Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
The original stories in this series to me are always more interesting because in the ones based on the games, you know exactly whats going to happen next, whereas in the originals you can take a pretty good guess, your not actually sure.
My main critism of this book is, however, when you think of Resident evil, the next thing you think of is zombies. In this book,...
Published on 9 Feb 2003 by Nick Brown

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not-bad second original novel
The action and suspense it still there, but the plot is starting to become a bit "samey". Okay, the good guys (STARS and civilians this time) go to another secret Umbrella plant, directed by the mysterious Trent, kill and blow up some more Umbrella creations and get out in the nick of time. But, it was a good attempt, which finally sheds some light on Trent's...
Published on 9 Nov 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 9 Feb 2003
The original stories in this series to me are always more interesting because in the ones based on the games, you know exactly whats going to happen next, whereas in the originals you can take a pretty good guess, your not actually sure.
My main critism of this book is, however, when you think of Resident evil, the next thing you think of is zombies. In this book, there are none.
The zombies replacement are a few creatures that Perry has created and the hunters. The first one is a pterodactyl like bird, then comes the scorpians (which feature in RE:0) and then some goat-snake type thing. Perry seems to like dinosaurs as the main monster is a T-rex/tyrant type thing.
The good-guy characters that Perry created in Caliban Cove are beleivable and fit in well with the other characters such as leon and claire. Perry's bad guys, Griffin in Caliban Cove and Reston in this one, are not all that great though. They seemed typical cliche types, power hungry, insane etc and that was the main bad thing about the book.
Overall I think this book deserves 4 stars because it was enjoyable (although far too short).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty damn good, 24 Jan 2000
I must admit to being a giant fan of the Resident Evil series and was delighted with S.D. Perry's first three books. The fourth is no exception, with a gripping, action paction packed plotline. Sure, the formula is wearing a little thin, but why change it if it wasn't broken! The 'Planet' is a fascinating creation and introduces a load of cool new umbrella monstrosities for the team to battle. My only gripe is that the end...is a little disappointing and short lived - if anything, the book needed to be a few chapters longer. Still, for fans of the series, this is an excellent progression which I really enjoyed and heartily recommend to anyone. I just hope that S.D.Perry is planning to write some more in the series - how about a novelisation of the forthcoming Resident Evil 3 or a completely new story of the team's strike on the Umbrella Headquarters. I await them with baited breath...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As you'd expect, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is just what you want from a written version. It highlights parts of the game with its "nods" here and there. But the overall story is brilliant. And for me now, on to the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars underground umbrella, 14 Nov 2012
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil - Underworld (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the 4th book in the Resident Evil series by SD Perry, once again this is a stand-alone story not based on any of the RE games.

Since "City of the Dead" Leon Kennedy and Claire Redfield have hooked up with Dave Trapp and his team of S.T.A.R.S survivors. They were planning to go to Europe to help Chris Redfield and Barry Burton expose the truth about Umbrella. That was until the mysterious Trent turned up with a different plan.

Trent wants them to go to one of the other Umbrella facilities in Utah where they may be able to discover proof of Umbrella's illegal activities and so clear the STARS of any involvement in the Raccoon City disaster. This is something which the team are loathed to do. Trent sways them by telling them that the Utah facility has something that Chris needs to get the evidence on Umbrella.

As with "Caliban Cove)", the previous stand alone book, the best laid devices of STARS leader David Trapp never go to plan, and the team find themselves separated and in a desperate fight for survival against more of Umbrella's monstrous experimental creatures.

In the Epilogue we learn more about the man known as Trent, and some of his motives for helping (if that's the correct word) the S.T.A.R.S.

This is another good book in the RE series from SD Perry. I thought the introduction of more prehistoric DNA originated creatures was an interesting idea and possibly something that Umbrella might have been experimenting on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars underground umbrella, 7 Dec 2010
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is the 4th book in the Resident Evil series by SD Perry, once again this is a stand-alone story not based on any of the RE games.

Since "City of the Dead" Leon Kennedy and Claire Redfield have hooked up with Dave Trapp and his team of S.T.A.R.S survivors. They were planning to go to Europe to help Chris Redfield and Barry Burton expose the truth about Umbrella. That was until the mysterious Trent turned up with a different plan.

Trent wants them to go to one of the other Umbrella facilities in Utah where they may be able to discover proof of Umbrella's illegal activities and so clear the STARS of any involvement in the Raccoon City disaster. This is something which the team are loathed to do. Trent sways them by telling them that the Utah facility has something that Chris needs to get the evidence on Umbrella.

As with Caliban Cove (Resident Evil), the previous stand alone book, the best laid devices of STARS leader David Trapp never go to plan, and the team find themselves separated and in a desperate fight for survival against more of Umbrella's monstrous experimental creatures.

In the Epilogue we learn more about the man known as Trent, and some of his motives for helping (if that's the correct word) the S.T.A.R.S.

This is another good book in the RE series from SD Perry. I thought the introduction of more prehistoric DNA originated creatures was an interesting idea and possibly something that Umbrella might have been experimenting on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heavvvvvvvvyyyyyyy, 17 Nov 2009
this book was one of the best in the series and being an original novel you dont know what to expect unlike the game novelisations where if you have played the games your pretty much waiting for things to happen all in all a very good read but id have to say zero hour is the best of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is brilliant! Buy it while you can, 25 May 2000
This book is purely addictive, it contains a lot of action and plot which gets you very intrigued. The more interesting part is the part which John and Leon are in when they're in the test zones and when they all have to fight the fossil. Personally, i think it's brilliant and hope that S.D. Perry will write the story of Resident Evil 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not-bad second original novel, 9 Nov 1999
By A Customer
The action and suspense it still there, but the plot is starting to become a bit "samey". Okay, the good guys (STARS and civilians this time) go to another secret Umbrella plant, directed by the mysterious Trent, kill and blow up some more Umbrella creations and get out in the nick of time. But, it was a good attempt, which finally sheds some light on Trent's involvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Delivery !, 13 Oct 2010
By 
This was a Gift for my boyfriend, he read it in a few hours, he was glued to it, the only fault i had was the delivery, it took over a month to come! But other then that great buy price wise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, dissapointing ending, 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Being a huge resident evil fan I really liked this book. I think SD Perry has portayed the series very well in her novelisations of the game and in her original stories based on resident evil. My only gripe is with the ending of this book, which I found a somewhat weak explanation for Umbrella's creation. I hope Perry will have changed this in the next two books; which I plan to buy as soon as I can find a copy; so to more closely ressemble the storyline of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil - Underworld
Resident Evil - Underworld by S. D. Perry (Mass Market Paperback - 26 Oct 2012)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews