Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this World..!
Not the biggest Sci-fi fan in the world but a huge fan of good writing and Alt.Human is an exceptional book. From page one the author drops you into a future that is all too real and at once invigorating. The protagonist is believable and well-realised - unlike some other forays into the genre I've noticed - but the five-star decider for me was the story. Keith Brooke is...
Published 21 months ago by Pulp Pusher

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ¡!Disappointment | Bewilderment ¡!
The problem with this novel is not the setting or the beginning: it's a sci-fi distopia, with an alien-occupied world where aliens are vastly superior to humans, and these eke out a living trading and peddling stuff, including identities (which, apparently, are inserted in the blood as if the blood itself didn't have something called DNA which is identitary enough). There...
Published 9 months ago by JJ Merelo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this World..!, 26 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alt.Human (Paperback)
Not the biggest Sci-fi fan in the world but a huge fan of good writing and Alt.Human is an exceptional book. From page one the author drops you into a future that is all too real and at once invigorating. The protagonist is believable and well-realised - unlike some other forays into the genre I've noticed - but the five-star decider for me was the story. Keith Brooke is a fine storyteller, he knows when to hold back and when to reveal something to his reader. This novel will grip you tight from start to finish. Just outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !¡admiring / satisfied¡! Highly original sci fi, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book after reading a review in the Guardian, and I have to agree with the big G that this is a very fine book indeed. To my shame I hadn't heard of Keith Brooke, but frankly I think he's up there with the best and most original sci fi writers around.

alt.human is set in a future dystopia where alien species have effectively subjugated humans. Confined to ghetto-like 'indigenous peoples preserves', the human population becomes steadily more terrorised, until a group escapes from the city and begins a journey to save humanity.

The protagonists (alien and human) are compelling and well thought through, but the real joy for me was the imagination that Brooke shows in his description and handling of the cityscape. halfway through the book, I started dreaming that I was there... that hasn't happened for a while.

Anyway, great book - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harmony, 6 July 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is a whirlwind of a ride disguised as a book. Fantastic end-of-the-world-as-we-know-it stuff. Dodge, a young man, lives with his clan in a designed Ipp (Indigenous Peoples' Preserve), where movement between Ipps or into the larger city areas is controlled by implants, and monitored by aliens. All kinds of aliens live in this world that seems to have come of our future, and the humans live in small enclaves, subsisting or cooperating with aliens to make as much of their lives as they can hope for. But when we join the story, something is changing. The aliens, or some of them, seem to be targetting humans or human enclaves. Why? And who or what is Hope? And Harmony? In this great story, we follow some of the humans as they seek to survive, but in a way they have never considered before.

The imagery used in the book is fantastic - the images of the aliens, and the world they have constructed, the imagery of the watchers, the troopships, the grunts, the starship and the transportation methods they use from Earth. It's all very imaginatively done, yet never to the point of parody - everything has a `substance' about it that is easy to imagine in this nightmarish future world.

I did find the last third or so of the book seemed to lose its way a bit; I would have liked to see more made of the `alien' aspect of the story, and what was going on in the world around the small human group that we had access to in the book. There is clearly much more going on in this world, and universe, than these people understand or can comprehend, so it would be good to think there was perhaps a sequal which would explore more of these themes.

A great sci-fi read; and totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ¡!Disappointment | Bewilderment ¡!, 26 Oct 2013
This review is from: Alt.Human (Paperback)
The problem with this novel is not the setting or the beginning: it's a sci-fi distopia, with an alien-occupied world where aliens are vastly superior to humans, and these eke out a living trading and peddling stuff, including identities (which, apparently, are inserted in the blood as if the blood itself didn't have something called DNA which is identitary enough). There are little fights, new and weird characters come in (robots! humanoids! Friendly and obnoxious aliens!) and you have your quest laid out for you: you have to save the world, but, barring that, you have to save yourself... and there's this place called Harmony (the alternative title of this novel) where people live, well, in Harmony and aliens leave them alone. And then what? Well, it turns out (spoiler alert) not that much.
This novel has nice ingredients. The alien language starts a bit annoying, but eventually you get used to it, but it turns out to have a very tangential effect on the plot, and even this seems to be included just for the record. Aliens are imaginative and have original features, but this does not seem to have much influence on the outcome either. Motivations, origins, and, eventually, showdowns are not there or are in a different place where they should be. There's, for instance, this love story between Dodge and Hope, but it just doesn't click. Maybe because the characters do not click either: Dodge and Hope seem absolutely lost and anhedonic, they just don't care what happens to them either way, even if their friends and family fall around them.
All in all, a disappointment. Not a complete disappointment, that's why I give it two stars. Also because there were no two-stars reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars alt human, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alt.Human (Paperback)
its an okay read, depends on what you expect from sci-fi. its not what i expected. but it was ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alt.Human (Paperback)
i really enjoyed reading this novel. a very pleasant change from all the mediocre modern space opera which seems so abundant nowadays. I have just purchased The Accord by the same author and look very much forward to reading that also. sadly, the great majority of the author's work seems only to be available digitally and alas I do not own such a reader -call me old-fashioned.

the characters were well conceived, the plot was pacey and was very well concluded. I would have liked to have known more about the guardians (and all the other aliens) -who they were and their motivations. other than that, a great book well written and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alt.human, 6 July 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Alt.Human (Paperback)
This is a whirlwind of a ride disguised as a book. Fantastic end-of-the-world-as-we-know-it stuff. Dodge, a young man, lives with his clan in a designed Ipp (Indigenous Peoples' Preserve), where movement between Ipps or into the larger city areas is controlled by implants, and monitored by aliens. All kinds of aliens live in this world that seems to have come of our future, and the humans live in small enclaves, subsisting or cooperating with aliens to make as much of their lives as they can hope for. But when we join the story, something is changing. The aliens, or some of them, seem to be targetting humans or human enclaves. Why? And who or what is Hope? And Harmony? In this great story, we follow some of the humans as they seek to survive, but in a way they have never considered before.

The imagery used in the book is fantastic - the images of the aliens, and the world they have constructed, the imagery of the watchers, the troopships, the grunts, the starship and the transportation methods they use from Earth. It's all very imaginatively done, yet never to the point of parody - everything has a `substance' about it that is easy to imagine in this nightmarish future world.

I did find the last third or so of the book seemed to lose its way a bit; I would have liked to see more made of the `alien' aspect of the story, and what was going on in the world around the small human group that we had access to in the book. There is clearly much more going on in this world, and universe, than these people understand or can comprehend, so it would be good to think there was perhaps a sequal which would explore more of these themes.

A great sci-fi read; and totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good story couldn't stop reading, 26 Jun 2013
By 
Chortle67 (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant sci-fi book, some good ideas, a thriller, horror, love story, action, fighting, and moralistic!
If you like the Blade Runner type landscape or wandered around a War games shop you will like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unconventional, but solid, 20 Jun 2013
This review is from: Alt.Human (Paperback)
With this book, writer Keith Brooke breaks two golden rules (for what little they're worth these days): One, he has far more than the recommended number of characters - at least nine or ten, with four or five of them playing fairly big roles. And two, he flits not only between characters, but perspectives too. He writes his main character in the first-person, but then - sometimes in the same chapter or even page - will follow a secondary character (in the third-person, of course) telling their background separate to his main character. This seems odd at first, as usually with first-person narratives, we (the reader) are only ever privy to what the main character does and sees. We can't know anything the protagonist doesn't.

But, and this is the key, he does it well, somehow maintaining the flow and avoiding any confusion. It's a solid story, told well, and my interest waned only occasionally, mainly through some of the more 'meandering' chapters.

The science is there to an extent, but never really explained, and while some hardcore sci-fi nuts might consider this a cop-out, it didn't bother me personally. It was enough to have these elements described to me and I never felt like I needed an explanation. They just were, and that was enough for me. In fact, it gave me great hope and encouragement, as someone who likes to write sci-fi, but knows next to nothing about science.

If I have one criticism, it is with the characterisation. They're not exactly flat, as one reviewer says, but nor are they full-bodied, either. My main problem in this area was with Dodge, the main character. Even by the end of the book I'm just not sure I liked him very much. I certainly didn't feel as though I'd ever got to know him fully.

Everything considered I'd not hesitate recommending alt.human to a friend, although I would feel obliged to warn them that the science is a little thin on the ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Familiar themes but feels new, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has familiar themes of aliens and dystopia but it feels new. I quickly became engrossed. My only quibble is that it could have been longer with perhaps a fuller ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harmony
Harmony by Keith Brooke (Mass Market Paperback - 29 May 2012)
Used & New from: 1.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews