Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 birds with 1 stone
So, i didn't think much of Kick-Ass 2. It had its moments, but i felt it was not much more than a cash cow for Millar, the book practically mooed at me. Then Hit-Girl came and bitch-slapped some sense (and a lot of loopholes) into me. Millars back in excellent form and he's brought that cheeky scottish sense of humour with him.
The book focuses on Mindy/Hit-Girl and...
Published 18 months ago by Stoner Graeme

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good
was an ok read but no way near as good as number 1

im not sure ill bother with the next ones
Published 13 months ago by Marc74


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 birds with 1 stone, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl (Hardcover)
So, i didn't think much of Kick-Ass 2. It had its moments, but i felt it was not much more than a cash cow for Millar, the book practically mooed at me. Then Hit-Girl came and bitch-slapped some sense (and a lot of loopholes) into me. Millars back in excellent form and he's brought that cheeky scottish sense of humour with him.
The book focuses on Mindy/Hit-Girl and her story before and during the events of Kick-ass 2 and her goings on in the aftermath of the first book. We also get a more in depth view of Chris Genovese/Red Mist and the beginning of his quest for vengeance before returning to New York.
Life as a costumed crimefighter comes easily for Mindy (and bloody fun too) its being a 12 year old girl thats the real hassle. Making friends, handling bullies, being able to take part in a conversation thats not about assault rifles or interrogation techniques... how does a girl do all this? With some help from Kick-Ass plus a few problem solvers only she would ever think up, Mindy finds herself facing the great responsibilities that comes with a life like hers, her new found family.
Throw in some crooked cops, the mafia, lots of comic book violence, some hilarious asian monks, tip top artwork as usual and you find yourself with a book thats not only a fantastic read, but makes you love Kick-Ass 2 as much as you should as well.
Mark Millar, well done sir
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If only Doctor Wertham were here today, 19 July 2013
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl (Hardcover)
I have only read Kick-Ass a few days ago, though I did see the film when it came out on DVD. I picked the collected edition of Hit-Girl up from my library at the same time. This is a continuation of the story from Kick-Ass, as Mindy McCready has to take on her toughest challenge yet, going to school and not kill anyone. Well, not anyone there anyway, as she has taken up moonlighting as Hit-Girl - "I was just laying low until the heat dies down", taking down the new Mafia family which is now under the control of the brother of John Genovese while also training Kick-Ass, in exchange for him training her to be a teenage schoolgirl. Since Mindy doesn't leave witnesses, the Mafia think her step-father is behind the attacks on their organisation, as he is the most senior honest cop on the force, so they come looking for him and his family. Unfortunately, Mindy has just drugged her parents so she can go out on the town. Meanwhile, the Red Mist is annoyed that he has been upstaged as head of the family, in a Hamlety-like way, so he sets out to start his super-villain career. Unfortunately, he doesn't have the training to take on angry Asian shopkeepers, so after recovering from a severe beating, he does the only sensible thing and goes off to ninja school in a faraway land, to prepare himself for Kick-Ass 2. Kick-Ass himself manages to break is hand part-way through, so Mindy has to sort everything out for herself.

Anyway, this is an entertaining comic book if you like well-told graphically violent comic books, though one has to wonder how long it will be before someone blames mark Millar for the next high-school massacre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a must-buy for all KICK-ASS fans, 22 Mar 2013
By 
D. W. Bissett "dave_bissett" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl (Hardcover)
Arguably the most memorable thing about KICK-ASS (2008-2010) was Hit-Girl/Mindy MacCready, a 12-year-old girl who consists of swearing and killing whenever she's in action. The character was superbly played by Chloe Grace Moretz in Matthew Vaughn's entertaining 2010 big-screen adaptation. Because the character has become so popular, that writer Mark Millar and illustrator John Romita Jr. have done a spin-off mini-series focusing on Hit-Girl.

This is set between the two KICK-ASS mini-series. Mindy is trying to lead a normal life and put Hit-Girl behind her, but she's just can't give up the experience of being the dangerous, costumed heroine. She agrees to train Kick-Ass as long as he teaches her how to deal with some bullies at school in a non-violent way. Meanwhile, Red Mist, one of the villains from the first KICK-ASS, has now called himself Mother****** and is preparing for his revenge. HIT-GIRL wraps some of the loose ends from the first mini-series as well as setting things up for the second one (2010-2012).

I really enjoyed reading this mini-series. Whenever Hit-Girl's in action, it's always a highlight of the story. Anyone worrying that this was made just to cash-in on the popularity of the character can relax, because HIT-GIRL adds development to the characters, especially for the second KICK-ASS when some people complained that there was no depth to the characters and their backgrounds. Like Millar's other work, this is not for the weak-minded nor the faint-hearted. Nevertheless, this is a excellent and 'kick-ass' spin-off of one of the most memorable comic-book characters in recent years.

Reviewer: Ben David W
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tying Up Some Loose Ends... Or Beginnings?, 16 Mar 2013
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl (Hardcover)
The main problem after reading Kick-Ass 2 that many found, if anything, a little frustrating, was the time gap between the first book, and the book that is going to follow Kick-Ass 2. Whilst it is now clear that Kick-Ass 2 is the third book in a four/five book series, the cliffhanger ending, and the slightly odd opening just didn't match up. Millar compared Kick Ass 2 to "The Empire Strikes Back" from the Star Wars franchise, and whilst the dark undertone and protagonist suffering was certainly there, it simply didn't have enough character building to meet the comparison. Until now.

Hit-Girl, whilst focusing on the child-assassin "Hit-Girl", was the opening to Kick Ass 2 that it needed. I initially feared that Mindy would become a cash cow, and that this book would detract from her character, and be kind of a "Mean Girls" rip-off. How wrong I was. With the exception of the grand finale of the book, it is somewhat lacking in the violence that I was expecting after reading Kick Ass 2, but don't let that fool you. The characterization regarding her plan to train Kick Ass and build her own Justice Team flesh out her character, and the stakes set out in this book regarding both Hit-Girls career in crime fighting, and the revenge plot concocted by the Red Mist, were both well needed, and make up for the very brief, or altogether lack of such, in Kick Ass 2.

I am also aware that this book is being combined with Kick-Ass 2 to make the sequel to the hit movie. Wise move Mr Millar!

The book maintains the tongue-in-cheek writing, and the climax is classic Hit-Girl. If you enjoyed Kick Ass 2, but felt there wasn't enough Hit-Girl in it (I for one wouldn't deny that), or simply want to see Hit-Girl doing more of what she does best, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl (Hardcover)
Mindy attempts to adjust to being a "Normal" adolescent whilst training Dave to be a better Kick Ass.
Great storylines with some solid action paired with Mindy trying to fit into the normality of a non Hit Girl life..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great Item, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl (Hardcover)
An excellent book, i am now awaiting the release of the Kickass 3 hardcover book to complete this wonderful collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good buy, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl (Hardcover)
This was a presant for my son who is "into all this" he was well chuffed and very pleased with this book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars novel, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl (Hardcover)
good follow up and great dark humor , real to life in detail , even sad in places , violence ago-go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as good, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl (Hardcover)
was an ok read but no way near as good as number 1

im not sure ill bother with the next ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff from Millar and Romita, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl (Hardcover)
If I'm honest, I wasn't expecting much from this, but was pleasantly surprised by a fantastic read from start to finish. I actually preferred this to Kick Ass 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl
Kick-Ass 2 Prelude - Hit-Girl by John Romita Jr (Hardcover - 13 Mar 2013)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews