Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide - for all ages
This is a clearly written and comprehensive guide to the Raspberry Pi. It covers everything from plugging the Pi in and installing an operating system on SD card to using it to run iPlayer on your tv and writing complex games. It's hard to see why it's particularly "for kids", apart from the fact that kids are famously better at understanding technology than their parents...
Published 12 months ago by Simon Dean

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First few chapter are ok, then it loses a novice.
I got this for my son. He struggled with the language. The first few chapters were OK, but didn't explain everything clearly. After that the chapters were disjointed - they were clearly taken directly from magazine articles for adults. I have since purchased "Adventures In Raspberry Pi" which is a lot clearer.
Published 8 months ago by Mr. M. R. Swain


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide - for all ages, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi for Kids (Paperback)
This is a clearly written and comprehensive guide to the Raspberry Pi. It covers everything from plugging the Pi in and installing an operating system on SD card to using it to run iPlayer on your tv and writing complex games. It's hard to see why it's particularly "for kids", apart from the fact that kids are famously better at understanding technology than their parents are. This is the first book I've read on the Pi and gives me the confidence to order one and get programing. It puts me in mind of the good old days of the BBC micro (so clearly I'm no kid)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First few chapter are ok, then it loses a novice., 17 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi for Kids (Paperback)
I got this for my son. He struggled with the language. The first few chapters were OK, but didn't explain everything clearly. After that the chapters were disjointed - they were clearly taken directly from magazine articles for adults. I have since purchased "Adventures In Raspberry Pi" which is a lot clearer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to the Pi for parents/grandparents, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi for Kids (Paperback)
Aimed at parents/grandparents - I am in the latter group - considering buying a Pi for their kids. It tells you what it is, what you need to get it going and what it does/doesn't do, with detailed procedures, written in an easy style which leads you gently into the inevitable code you will have to write to get it to a usable state. I have worked with computers since the 1980's, am familiar with UNIX, C, Java, PHP etc. and still needed the instructions in this book to get my Pi up and running.
If you are thinking about buying a Pi, read this book first, then work out what extras you will need for your particular situation, for example, the Pi is designed to connect to a TV, not a monitor. If you decide to get one, you can then use the examples in this book to set it up, then give the book to the kids and let them take over.
Two languages are covered in detail - Scratch and Python. Scratch is aimed at younger children and teaches the fundamentals of programming by dragging and dropping jigsaw pieces into position, whereas Python is a proper programming tool for creating apps and has quite a steep learning curve. Both these languages, especially Python, are covered in detail with examples. I came across a couple of annoying typos, but apart from this they can be typed in and work ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For adults, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi for Kids (Paperback)
This magazine is for adults to read rather than for a child to follow.

IF you want to work through things with your child (or your child to work themselves possible for a tween/teen) I would go for adventures in raspberry pi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - but not remotely "for kids", 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi for Kids (Paperback)
This is an excellent guide to starting out with the Raspberry Pi; I just have no idea why it claims to be "for kids". Neither the content nor the presentation are particularly child-friendly. For example, one of the projects is creating a spreadsheet to calculate your tax - don't know about anyone else, but that's not remotely relevant to my 10-year-old.

I'm sure I'll use this book a fair bit, and then show the kids what I've learned. I'm just a bit disappointed that this isn't a book they'll want to use themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retail Price: £7.99, 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: Raspberry Pi for Kids (Paperback)
This magazine is great - not just for kids, any novice to RaspberryPi. I bought it at Sainsbury's for £7.99, used it to set my Pi up as a NAS, and I'm now listening to music that I'm streaming from the Pi to my wi-fi speakers. Going to buy another and use it as a video streaming device for watching films. My laptop will be free from both of these tasks. All instructions to do this are in this magazine. I know you can find the info online, but this is simple, and saves time searching for entry-level instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars informative but error ridden, 27 Jan 2014
This review is from: Raspberry Pi for Kids (Paperback)
I bought this to give to an 11 year old to get him up and running with a Pi we gave him for Christmas. The overall idea is good, but it is full of little niggly errors and typos. These don't matter too much in the text as you can guess what should have been written, but there are also errors in some of the code, for example the code to run Minecraft doesn't work as written in this guide, there is a missing ./ before one of the command lines. This led to some extreme disappointment from the aforementioned 11 year old, and we had to Google to find the correct code, which rather makes this pointless. With a little more attention to detail this would have done the job, as it stands its really really frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title: Do not buy this for a child., 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi for Kids (Paperback)
The title of this book I very misleading. It is very definitely not for kids! The language used is not at all child friendly and as another reviewer has observed, an example of a tax calculating spreadsheet is hardly relevant to a child. There is also a massive tendency to use commands without explaining what they mean. This will simply encourage kids to treat computers as mysterious boxes with very little understanding of what is happening inside them. Surely not he objective of the RPi project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi for Kids (Paperback)
its an easy read for a tec subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi for Kids (Paperback)
I recently bought a Raspberry PI to replace my apple TV as the living room media center but was unaware what the little board was capable of and thought this book would be a good place to start.
Simple and easy to follow tutorials make it a great place to start regardless of your age or tech know how.
Me and my son are now in the process of making a time lapse camera for the garden following one of tuts.
Not only is the book good for kids it was very informational for me at 32 years of age :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raspberry Pi for Kids
Raspberry Pi for Kids by MagBook (Paperback - 19 Sep 2013)
£4.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews