Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOVIE & BOOK: MORE THAN JUST ORDINARY SCI-FI BIGOTRY - IT'S A VISION!
Optimal size, good price, fast shipping from the U.K. to Austria!

Very well done; a lot of information, designs of various machines and settings, even tattoos, in different concept-phases.

Sometimes a bit bloody-minded: showing less of it in the movie was the right decision. Max's transformation and sacrifice as well as Carlyle's "brain-rape" would...
Published 19 months ago by Artlessly A-Haubner

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent art book for a cool movie
Well... like it. It is a decent hardcover, there is a lot of attention given to all the aspects of the movie art. I also own the art book of District9, so it's only natural for me to compare the two.
I must say as far as the quality of the concept art depicted - the art book of District9 is much better. For the most part the production art for Elysium seems almost...
Published 20 months ago by George Tanev


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOVIE & BOOK: MORE THAN JUST ORDINARY SCI-FI BIGOTRY - IT'S A VISION!, 3 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Elysium: The Art of the Film (Hardcover)
Optimal size, good price, fast shipping from the U.K. to Austria!

Very well done; a lot of information, designs of various machines and settings, even tattoos, in different concept-phases.

Sometimes a bit bloody-minded: showing less of it in the movie was the right decision. Max's transformation and sacrifice as well as Carlyle's "brain-rape" would have been quite a mess to actually see. Anyway gamers will like it.

In the movie - next to cyborgs - it's all about humanoids not droids/androids. The book 'corrects' it. Someone just might have thought, calling these artificial beings some sort of robots they really are would have been kind of a sound-pollution.

In the movie, we live the year 2154, in the book it is 2159 though - seems a bit unreal for all that huge outer space stuff: but hey you never know.
Neither bother Krugers exaggerated "The Time Machine (1960)"-like facial reconstruction nor his temporary fighter-yackety-yak.

Watch out for - "Behind the scenes" on YouTube - those life acting impressions come way too short in the book and no need to mention Ryan Amons musical masterpiece with it's cool compositional complexity.

Mr. Blomkamp, will you become a new Cameron? It seems you are on that course... It would be a pleasure to spend us a 2nd 3D-round: so do it again, señor Max!

Ps: Jodie Foster's excellent testosterone brimming performance as Elysiums defence secretary Delacourt has just been outstanding: a hard-line queen-bee with killer instinct on an orbiting man-made super-luxury-hive.
Yo, real big mama;)

All together: Yes, yes, yes - more than just ordinary sci-fi bigotry - it's a vision - let the Oscars roll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful addition to any film fans collection, 3 Sept. 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elysium: The Art of the Film (Hardcover)
I love art books that pertain to films and whilst I haven't yet seen Elysium I love seeing how the imagination of the artist is captured to bring this almost alien world to the fore. Here within this book is a whole set of artwork that brings the dark vision of future earth to the fore alongside an area of heaven where the privileged can live in luxury whilst the rest of mankind suffers a hand to mouth existence.

The artwork is beautiful, the designs wonderfully imaginative and when added to the exo-suit that features in so many of the adverts really brings the whole thing to life. It's a great book and when you add to the fact that Weta really do put 110% behind it really gives you something that will be looked at quite a few times. Definitely a book that I'd recommend to not just film fans but artists and those looking for inspiration all round gives you something cracking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic art book companion to the film, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elysium: The Art of the Film (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:23 Mins

Going through this artbook reminded me of The Art of District 9. Director Neill Blomkamp teams up again with his District 9 production designer Phil Ivey and Weta Workshop for the concept art and models. Elysium is no sequel to District 9, but the art does feel like they could have come from the same world, except in Elysium, it's year 2154.

The content can be roughly split into two main parts, that on earth and on Elysium. There are designs for the Exo-Suit, robots, spacecrafts, weapons, environments and other concept paintings. Designs for everything that appears on Earth would be more weathered, showing signs of prolong usage, as compared to those on Elysium which are cleaner and sleeker. The contrasting style is interesting.

The robot policemen look pretty cool. Designs involving Max and his Exo-Suit can be gruesome because Blomkamp doesn't like to be constrained by PG-13 ratings.

For the Elysium, Syd Mead has contributed several pieces of artwork that are in the book. You get to see the detailed sketches and the final renders of Elysium that took 10 months to finish building.

Overall, the art is great and there are lots to read about the designs and on how they film certain scenes.

