Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection
A tome truly worthy of the diehard FFF.

There was a rumor that the UK and US versions contained different material, however after purchasing both I can assure that they are the same in every detail.
Published 22 months ago by E. Renaud

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Script heavy
This is a nice product, it is nicely presented and the photos are good. I thought there would be more new stories in it, but the bulk of it is actually made up of scripts from the shows. It is ok, but a bit disappointing.
Published 11 months ago by MR M T HOWARD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
A tome truly worthy of the diehard FFF.

There was a rumor that the UK and US versions contained different material, however after purchasing both I can assure that they are the same in every detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firefly - A Celebration!, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
I may be a late arrival to the Firefly / Serenity 'Verse, but as with most people who have seen the series, I love it. There's just something that when I rewatch it that puts a big smile on my face. And so not having the previous Illustrated Companion Volumes and Still Flying that this book collects, I just had to get it, and just in time for the 10th anniversary too.

This book is gorgeous. From the faux leather effect binding when you first have it in your hands and when start thumbing through the 544 pages, you'll know you have a book that is loving crafted and compiled by people that loved Firefly.

The pages are packed with in-depth interviews with creator Joss Whedon and the cast and crew of the beloved series, plus full, uncut shooting scripts to all the episodes - with notes from cast and crew about each episode. Lots of rare photos of the cast, crew, props and costumes, as well as production art previously unavailable elsewhere are included also. There's also new stories from the writers of the original episodes too.

And exclusively for this edition, there are nine portrait photographs of the cast and a facsimile of one of the bank notes used in the series.

So if you're a fan of the show, and particularly if you haven't already got the three Firefly Companion Volumes that are collected here, I would definitely recommend getting this. Shiny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shiny., 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
A hefty tome of Firefly lore and scripts. At last! Bore your friends with reciting page after page of script! Never letting a misquote go uncorrected again! A lovely book and well worth a place in any Firefly fan's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply worth every penny!, 31 Oct 2012
This review is from: Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
This book was definitely worth the purchase. It was larger than I expected and VERY VERY nice.
The old and new content makes a nice balance as well - I also love the 'posters' and currency included. Hours of reading I think, and a lovely thing to add to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop the signal..., 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
The book is a collection of the three Companions "Volume 1, 2 & Still Flying", which I already possess. They consist of scripts for every single episode of the show + they provide lots of interesting background information about the cast, props, fanbase and even some short stories about the characters we all love so much!
Since I already own the three companions, one might ask for the reason I bought this book. The answer is simple and can be broken down into three points:

First: The whole layout is fantastic. The fake-leather cover in combination with the embossed letters is a real eye-catcher that looks very noble in the book-shelve.

Second: This special version comes with some high-quality photographs from the original cast. It also includes a prop-replica of one of the bank notes used in the show, printed on high-quality paper. This bank note looks and feels like real money from the verse. The only thing you could hold against it is the fact that it looks almost too shiny. Like it came fresh from the press... some sort of "used-look" would make it look even more realistic but even the fresh print is a cool prop to have for every fellow Browncoat out there.

Third: The price Amazon offered this book was way too good to let this opportunity pass. Especially for a fanboy like myself...

So if you love the show but hesitated to buy the companions: Here is your chance to catch them all at once and get some nice goodies on top! And if you already own the companions: The content of the book won't be any big news for you but the get-up might convince you to buy it anyway. I did not regret the bargain :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Browncoats! Gather..., 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
and listen up, this book is a must have for every firefly fan. You cannot avoid it, no matter how much you try. More than 500 pages of amazing stories, information and pictures, the overall look is stunning and worth the price. The additional pictures and the bank note are quite nice as well, however, I have to agree with others, it would have been a lot nicer if the bank note would have looked a little used. Haven't started reading it yet, but from scanning through the pages it looks amazing. Can't wait to finish my current book to get started on the real stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Companion to a Great TV series, 23 Sep 2013
By 
James C. Morrissey (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
The content of the individual volumes themselves is great when all combined in one book you cannot go wrong.
You get great photographs-the scripts -interviews with cast and crew all laid out well. This book comes with some stills and a "currency" note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay calm and stay shiny !, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
If you like props like me, love Firefly : look no further. This book gives an in depth look in the props and making of firefly with tons of details and photo's. Must have !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time for some thrilling heroic reading..., 14 Aug 2013
By 
P. Reid (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
Outstanding book and a must for all Firefly fans. I cant say add more than what the other reviews says but the only small gripe is there is no index. A small point but it would have been nice.

BUY this without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful tribute to an amazing show, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Samantha Brookfield (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) (Hardcover)
I bought this for my husband who is a huge fan of Firefly and sci-fi in general. He has enjoyed it immensely since purchase, and went back to it many times. I am a huge Firefly fan myself though not as much as my other half, so I feel I can offer something of a more unbiased review. It is clear that this book has been crafted with love as a tribute to the show; every page is beautifully designed, and the interviews and excerpts from the cast and crew are highly detailed, highly interesting, and highly amusing. The inclusion of the pictures of the Serenity crew and prop banknotes is also a great touch. I admit I was dubious about whether this book was worth the price but I ensure you that is was well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition)
Firefly - A Celebration (Anniversary Edition) by Joss Whedon (Hardcover - 28 Sep 2012)
22.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews