Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
25
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2012
Those who collect the Case Files (Dredd and Anderson) will already have the majority of what's in this book, all they'll be missing are a few reprinted covers and possibly a faux-advertising strip featuring Judge Death.

But for those who don't? Well, this is one of the biggest and most important Anderson stories, but Joe Dredd still has a big part to play. It also contains one of the most famous Dredd panels - Gaze into the fist of Dredd - and for that alone it's worth getting. New readers shouldn't struggle too much with this read, as it's fairly self-explanatory, and it gives a good idea of what Dredd/Anderson can be like.

As for the problems? Like the other two budget releases (The Cursed Earth Saga & The Day the Law Died), Rebellion have printed the stories at about 50% of their original size a book that isn't the same dimensions as the original comic. There's an inch or so border between the top and bottom of each comic, and the size reduction really doesn't make it easier to read. You might fit it into your pocket, but you'll be squinting at the text. The reproductions are really good, but the text size is definitely a problem. Those with sight/reading problems may struggle.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
And in this book Judge Dredd gets four villains.
This is the story that really set Judge Dredd on the road to greatness.
The four Dark Judges are Death, Mortis, Fear and Fire and they really do provide great foil to Judge Dredd.
The story is well worth five stars but be warned that this is a paperback sized book and consequently the art does suffer.
If you are new to Judge Dredd then this format is a good place to start but if you enjoy it then I suggest you turn your attentions to The Complete Case Files instead where the artwork has a chance to breathe and you don't spend half you're time squinting at the page.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dredd's toughest opponents return in this cracking compendium that brings Anderson from Psi Division into her own as she battles the minions of justice from a long dead society. Its definitely a tale that really will grab you and keep you glued as the wonderful artwork blended with high action gives you what you crave. Add to the mix some solid storytelling and all round it's a real gem, however as with the others the text is too small and you'll need a bright light to make it easier to read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Was already a big Dredd/2000AD fan, but had always brought the "proper" graphic novels - even though I have had kindles and Tablets that would run the Kindle app for a number of years.

However, in the last month or so I have taken the plunge and downloaded this, and two other Graphic Novels direct to the Kindle to see what the experiance was like.

I have to say I was a little disappointed - but this is with the way the Kindle Displays the book, and not with the book its self. The Kindle systems seems a little clumsy to me. It works (sort of) but it isnt very elegant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
If, in the late seventies, you went to school with the latest 2000AD tucked in your bag, then you were almost certainly a confirmed Dredd fan, this is a collection that takes you back to those bubblegum days of dogs that ate homework!
Dredd and Anderson square up to Death, Fear, Fire and Mortis.
"Gaze into the fist of Dredd"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
I love Dredd. He is the reason i started reading comic books, and when i saw the 3 classic sets re-released in these volumes, i went out and got all 3.
I felt that this one was the one i was most exited about reading, but it also became the biggest letdown of the 3. It was smaller in page numbers, and the stories were more farfetched and not very well fleshed out at all. The dark judges dont even get to go on an awesomely rampant killing spree like they do in the Dredd/Batman crossover collection (Jut buy that, kiddos!). Nope. instead, they teleport like pansies whenever someone fires a shot at their immortal bodies and fall for the same trick each time at the hands of Anderson.
If you like 'anderson, psy division' then great, get this book. if you're lookingfor a dredd classic, i'm afraid the Man who IS the Law is barely in this - a big letdown. They could have squeesed just one more teensy little story into this.
The fact is, the Dark Judges' origins a little, well, boring. their rampant homicidal nature shown in more recent comics is muuuch more to a comic book fan's liking. MUCH more so. So just go and get some of those.
If you're a collector though, these are classic, so fair doos to that.
But if you get the set of 3, read this one 2nd - the first will make you love dredd, this will introduce the crazy scifi stuff and the third will pick up the slow momentum of this book and make you want to keep on reading about the mega city lawman!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
For the most part these stories are over thirty years old but they are amazing and iconic . Gaze into the fist of Dress indeed. The art is superb and the stories due surprisingly chilling considering the audience. Highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
This brought back some great memories of the early days of 2000AD, dark gritty humour and exciting well written stories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
I ordered this is a bit of a hurry, so neglected to look at the size of the book... It's small. Regular paperback small. This makes the beautiful artwork (some of Brian Bolland's best IMHO) feel cramped. Not the best way to enjoy this great story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
Great to re-read these excellent stories again in a very well presented volume with great back-up features.
Recommended for new readers of Judge Dredd and the other Judges or for renewing the memory of original readers like myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)