It's a fantastic art book companion to the film.

(Check out more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An artistic detailed showcase breakdown of Elysium, 15 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Elysium: The Art of the Film (Hardcover)
An artistic detailed showcase breakdown of Elysium. The stunning depth Blomkamp goes into when designing characters, props and environment for his gritty sci-fi films. I would definitely recommend the District 9 art book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very nice artbook, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium: The Art of the Film (Hardcover)
Mini review for those who (like me) don't fancy reading a long-winded opinion: A great artbook filled with nice concept art covering places, ships, weapons, tech, clothes, buildings and cities and anything else that needed designing to sell a vision of a futuristic world. The art is great quality and this book is easily of interest to anyone with a love of concept art and science-fiction. Now if you want to read more, read on...

This artbook is another fine offering from the creative minds at Weta Workshop. It is packed with design work so that there's hardly any wasted space and the commentary that accompanies this is succinct, insightful, and interesting. This isn't a perfect artbook, in my opinion, because it also includes production photography which I normally hate to see. However, having said that, it isn't so much that it overtakes the art (as some 'art' books have in the past) and you aren't left with the feeling that this isn't really an artbook so this is more of a minor gripe (almost on principle, really) rather than a major detractor.

The areas covered in this book are what you would expect for a high concept sci-fi film. There has to be conceptual work for just about everything on the screen and so we're treated to designs for buildings, vehicles, weapons, clothing... everything, basically. And this is nice art. There's a lot of the key art pieces but also a lot of the early, vague, initial concept stuff too which many 'art of' books leave out. I particularly like the concept work for Elysium itself which has been based on the old Torus ring station designs originally created by NASA in the 1970's. Why this nostalgic little touch should please me so much I'm not sure but I find it makes me warm to it all the more. Perhaps seeing the modern designs, drawn with modern techniques, and seeing how closely they resemble those original drawings, appeals to me. Whatever it is, I like it.

I'm also a big fan of Aaron Beck's robot designs. Should the world go to hell and a future evil dictatorship should take the obvious step of having a robot police force then I hope they at least have the decency to have Beck design them. Again we can see quite a bit of the design process here so we're not just treated to the finished product, something I appreciate.

As with the work done for The Lord of the Rings and Hobbit movies there is a wealth of detail on offer here. I like that the creators don't just work on what there will be in the future but how people will use (and abuse) it. Graffiti tags, decay, modification unintended by the manufacturer, and retrofitted tech has all be concepted and it adds a wonderful depth to the work on show. It makes the world of Elysium, both Earth and the Station, seem more real and less a science fiction as a grim possibility.

I should perhaps note that there are also some pretty grisly pictures contained in the book which have then been backed up with photos of how that played out in the film. Perhaps not best suited to those with a delicate stomach (unless you're comfortable with a stunningly realistic picture of what a man's face looks like after a point-blank blast from a shotgun).

So all in all this is a great artbook, packed with fantastic designs and pictures, and well worth a place on any concept-art fan's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing art for a good movie, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium: The Art of the Film (Hardcover)
Weta Workshop did an awesome work in this movie. Great concept art, 3d models and real models. The book goes in the same line than Districr 9's artbook.

In my opinion a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent art book for a cool movie, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium: The Art of the Film (Hardcover)
Well... like it. It is a decent hardcover, there is a lot of attention given to all the aspects of the movie art. I also own the art book of District9, so it's only natural for me to compare the two.
I must say as far as the quality of the concept art depicted - the art book of District9 is much better. For the most part the production art for Elysium seems almost unfinished, crude and amateurish looking. Lots of bad anatomy, random detail and composition. As compared to the production art of District9, there are hardly any physical models. The majority of it is just some rough tablet sketches, photoRef overpaints and generic speedPaints. The movie looks amazing, which hardly the case as far as the majority of its concept art goes. The book also lacks the amazing graphic design of the one dedicated to District9.

On the plus side - the pieces by Syd Mead are just awesome. :)
so is the work done on the models by Weta Workshop :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium: The Art of the Film (Hardcover)
EXCELLENT BOOK AND TRANSACTION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium: The Art of the Film (Hardcover)
Perfect conditions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium: The Art of the Film (Hardcover)
Gorgeous Art Work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elysium: The Art of the Film
Elysium: The Art of the Film by Mark Salisbury (Hardcover - 6 Aug. 2013)
£20.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews