Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic. Glad someone had the guts to do a proper ending
This story has everything. It is well written. True to the character, taking elements from some of the best Batman comics Kinghtfall, No Man's land, and Dark Knight Returns (the comic not the last movie). Not giving too much away the basic story is Gotham has had 8 years of peace with no need of the Batman or Bruce Wayne. Now this is coming to an end thanks to the arrival...
Published 24 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Quick and easy to read for all ages, manages to include all the films key points but don't expect it to go into too much depth regarding the characters
Published 14 months ago by Cosmo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic. Glad someone had the guts to do a proper ending, 1 Aug 2012
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises- The Official Movie Novelization (Mass Market Paperback)
This story has everything. It is well written. True to the character, taking elements from some of the best Batman comics Kinghtfall, No Man's land, and Dark Knight Returns (the comic not the last movie). Not giving too much away the basic story is Gotham has had 8 years of peace with no need of the Batman or Bruce Wayne. Now this is coming to an end thanks to the arrival of Bane. Comic fans already know who he is, but his origins are slightly different in the book, and he might not even be the biggest threat. Bruce has to reinvent himself and rise from the ashes if he has a chance of beating Bane. Alfred sums it up when he tells Bruce that you are not Batman anymore, but he will need to be if Gotham has a hope of surviving. Excellent book. Even though it is 413 pages, they will fly by. Recommended to any Batman fan of the movies or comics. Cox and the Nolans to Batman justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written alternative to the film, 27 July 2012
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises- The Official Movie Novelization (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have ever read and is well worth the money. As many of the other reviews have mentioned, it gives a different perspective to the movie and sometimes in more detail. If you have not seen the film I would recommend seeing it first before reading the book, but it helps with understanding the film. It is a book well written and is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight Rises, 2 July 2013
By 
Jenny, Wondrous Reads (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises- The Official Movie Novelization (Mass Market Paperback)
I've always read a lot of film and TV tie-in books, though sadly fewer seem to be published these days. I jumped up and down when I saw The Dark Knight Rises was getting a novelisation as I love Christopher Nolan's epic vision of Bruce Wayne and the Dark Knight. I read it all in a day and completely loved every page - it's one of the best I've read!

I'm not going to ramble on about the plot because I really don't want to spoil anything for any fans yet to see the film (it's excellent, by the way), but I will say that there are the odd few scenes that weren't included in the finished film and which do add something to the story. Reading this book is also a great opportunity to catch any of Bane's dialogue you might have missed on the big screen - I've seen it twice and, until I read this, there were still some bits I was unsure of!

Greg Cox is an understated legend when it comes to tie-in novels. His style and thorough approach always make them easy to read (check out his Underworld titles if you want further reading) and you can just tell he's passionate about his chosen subjects. He gets the characterisation 100% right in The Dark Knight Rises and it's great to have that extra insight and private thoughts that you never get with a film.

I highly recommend this official novelisation to fans of Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight trilogy, or anyone just looking for a fantastic superhero read. Short chapters means you'll fly through it and at the end you'll wish there was more. I certainly did and I'm quite sad this trilogy has come to a close. It's the best of the three, in my opinion, and because of that I have no doubt I'll be reading this book again somewhere down the line. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read. Just like the movie. Enjoyed reading every word. Love batman. A good twist. Now they . Just need to do the dark knight book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dark knight rises, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed the book it added more depth to the fantastic movie , created by Chris Nolan

Good read by any budding Barman fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best novelisation of a movie I've read!, 30 Nov 2012
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises- The Official Movie Novelization (Mass Market Paperback)
How did I rate The Dark Knight Rises? The same as most. I thought it was an excellent film and the ideal way to finish Christopher Nolan's epic Batman trilogy. Featuring award-winning performances from the likes of Christian Bale, Michael Caine, Tom Hardy, Anne Hathaway, Morgan Freeman & Joseph Gordon-Levitt - plus the deep, hard-hitting emotional story to resolve everything Batman Begins and The Dark Knight had established - The Dark Knight Rises ended the saga with the conclusion the films richly deserved, making Nolan's trilogy not only the greatest superhero film trilogy of all time, but one of the best film trilogies in the entire history of cinema.

Now as we all know...once a major blockbuster comes along and takes the world by storm - as The Dark Knight Rises did - tie-in merchandise is inevitable and natural to satiate fans until the movie comes out on home video. And a prime example of tie-in merchandise are novelizations of films.

This has always been a problematic marketing ploy. I mean, if you've already seen the film, why would you want to read a book that recaps the whole story word-for-word? If you HAVEN'T seen the film...why would you pay to read spoilers? It's something of a redundant scheme to make money.

So here I was opting to check out Greg Cox's novelization of The Dark Knight Rises. Probably because I was so itching to familiarize myself with the story again that I purchased the novel to satisfy myself until the film came out on DVD. It's a decision I've had absolutely no regrets about!

The story itself we have to thank Christopher Nolan for (along with Jonathan Nolan & David S. Goyer for co-writing the screenplay & story respectively). Like the plots in Batman Begins and The Dark Knight, the third film has many twists and turns. All the characters are colourful and develop beautifully along with the story, there are many shockers along the way, and the ending is so utterly satisfying.

The Dark Knight Rises transfers supremely well into the literary format, and it's all down to Greg Cox. Cox does Nolan's masterpiece justice with his writing style, making what's already an emotionally-invested epic into something even more engaging. Greg provides such a great insight into each of the characters' minds; their fears, guilt, thoughts and feelings regarding themselves, others and the situations they find themselves in. It's true understanding of character, and provides fans with a real opportunity to explore things that the film itself just couldn't portray.

Cox avoids the trap of most novelizations by expanding on Nolan's story. Instead of just replicating a film's events word-for-word (like most writers do when assigned this task), this writer presents the story as though it's actually an original novel that he's written himself. The attention to detail of the environments and appearances is excellent, as is the description of fight scenes & action sequences. The additional dialogue that Cox inserts is most refreshing, adding to the greatness of the original script instead of bogging events down.

Another positive boon with this novelization is the several notable references to the Joker. The only real criticism I had with The Dark Knight Rises when I saw it was that there were no references to the Joker or his ultimate fate after The Dark Knight (done out of respect for Heath Ledger, no doubt), which I felt was shunning such an important & integral element of Nolan's Batman Trilogy altogether. With this novelization, Cox raises the Joker issue and tackles the character's ambiguous whereabouts in a manner that's befitting, logical and ultimately satisfying. The writer also makes sure to stress how deeply the Joker's rampage affected both Batman, Commissioner Gordon & the people of Gotham, as they still have to deal with the deep, terrible scars.

Greg Cox deserves props for this one, most of all for his writing style and his perfect pacing. Like so many of its ilk, this novelization could've been a cheap, rushed cash-in. Instead it's a really surprising accompaniment to one of 2012's best films. To those who loved The Dark Knight Rises (and Batman fans in general), this is a novelization I would really recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous novelization, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had to get this book I love the movie so much and I'm happy to say that the book is just as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quick and easy to read for all ages, manages to include all the films key points but don't expect it to go into too much depth regarding the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would give this book 3 stars. It's a great novel of the film, and has more information than the film. Read this then watch the film and you'll understand the film more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read. Had a grip on me more than the film did. Few typos. Not the Batman and Bane from the comics, but we all knew that. But still found myself enjoying the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Knight Rises- The Official Movie Novelization
The Dark Knight Rises- The Official Movie Novelization by Greg Cox (Mass Market Paperback - 24 July 2012)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews