Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking roller-coaster ride!
Just finished reading 'Hive Monkey' tonight - had to get the review in as soon as. I wasn't sure that Gareth Powell could top the success of 'Ack-Ack Macaque', but I think he has. This series just keeps getting better and better. I can't wait to read further adventures involving the monkey and his adopted 'troupe'- just as soon as you can, Mr Powell, please?
By...
Published 10 months ago by elizabeth anne hepburn

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not living up to it's promise....
Published 4 months ago by Bookbinder


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking roller-coaster ride!, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished reading 'Hive Monkey' tonight - had to get the review in as soon as. I wasn't sure that Gareth Powell could top the success of 'Ack-Ack Macaque', but I think he has. This series just keeps getting better and better. I can't wait to read further adventures involving the monkey and his adopted 'troupe'- just as soon as you can, Mr Powell, please?
By the way, does anybody think these stories would adapt really well to graphic novel format? Come on, publishers - what about it?
As for all you sci-fi/fantasy/steampunk readers out there, do give these books a try; they're tremendous fun and keep you grabbed until the last chapter - love them, love them, love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The monkey strikes back, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Christopher Long "Phone Monkey" (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Last year I came across the name Ack-Ack Macaque and I just knew I had to take a closer look. What followed was a wild fantasy ride that left me wanting more. And, lucky me, more there is.
Hive Monkey does not disappoint if you're a fan of the first book. If anything it takes the already brilliantly twisted idea and improves upon it. It pushes the lead characters further, drives the story to an even more insane place and the action never lets up.
If you're suffering from the beginning of year blues then I say hail a passing Spitfire and hang on for one hell of a flight to hell and back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow-up and a sense of direction for the monkey, 14 May 2014
By 
Andy (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved Ack-Ack Macaque and the follow-up doesn't disappoint. In some ways I always felt the character was a little bit too clever for its own good - a good idea that somehow escaped into a novel - and lacked any real depth to develop. Powell confounds that here with a plotline that suggests some interesting books to come. Some may find the use of old tropes like parallel universes a bit of a cop-out. But the story barrels along at a pace regardless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An accomplished sequel, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A punchy and satisfying follow up to the original Ack Ack Macaque that delivers on the promise of the first book. The monkey still represents the clash between wild and civilised and the characters all manage to develop a little amongst the chaos of a huge storyline.

It manages to be delightfully different to the original, without losing those aspects that made the first book so awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun romp, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. J. A. F. Turner "foxtrotyankee" (Wednesbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
But maybe not as good as the first book in the series. A nice, quick easy read, would almost suit as YA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable romp, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good idea, but taken about as far as it will go, even here about two thirds through it got a bit repetitive on the descriptions and musings it just seemed to stagnate a bit before the big ending. I enjoyed it, but I think the idea has run as far as it will go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monkey Magic, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ack Ack is back and back with a bang. The Macaque with attitude is back and bored with the quiet life and wishes for some excitement. Sometimes you shouldnt wish. Once again the world is in peril and Ack Ack steps up to the plate to save it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fun and highly thought provoking, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyable with likable characters and a lot of fun with alternate realities - genuinely thought-provoking. And of course there's the Monkey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque) (Paperback)
Not living up to it's promise....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque)
Hive Monkey (Ack-Ack Macaque) by Gareth L. Powell (Paperback - 2 Jan 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews