Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i loved it
the pictures are brilliant. my husband has been a fan of his for many years. we hope he brings out more cds
Published 15 months ago by paula beckett

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless!!
I bought this `used' at a reasonable price. I had hoped that the book would be largely free of text and that it would contain some rare or previously unseen photographs.

Sadly, my hopes were dashed upon receipt of the book. It is full of mundane, pedestrian writing and the images within, `the life in pictures', have all been seen before.

There is...
Published 16 months ago by Stephen Lloyd


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless!!, 24 April 2013
By 
Stephen Lloyd (Bradford, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Life in Pictures (Hardcover)
I bought this `used' at a reasonable price. I had hoped that the book would be largely free of text and that it would contain some rare or previously unseen photographs.

Sadly, my hopes were dashed upon receipt of the book. It is full of mundane, pedestrian writing and the images within, `the life in pictures', have all been seen before.

There is nothing here to attract the new or seasoned Bowie follower. Avoid and spend your money on `David Bowie is' instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 23 Jan 2014
This review is from: David Bowie: A Life in Pictures (Hardcover)
This book is absolutely terrible. The text is un-informed at best, totally inaccurate at worst. After a quite in-depth look at the years 1964-1975 (with many mistakes: Bowie's eye condition being loosely blamed on a "childhood accident") it manages to summarise the years 1976-1992 in about six pages! Bearing in mind some of Bowie's most important albums were released during this time, "Low", "Heroes", "Lodger" etc, they are skimmed over like a byword to the more important photographs. Film synopsis' are incorrect (Thomas Jerome Newton "dies a lonely death" at the end of "The Man Who Fell To Earth") and a photograph from Bowie's "Serious Moonlight Tour" was apparently taken in 1990!

I'm glad I didn't pay full price for this book (3.99 at The Works) and advise people who want to learn something about Bowie avoid this book like the plague. It certainly won't be featuring in any future essential bibliography sections of other books.

Although I have given this book one star, I only did this as it was not possible to post this review without rating it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i loved it, 25 May 2013
By 
paula beckett (sutton surrey untied kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Life in Pictures (Hardcover)
the pictures are brilliant. my husband has been a fan of his for many years. we hope he brings out more cds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David bowie.Book, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Life in Pictures (Hardcover)
Lovely photographs are really nice and my son liked it a lot being a David bowie fan I think I made a good choice getting this for him. thanks chris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Life in Pictures (Hardcover)
Perefect and informative for any Bowie Fan. Had to wait quite a while to receive it, but it was worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described, 6 July 2013
By 
Mr. G. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Life in Pictures (Hardcover)
The book was great but in terrible condition. Cover was ripped and I ordered this as a gift.Sorry I bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Bowie: A Life in Pictures
David Bowie: A Life in Pictures by Chris Welch (Hardcover - 11 April 2013)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews