Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Dont worry, me and my squad of ultimate badasses will protect you!''
The 'Aliens: Colonial Marines technical manual' is the official guide to the equipment and organisation of the United States Colonial Marine Corps, as made famous by James Camerons 1986 Sci-fi/horror movie masterpiece.

The book is approximately 150 pages and published in UK magazine style format. It covers pretty much every aspect of the corps from its overall...
Published 22 months ago by Chief.

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Poor enough from pictures and color drawings, no sharp sketches, interior vehicle drawings, no color schemes of variable platoons of Colonial troops, etc.
Published 19 months ago by Svetlan Velev


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Dont worry, me and my squad of ultimate badasses will protect you!'', 15 Feb 2013
This review is from: Aliens - Colonial Marines Technical Manual (Paperback)
The 'Aliens: Colonial Marines technical manual' is the official guide to the equipment and organisation of the United States Colonial Marine Corps, as made famous by James Camerons 1986 Sci-fi/horror movie masterpiece.

The book is approximately 150 pages and published in UK magazine style format. It covers pretty much every aspect of the corps from its overall structure down to the composition at squad level, its logistics, air support, transport, ordinance, armour, weaponry, technology and tactics.

The manual includes detailed breakdowns of all of the gear made famous by the Aliens movie - be it the ubiquitous Pulse rifles, Smart guns and M240 Flamethrower, drop ship, armoured personal carrier, motion scanner, synthetic humanoids, and Conostoga class starships such as the USS 'Sulaco'. There are also detailed entries for a large number of items not featured in the movie, including Marine artillary, starship weaponry, anti-tank weaponry and sniper rifles, and also entries on numerous other sundry items such as grenades, side arms, pressure suits, electronic counter-measures and others.

Each entry includes diagrams, pictures, detailed descriptions of the origins of the item or weapon and its use, as well as small quotes and anecdotes from Marines who have experienced their use (such as comments highlighting that the Sulaco was an unlucky ship even before its fated journey to LV426, or that the Smart gun is so accurate, its 'spooky'). There is even an entry detailing an autopsy of the alien itself.

The only criticism I have ever heard to be levelled at this book is that the pictures and diagrams are of a basic nature. This is true to a degree - the photos are either lifted from the movie, or are images of a model (most likely a role player or enthusiast) wearing replica gear based on that of the movies. Other pictures are basic or crudely drawn. I would highlight however that in my opinion this actually provides a sense of authenticity as the art is similar to that which you might find in an actual military technical manual, or in the popular series of military manuals released by Osprey Publishing which depict famous fighting units of various real-life conflicts. Dont let these criticisms put you off for a minute.

I purchased this book way back in 1995 when it was first published, and even to this day it is a volume, that as a fan of the movie, I come back to read again and again, experiencing the same level of enjoyment each time as I did the first time I opened its pages. I cant priase it enough, and I cant honestly criticise it in any but the most superficial of ways - it is an absolute must for any fan of the Aliens movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, fun source of info for any Aliens fan, 20 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This book is based off of the premise of a technical manual writen as a MArine PR piece. The book is full of psuedo scientific explanations for everything that we saw in the first and second movies, from the dropship design to the actual biology of the aliens themselves. It's all complemented very well by ample pictures and quotes from "actual" colonial marines. It's addicting, I find that i pick it up every now and again and re-read it, some of the "quotes" are very funny. Even if you are only a casual fan of the series, pick it up, it's sure to get you addicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Resource for sci-fi writers!, 12 Feb 1998
By A Customer
For me, technical manuals like this one serve as a great inspirational tool for writing science fiction. My only complaints are the publisher's choice of font for the book (very thin 'courier' may look military, but makes for tough reading) and many of the illustrations are amateurish. Otherwise, the book could have been a perfect '10'. This book is definitely not for people expecting beautiful color photographs of the movie and showy page layouts. This is a nuts-and-bolts tech manual for hard-core alien fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book! Detailed and believable; excellent for AvP!, 30 July 1999
By A Customer
Excellent book that goes into detail about almost every aspect of the colonial marines featured in Aliens. Also, it's clear that the creators of the game "Aliens vrs. Predator" used this book, as certain weapons, symbols, and features (such as the smartgun and SADAR) are explained in detail, and correlate with the game. If you can't get enough of an "Aliens" fix from the game and the first two movies (let's just leave Aliens3&4 alone, shall we?), then this is the book for you! On occasion, the book gets a little bit gory, with none-too-subtle allusions made to the vietnam war. This gives the book a much more realistic feel, but may make some folks uncomfortable. The Aliens section is kinda neat; gives a little more insight into the "Weyland-Yutani" corporation, and once again demonstrates the poor judgement of this profit-seeking company.
A very enjoyable read, especially to sci-fi "technophiles"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for those Alien fans!, 7 Jan 1999
By A Customer
As I am making some plastic models for the movie "aliens", I found this book very useful because it provides many photos and detailed drawings for the gears of the colonial marines. The only thing that I found insufficient for this book is that it didn't have the interior plan for the APC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intresting companion to the Aliens Movie, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens - Colonial Marines Technical Manual (Paperback)
This is a really good detailed book.
It covers the weapons and equipment used by the colonial marines in the Aliens universe.
The illustrations are really detailed and give a lot of information.
I am really pleased with it and would recommend it to fans of the Aliens franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars alien fans must get, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens - Colonial Marines Technical Manual (Paperback)
Love aliens like to know about the weapons.
Very easy to understand easy to read.
Would recommend to anyone who likes to know about the weapons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 23 July 2013
By 
S. P. Dean "captain" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens - Colonial Marines Technical Manual (Paperback)
A lot of infomation.a very good guide.need another book to follow it up.With more infomation.On the USCM equipment.and the other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANtastic, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here is a must for any Aliens fan. well thoughout with great insight into the world of the colonial marines, their equipment and thier tactics. Great pictures and illustrations that only enhance what James Cameron brought to the life in the Alien universe. This manual takes you through squad tactics, use of weapons and their tec specs, dropship and APC designs and specs and even space warfare tatics than just for good measure the reports that the company have received about the new alien lifeform thats been found on LV 426.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old book but....., 28 Jan 2013
By 
J. Wedgburrow (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens - Colonial Marines Technical Manual (Paperback)
Very well written and Aliens fans will love it, there are not many illustrations in this book but we have to remember when it was originally written way back in the day. I saw this book when i was around 14 originally so it quite old ish within reason. Id love to see an updated version but for the Alien enthusiast its good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aliens - Colonial Marines Technical Manual
Aliens - Colonial Marines Technical Manual by Lee Brimmicombe-Wood (Paperback - 25 May 2012)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews