Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if only the games were this easy to get through
In the outskirts of Racoon City there have been a number of horrific murders. Eventually, Police Chief Irons has to bend to public demands and bring in the STARS (Special Tactics and Rescue Squad) to search for the killers. Things start to go wrong when there are problems with Bravo Teams helicopter, and the Alphas set out to help their colleagues. Things go from bad to...
Published on 16 Sept. 2012 by Su

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, not bad
I'm a big fan of the Resident Evil series and thought I'd check out the books by S D Perry. The beginning and first few chapters were really good and had me wanting to read more but as the book went on the level of 'excitement' dropped for me.

It is possible that because I've played the original Resident Evil and that I knew what was going to happen, it may...
Published on 31 Oct. 2009 by Inter


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if only the games were this easy to get through, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil - The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil (Titan Mass Market)) (Mass Market Paperback)
In the outskirts of Racoon City there have been a number of horrific murders. Eventually, Police Chief Irons has to bend to public demands and bring in the STARS (Special Tactics and Rescue Squad) to search for the killers. Things start to go wrong when there are problems with Bravo Teams helicopter, and the Alphas set out to help their colleagues. Things go from bad to worse.

Umbrella Conspiracy is the first book in a series of Resident Evil stories by SD Perry and is based on the original Resident Evil survival/horror game. Following both Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine the book sticks to the story in the game, as best as it can.

The story switches between Chris (and Rebecca Chambers) and Jill (and Barry Burton) as they try to survive until help comes. There seems to be a lot of the running back and forth, retracing their steps and so on; of course, the characters in the book don't have limited carry areas like they do in the game.

Characters have been flashed out more then the game allowed, even characters which feature for a short time in the game are filled out and become more acceptable as part of the teams rather than being just passing names with no connection to them.

The only real problem for me was that it seemed far too short, there seemed to be some of the battles, puzzles, etc, missing, but it was (and still is) a fulfilling fan read.

This is a great substitute for the game when you have to be away from your console, whether that be for work or medical reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any Resident Evil fan, like me., 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil - The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil (Titan Mass Market)) (Mass Market Paperback)
As a huge fan of the original Resident Evil video-game franchise (before Capcom decided to derail the franchise by replacing the iconic zombies with lame mutants). I found the urge to revisit the original Resident Evil storylines through S.D Perry's series of Resident evil book adaptions too tempting, and I am glad that I did! This book along with the other titles in the series are very well written and accurate in every sense to the original game storyline. I myself have played all of the originals (Resident Evil 1, 2 & 3) at least 4 or 5 times each and thoroughly enjoyed every second, it is nice to be able to relive something so accurate and true to the originals that you can actually follow the book chapter by chapter and directly link it to sections of the game, I am afraid that I do not have any time for any adaption that essentially re-writes the original storyline and changes the underlying theme, the Resident Evil movies are a good example of how adaptions can go terribly wrong!

I personally applaud S.D Perry for her excellent transition from game to novel, she clearly must have studied the franchise and storyline from the individual titles extensively. It is true that some of the scenes and events from the original games are either not present in the books or more commonly not as focussed on as it maybe was in the original game, but the way in which S.D Perry describes in detail the gory zombies and mutants, the lavish surroundings of the mansion, the characters and even the mind numbing puzzles- for which Resident Evil was famed for is a fantastic reminder of how imaginative the original Resident Evil's were.
The books also include a lot off additional information/content that are not present in the game like the first 2 chapters from this book which effectively introduces Jill Valentine and the other members of S.T.A.R.S with background information and stories from the past, this extra content will also pop up from time to time throughout the story which helps to bridge some of the gaps in the storyline that were present in the original games.

I would 100% recommend the Resident Evil book series to any Resident Evil fan, a much better alternative to watching the shockingly rubbish so called movie adaptions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great first book of a great series, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil - The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil (Titan Mass Market)) (Mass Market Paperback)
Il admit it, i was never a fan of the resident evil games back when they first came out, i found them too challenging, the item management and save system was punishing and unforgiving. However as i got older i persevered with them and today its my favourite video game series of all time. However when i found out there were books of the games, i wasnt too excited. I thought they were just going to be a quick cash grab because of the popularity of the series. I was totally wrong, they are very good reads. Im sure everyones familiar with the story of the first game but if your not, the book is set in the fictional american suburb called raccoon city. Raccoon city is based at the bottom of expansive woodland called the Arklay Mountains, it is these woods that many people have gone missing. Eventually bodies start turning up in pieces, ripped to shreds and mutilated and people begin to report seeing strange dog like creatures. With they city under panic, the Raccoon police department call in their version of a swat team called STARS ( special tatics and rescue force) in to investigate and put a stop to these murders. Thats the basic jist of it. However as these are books they can explore a lot more and provide more backstory than a game can. They flesh out the characters and give them personalitys that the games cant, for example this book begins with jill valentine rushing out of the house because shes late to a meeting. This makes us relate to the characters more as thats something we can all relate to, being late to work. The entire series of books are enjoyable but i decided to focus on the first one because Resident Evil 1 was always my favourite of the bunch. In short, if you enjoy the games, you'll love these books, if you've never touched the games before, you'll still enjoy them and their a great introduction to the world of Resident Evil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best books review., 14 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would like to say first of all i'm a massive fan of everything about resident evil. I watched the movies and played the games on the computer but i did not know there was a book (i know i'm shocked to). When i finally found there was a book i got it once in my hands I started to read....

Book one follows the first computer game (not the movie) I was really glad that it follow the game because when you playing it you did feel that lots was left unseen. The story starts just people are turning up dead the STARS members are finally called in to find out what going on...Is it wild animals or a bunch of crazy serial killers when STARS loss contacted with the first team they go into the wood to find out what's going on. From there the book takes on this cool creepy feel the team land in the wood by helicopter only to be attacked by strange dogs that seemed to have been skinned and mad into monsters that are hunger and will hunt anything that moves. It's not long before the team are in a creepy mansion that's owned by umbrella (which was meant to be closed up and unused big fat lie). Now stuck in this house they must find another safe way out but the house is like a massive puzzle someone in the team is a traitor. Zombies walk the halls but trust me when i say there are a lot worse waiting for them.

I simply loved the book and if you are a fan of zombies you will love this book. Its action pack with guns fighting and puzzles you are dying to see what happens next and most of all you get new shocks around every corner. It's brilliant you also start to like some characters more than others and before long you have fallen into this amazing book and you need to get to the end. I loved everything about the book so I give the book 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars if only the games were this easy to get through, 26 July 2010
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I am a recent convert to the Resident Evil cult and looked for a way of taking the characters and their adventures with me when I have stay away from home, and don't have access to my Wii console.

In the outskirts of Racoon City there have been a number of horrific murders. Eventually, Police Chief Irons has to bend to public demands and bring in the STARS (Special Tactics and Rescue Squad) to search for the killers. Things start to go wrong when there are problems with Bravo Teams helicopter, and the Alphas set out to help their colleagues. Things go from bad to worse.

Umbrella Conspiracy is the first book in a series of Resident Evil stories by SD Perry and is based on the original Resident Evil survival/horror game. Following both Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine the book sticks to the story in the game, as best as it can.

The story switches between Chris (and Rebecca Chambers) and Jill (and Barry Burton) as they try to survive until help comes. There seems to be a lot of the running back and forth, retracing their steps and so on; of course, the characters in the book don't have limited carry areas like they do in the game.

Characters have been flashed out more then the game allowed, even characters which feature for a short time in the game are filled out and become more acceptable as part of the teams rather than being just passing names with no connection to them.

The only real problem for me was that it seemed far too short, there seemed to be some of the battles, puzzles, etc, missing, but it was (and still is) a fulfilling fan read.

This is a great substitute for the game when you have to be away from your console, whether that be for work or medical reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captures the feel., 19 Oct. 2002
For those not in the know, Resident Evil is a tale of Scientific experimentation gone wrong. Mutated Viruses have begun to cause innocent victims to turn into mindless zombies, and the corporation behind this Virus, Umbrella, have also created a whole slew of nasties to support whatever hidden agenda they are operating.
This book documents the events of the first of the Resident Evil games, and in fairness does a pretty good job with what's on offer there. The plot of Resident Evil in many ways flows like a film, with extended 'action' sequences between the plot revelations. What this book does is takes that plot, divides it a bit more evenly between the main characters and the supporting characters (Although for the most part these characters never gain much more personality than the game gives them, principle exception to this rule being Albert Wesker, Leader of team of heroes).
The book achieves the dubious honour of reading much like the games play, with the characters progressing through investigation, solving puzzles and fighting to survive.
This isn't great intellectual stuff, but then it never sets out to be, but it captures the tone well and keeps your interest nicely as it moves along at a pleasantly peppy pace. The characterisation isn't too deep, but gives you some nice insights and allows you to feel something for them.
Fans of the game should like this, it's a pretty thorough adaptation, set within a familiar framework and shaken up a little bit. Others should approach it with a little trepidation though. If you're after a simple adventure, then this will probably do the trick. If you seek more, best give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one hell of a good book, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book I could read it agen and agen if you love anything to do with the resident evil you will love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Umbrella Conspiracy great for Res Evil fans, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a big fan of the games, this gave me a closer look at the characters , and also how the all of the game elements such as the different symbols and keys could be explained. The book set of at a quick pace and did not slow down. Would liked it to have been a little longer but this was still a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, not bad, 31 Oct. 2009
By 
Inter (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of the Resident Evil series and thought I'd check out the books by S D Perry. The beginning and first few chapters were really good and had me wanting to read more but as the book went on the level of 'excitement' dropped for me.

It is possible that because I've played the original Resident Evil and that I knew what was going to happen, it may have dulled the experience for me. I did feel however that the storyline was well paced and really interesting for the first half of the book before everything started happening so quickly nearer the end. It was as if they were running out of pages and just crammed in whatever they could in order to finish it off.

This is certainly not a book that I would recommend to anyone, but it's not a book I'd warn them off either. As I said before though, my opinion is coming from someone who has played the game that this book is based off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy!, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil - The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil (Titan Mass Market)) (Mass Market Paperback)
By far one of my favourite Resident Evil novels. I have read the entire series, but can read this one over and over again. For those just discovering the novels, my favourites are the novels based on/around the actual games - only as they provide a more in depth and alternate view on to the original stories. They also provide more depth to the original characters and help to fit pieces together that you may have missed through gameplay. While reading this one I could picture every detail and literally had me on edge wanting to read the next chapter immediately. I found that some of the novels that are not based the games lacked momentum but still enjoyable (even if you only read once).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil - The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil (Titan Mass Market))
Resident Evil - The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil (Titan Mass Market)) by S. D. Perry (Mass Market Paperback - 14 Sept. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews