Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An uplifting story with no horror
Apart from Cirque du Freak, I haven't read any of Darren Shan's books, mainly because horror isn't a genre than appeals to me. However, I just read this and thought it was FABULOUS. It is a kind of spiritual thriller and reminds me of some of the Syriac manuscripts I read when I was studying Hebrew and Jewish studies at SOAS. Written simply yet clearly, Hagurosan is a...
Published 15 months ago by Caroline Lawrence

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Japanese fable
Not what I expected. I thought Darren Shan wrote horror, but this is a Japanese fable. Knowing that Barrington Stoke write books for emerging, reluctant readers and normally aged at teenagers, I can't see that age group reading it. The story itself is a typical fairy tale/fable and there's nothing wrong with it and it has quite a clever ending. Inerspersed with B&W...
Published 10 days ago by Book chatter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An uplifting story with no horror, 23 May 2013
This review is from: Hagurosan (Paperback)
Apart from Cirque du Freak, I haven't read any of Darren Shan's books, mainly because horror isn't a genre than appeals to me. However, I just read this and thought it was FABULOUS. It is a kind of spiritual thriller and reminds me of some of the Syriac manuscripts I read when I was studying Hebrew and Jewish studies at SOAS. Written simply yet clearly, Hagurosan is a gripping book with an uplifting message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Children with Dyslexia, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hagurosan (Paperback)
A short story from the "master of horror", Darren Shan has written a very touching short story for children. Perfect for children who suffer from dyslexia. A lovely book to read from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hagurosan (Paperback)
My teenage son loved reading this book, he read it in one sitting! Has a pretty cool front cover too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 14 Dec 2013
This review is from: Hagurosan (Paperback)
My son will love this he is a big Darren shan fan he loves his books. He is always excited about the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tale!, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Clare Wade (Newcastle upon tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hagurosan (Paperback)
My son who hates reading loved this book! He read it within a day, it is a short story but well worth a read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hagurosan (Paperback)
book was excellent would def recommend everybody reads this.sad but Darren shan is an excellent writer and always seems to shoch and do the unexpected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hagurosan (Paperback)
Great piece of work , could not put it down. Easy to read and understand. Nice little story makes you think about your self and it draws you in to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hagurosan (Paperback)
I have read every Darren Shan Book, kids series, adult series, and being dyslexic I thought I would give this one a go. I read it within half an hour and I found it amazing how a simple story can grip and move you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Japanese fable, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: Hagurosan (Paperback)
Not what I expected. I thought Darren Shan wrote horror, but this is a Japanese fable. Knowing that Barrington Stoke write books for emerging, reluctant readers and normally aged at teenagers, I can't see that age group reading it. The story itself is a typical fairy tale/fable and there's nothing wrong with it and it has quite a clever ending. Inerspersed with B&W drawings the annoying thing was the page with a quote on it before the start of each chapter - for me it added nothing to the story, but was more a literary device. The cover has a clever gimmicky textured picture, but it could actually have been made holgraphic to make it more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book,for a kids book, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hagurosan (Paperback)
loved this book but it is a kids book
font is really big
recomend it to anyone who has a young boy
adding this book to my collection imediatley
darren shan never disapoints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hagurosan
Hagurosan by Darren Shan (Paperback - 15 May 2013)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews