Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2012
Immediately when opening this book to any page, you are dazzled with the visual clarity, precision and shear bewilderment of the photography, enticing you to delve into the surrounding text for further explanation of these wonders. Patrick Moore's ability in explaining the most difficult areas of astronomy into simplistic terms never ceases to amaze me. Even my wife who has never shown interest in anything in the sky other than the sun and hence suntan lotion found herself drawn to the images and wanting to know more about them.....what more can one say.... a great book for all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
It's the perfect book for all you amateur astronomy buddies out there. It combines Patrick's knowledge on the universe (from as close as our Moon to beyond the stars) with Pete's awesome pictures. From now on, if anyone asks me for telescope or camera advice again, I'll point them to this! And if this didn't convince you yet, you get a poster of Patrick's Moon Map and full sky maps with it too!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
An excellent and comprehensive guide for advanced and beginner astronomers alike.
Patrick is a born communicator so nothing is beyond even the beginner astronomer.
He will be greatly missed!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Nice pictures and smart black pages but light on real meaty astro information. I bought this to help me teach GCSE Astronomy as the official book is not worth buying. Didn't give me the information I needed but it looks good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
A very good book. It could have been better if it covered the digital aspect in more detail but that aside it still covered a lot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
A good book for beginners. Lots of pictures, everything explained in laymans terms. Looks great on the coffee table as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
Pre-ordered this as i thought it would be interesting and informative, particularly with the number of internet based resources ( telescopes, digital images etc ) now available.
Disappointed to find it was just a coffee-table style rehash of some basic material, such as guide to solar system, star charts, choosing a telescope etc. Would be good if you wanted a good beginners' intro to astronomy but not much for the more experienced astronomer.
Returned to Amaszon unread......
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
Very Good Book. Very Good book. I loved read this book from end to end. Will have to get more books like this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)