Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if only the games were this easy to get through
In the outskirts of Racoon City there have been a number of horrific murders. Eventually, Police Chief Irons has to bend to public demands and bring in the STARS (Special Tactics and Rescue Squad) to search for the killers. Things start to go wrong when there are problems with Bravo Teams helicopter, and the Alphas set out to help their colleagues. Things go from bad to...
Published on 16 Sep 2012 by Su

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, not bad
I'm a big fan of the Resident Evil series and thought I'd check out the books by S D Perry. The beginning and first few chapters were really good and had me wanting to read more but as the book went on the level of 'excitement' dropped for me.

It is possible that because I've played the original Resident Evil and that I knew what was going to happen, it may...
Published on 31 Oct 2009 by Inter


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if only the games were this easy to get through, 16 Sep 2012
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil - The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil (Titan Mass Market)) (Mass Market Paperback)
In the outskirts of Racoon City there have been a number of horrific murders. Eventually, Police Chief Irons has to bend to public demands and bring in the STARS (Special Tactics and Rescue Squad) to search for the killers. Things start to go wrong when there are problems with Bravo Teams helicopter, and the Alphas set out to help their colleagues. Things go from bad to worse.

Umbrella Conspiracy is the first book in a series of Resident Evil stories by SD Perry and is based on the original Resident Evil survival/horror game. Following both Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine the book sticks to the story in the game, as best as it can.

The story switches between Chris (and Rebecca Chambers) and Jill (and Barry Burton) as they try to survive until help comes. There seems to be a lot of the running back and forth, retracing their steps and so on; of course, the characters in the book don't have limited carry areas like they do in the game.

Characters have been flashed out more then the game allowed, even characters which feature for a short time in the game are filled out and become more acceptable as part of the teams rather than being just passing names with no connection to them.

The only real problem for me was that it seemed far too short, there seemed to be some of the battles, puzzles, etc, missing, but it was (and still is) a fulfilling fan read.

This is a great substitute for the game when you have to be away from your console, whether that be for work or medical reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captures the feel., 19 Oct 2002
For those not in the know, Resident Evil is a tale of Scientific experimentation gone wrong. Mutated Viruses have begun to cause innocent victims to turn into mindless zombies, and the corporation behind this Virus, Umbrella, have also created a whole slew of nasties to support whatever hidden agenda they are operating.
This book documents the events of the first of the Resident Evil games, and in fairness does a pretty good job with what's on offer there. The plot of Resident Evil in many ways flows like a film, with extended 'action' sequences between the plot revelations. What this book does is takes that plot, divides it a bit more evenly between the main characters and the supporting characters (Although for the most part these characters never gain much more personality than the game gives them, principle exception to this rule being Albert Wesker, Leader of team of heroes).
The book achieves the dubious honour of reading much like the games play, with the characters progressing through investigation, solving puzzles and fighting to survive.
This isn't great intellectual stuff, but then it never sets out to be, but it captures the tone well and keeps your interest nicely as it moves along at a pleasantly peppy pace. The characterisation isn't too deep, but gives you some nice insights and allows you to feel something for them.
Fans of the game should like this, it's a pretty thorough adaptation, set within a familiar framework and shaken up a little bit. Others should approach it with a little trepidation though. If you're after a simple adventure, then this will probably do the trick. If you seek more, best give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one hell of a good book, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book I could read it agen and agen if you love anything to do with the resident evil you will love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Umbrella Conspiracy great for Res Evil fans, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a big fan of the games, this gave me a closer look at the characters , and also how the all of the game elements such as the different symbols and keys could be explained. The book set of at a quick pace and did not slow down. Would liked it to have been a little longer but this was still a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any Resident Evil fan, like me., 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil - The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil (Titan Mass Market)) (Mass Market Paperback)
As a huge fan of the original Resident Evil video-game franchise (before Capcom decided to derail the franchise by replacing the iconic zombies with lame mutants). I found the urge to revisit the original Resident Evil storylines through S.D Perry's series of Resident evil book adaptions too tempting, and I am glad that I did! This book along with the other titles in the series are very well written and accurate in every sense to the original game storyline. I myself have played all of the originals (Resident Evil 1, 2 & 3) at least 4 or 5 times each and thoroughly enjoyed every second, it is nice to be able to relive something so accurate and true to the originals that you can actually follow the book chapter by chapter and directly link it to sections of the game, I am afraid that I do not have any time for any adaption that essentially re-writes the original storyline and changes the underlying theme, the Resident Evil movies are a good example of how adaptions can go terribly wrong!

I personally applaud S.D Perry for her excellent transition from game to novel, she clearly must have studied the franchise and storyline from the individual titles extensively. It is true that some of the scenes and events from the original games are either not present in the books or more commonly not as focussed on as it maybe was in the original game, but the way in which S.D Perry describes in detail the gory zombies and mutants, the lavish surroundings of the mansion, the characters and even the mind numbing puzzles- for which Resident Evil was famed for is a fantastic reminder of how imaginative the original Resident Evil's were.
The books also include a lot off additional information/content that are not present in the game like the first 2 chapters from this book which effectively introduces Jill Valentine and the other members of S.T.A.R.S with background information and stories from the past, this extra content will also pop up from time to time throughout the story which helps to bridge some of the gaps in the storyline that were present in the original games.

I would 100% recommend the Resident Evil book series to any Resident Evil fan, a much better alternative to watching the shockingly rubbish so called movie adaptions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, not bad, 31 Oct 2009
By 
Inter (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of the Resident Evil series and thought I'd check out the books by S D Perry. The beginning and first few chapters were really good and had me wanting to read more but as the book went on the level of 'excitement' dropped for me.

It is possible that because I've played the original Resident Evil and that I knew what was going to happen, it may have dulled the experience for me. I did feel however that the storyline was well paced and really interesting for the first half of the book before everything started happening so quickly nearer the end. It was as if they were running out of pages and just crammed in whatever they could in order to finish it off.

This is certainly not a book that I would recommend to anyone, but it's not a book I'd warn them off either. As I said before though, my opinion is coming from someone who has played the game that this book is based off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy!, 17 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil - The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil (Titan Mass Market)) (Mass Market Paperback)
By far one of my favourite Resident Evil novels. I have read the entire series, but can read this one over and over again. For those just discovering the novels, my favourites are the novels based on/around the actual games - only as they provide a more in depth and alternate view on to the original stories. They also provide more depth to the original characters and help to fit pieces together that you may have missed through gameplay. While reading this one I could picture every detail and literally had me on edge wanting to read the next chapter immediately. I found that some of the novels that are not based the games lacked momentum but still enjoyable (even if you only read once).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Toby Arnold: Resident Evil Enthusiast, 14 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This book is pretty damn good considering the game is action packed, shoot a lot, solve some puzzles and leggit based. The book however goes into much more depth and this is what makes it THE best of them all. S.D. Perry out did himself when he wrote this and he has out down himself plenty a time, especially the Resident Evil range. I have got and played and completed all of them: Resident Evil Resident Evil 2 Resident Evil 3 Resident Evil: Gun Survivor Resident Evil Director's Cut
Resident Evil Code Veronica I am also hoping to get Resi: Code Veronica Complete but as I try to emphasise, the books being much more in depth, are much more exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Idea for a Game, A Movie and a book. Excellent, 23 Nov 1998
By A Customer
Resident Evil was first brought to my attention in its origional form of a game. I played the game with great interest as I had not seen a game with such an immense storyline.. and now the book. The book takes you throught the storyline in such detail that you can "live" the experience in the Spencer Mansion. you start with the S.T.A.R.S first entering the mansion and you are led on an adrenaline rush of fear and exitement for the S.T.A.R.S operatives as they make their way through the Evil and the betrayal of their fellow S.T.A.R.S member Captain Albert Wesker.. Liked the game? LOVE the Book!!! Cant wait for the movie!!
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enter the world of scarey stuff, 12 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This is one of the best books i have ever read. The problem with the Resident Evil game was it was just to hard but it had a brilliant storyline. The book shows you the whole story without you havin to shoot the zombie or kill the snake. Which is where i got stuck in the game. The book however is one of those novels that you just cannot put down. Its not even slow to start like other books and it is a joy to read. Thanks to S.D. Perry for a great novel and i will definetly be buying the rest of the resi books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil - The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil (Titan Mass Market))
Resident Evil - The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil (Titan Mass Market)) by S. D. Perry (Mass Market Paperback - 14 Sep 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews