Jaws. So many that a Jaws fan probably feels they were on Marthas Vineyard. The problems with the mechanical shark to Robert Shaw's drinking (understandable when his personal life at the time is taken in to account). The documentary The Shark Is Still Working, which promises to be the definitive making of, STILL sits on a shelf somewhere looking for a release but tied up with copyright. Jaws fans are pretty much tired of waiting. At the end of the day it will tell those same stories by those same faces and will then sit on the fans shelf next to Jaws: The Inside Story [DVD] which itself feels pretty definitive.
Jaws: Memories from Martha's Vineyard is like a breath of fresh sea air. There is almost so much to take in that its strangely hard to review. First of all its BIG. It FEELS like you have something before you that you never imagined you ever would. Page after page of rare stills and tales of the Marthas Vineyard locals who accidently ended up in a classic! Even Pippet the dog gets a section! Fans know some of the stories but there is enough here to please even the hardest to please fan. The stills are superb. The text is excellent. This IS definitive. No other book about the making of Jaws could possibly match this. The Jaws Log is what it is and untouchable. An insiders diary of the making of the movie and a classic. Very much one mans take on things. Jaws: Memories from Martha's Vineyard feels like everyone else standing up and telling you it from their, in many cases, never before heard side of things. It feels fresh and new and Jaws fans will LOVE this. So much to read and look at and take in. In the authors foreward he writes that as the book was about to be published so many more stills and memories were STILL turning up that a possible future expanded edition might be a possibility! You couldnt cram much more into this book so a second would be welcome. As Jaws fans will agree a third and fourth instalment may not be such a great idea...
The original hardback comes slipcased with a DVD of unseen footage (bound to turn up on YouTube) and a piece of the ORCA but dont be put off by this edition coming with just what it is because what it is is a Jaws fans best ever Christmas present and like it says on the cover notes "You're gonna need a bigger coffee table..."
Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I got what I wanted and More!, 9 Jan 2012
By 
This was the only thing I really wanted for Christmas and bless the wife, cos she actually got me what i wanted this year. This book is amazing. I'm not the worlds hugest Jaws fan. I don't feel about it the same way i do about Star Wars, but there is more than enough here for the casual observer to the diehard obsessive.

Well written, interesting, fantastic photographs, good anecdotes and a classy product. Satisfyingly heavy as well. I only read it while sitting at the dinner table, its too huge to have on your lap, I'm scared it might slip off and fall on the floor.

I can't say enough things about it. It's a great book which is thankfully now available in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book for any enthusiast out there. All the highs and lows of filming such an incredible film. If you are interested in the film, this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB BUY, 21 Feb 2012
By 
Ramesses II (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
I bought this for my husband for his birthday as he is really into his films. He was really impressed with all the detail the book contains and things he didn't know! Its a must for Jaws fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. K. johnson (Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliant book, the writing, the awesome pics, everything. some great inside stories. Cant wait now for August for the blu-ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Jaws? You NEED this book!, 28 Nov 2011
Any JAWS lover worth his or her salt NEEDS this book.

Incredible images from behind-the-scenes of one of the greatest blockbusters ever made.

It's a must-have, pure and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good quality, brimming with Jaws info, 15 Aug 2014
By 
M. Russell (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws: Memories from Marthas Vineyard (Paperback)
If you're interested in Jaws, or buying this as a present for someone who is, this is the perfect book. It is a very well put-together book, showing in great detail how pretty much every scene in the movie was put together. Some excellent behind-the-scenes photos and stories from the cast & crew. Be aware it is a weighty coffee table book, but that simply demonstrates just how much info is packed in here and what good quality it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight into the film, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws: Memories from Marthas Vineyard (Paperback)
What a page turner, fascinating facts and photos, a collection that even the most ardent fan will struggle to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stay in the boat and read this book., 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws: Memories from Marthas Vineyard (Paperback)
Bought this book for my brother`s birthday and he was not disappointed.
Great read and loads of quality photographs.
This is a must buy for all JAWS fans and film buffs out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "JAWS Memories from Marthas Vineyard", 23 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. J. L. Child "M16 HAZE" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jaws: Memories from Marthas Vineyard (Paperback)
If your a fan of Jaws and want to know the goings on from behind the scenes then this is a gem of a buy its packed with original images and interviews from the cast to the film crew to the locals,
As another review said Your gonna need a bigger coffee table, that is spot on lol its a BIG BOOK indeed and pretty heavy and in this case heavy really does mean quality,

All in all this book is a must have for any Jaws fan,
fantastic and interesting and a brilliant pick up anytime book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jaws: Memories from Marthas Vineyard
Jaws: Memories from Marthas Vineyard by Steven Spielberg (Paperback - 28 Sep 2012)
£23.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews