Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful collection of sci-fi spaceship and flying craft art
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:45 Mins
This is another concept art book collaboration between Scott Robertson, Annis Naeem and Daniel Gardner.

The previous book they worked on was DRIVE: vehicle sketches and renderings which features ground vehicles. With BLAST, they take to the skies and design aircrafts and flying ships.

The 128-page book is filled with...
Published on 12 July 2012 by Parka

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as expected
I expected more sketches and early stage, development work which the author is famous for. The book is filled with fully rendered images which I found pretty cold looking. Those sketches which explained the workflow and looked at the space ships inside-out were great, just too few compared to the finished art. I would still recommend it for the author's fans but more as...
Published 15 months ago by Giedre


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful collection of sci-fi spaceship and flying craft art, 12 July 2012
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: BLAST TP (Paperback)
Length:: 0:45 Mins

This is another concept art book collaboration between Scott Robertson, Annis Naeem and Daniel Gardner.

The previous book they worked on was DRIVE: vehicle sketches and renderings which features ground vehicles. With BLAST, they take to the skies and design aircrafts and flying ships.

The 128-page book is filled with concept sketches and paintings. There are lots of aircrafts coming in all sorts of interesting shapes and designs. There are bulky ones, those that look like they have sails, vertically skewed ones, others, and one that I found the front to look like Iron Man. However, there are no gigantic deep space exploration crafts like those from Star Trek.

There is also an invited guest artist section featuring work from Harald Belker, Ian McQue, Thom Tenery, David Hobbins, Darren Bacon and Joon Ahn.

It's a great book recommend to those who like sci-fi flying ships and art. It's an inspiring collection if you're looking for ideas.

There are both hardcover and paperback editions.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast! Wish I`d drawn that..., 18 Sep 2012
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blast (Paperback)
I bought this book on the strength of Parka`s excellent video review, and what a crackingly good volume it is!
Robertson and his fellow artists are firm advocates of the pencil and marker-pen, as their exemplary sketch-work reveals; many of the pieces are eventually scanned and finished in digital media, but the inventive processes described and the products of their imaginings are both fascinating and instructive. The finished works are often extraordinarily beautiful, intelligently realised futuristic artworks.
A thoroughly inspiring and well-produced book, crammed with wonderful images, highly recommended for anyone interested in science fiction art and graphic design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blast (Paperback)
Great book, great images and explanation. Although I wished it contained some more page's to look at. Maybe a bit more of the 'guest-artists'? Nevertheless I think the book is worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blast (Paperback)
I only wish it had more paintings and colored stuff. Nice work though. And the book came in perfect conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is A Blast, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blast (Paperback)
One exciting out of the box design idea after another with Scott Robertson's extra attention paid to believable functionality and materials and his ever present attention to 'human packaging', the construction of a vehicle around it's operator. Follow the design process with Scott and two of his top graduate students as they work though a great range of possible craft ideas to arrive at a selection of world class final renders. Insight and a little awe on every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as expected, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blast (Paperback)
I expected more sketches and early stage, development work which the author is famous for. The book is filled with fully rendered images which I found pretty cold looking. Those sketches which explained the workflow and looked at the space ships inside-out were great, just too few compared to the finished art. I would still recommend it for the author's fans but more as his portfolio than a book about how to draw spaceships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blast
Blast by Annis Naeem (Paperback - 30 Mar 2012)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews