Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but not without faults...
OK this is a review base dupon one game and a quick read through of the rules after I'd played the game (someone else "hosted" the original game).

First up what do you physically get for your money? A hardbound 216 page full colour and lavishly illustrated volume. Pages are of the staandard "Osprey" size (that is a little over A5 but under A4 - I'm sure it must...
Published 22 months ago by A. D. Miles

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars world warhammer two...
I guess if you want a simple game that involves using nice 28mm figures and rolling lots of dice then this is for you. It is for platoon skirmish really. I am sure that it may be useful for those who are moving from GW games into the historical arena then it would be fine. Personally I have played many better WW2 rules over the years.

The gameplay is a...
Published on 18 May 2013 by Nick


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but not without faults..., 18 Sept. 2013
By 
A. D. Miles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bolt Action: World War II Wargames Rules (Hardcover)
OK this is a review base dupon one game and a quick read through of the rules after I'd played the game (someone else "hosted" the original game).

First up what do you physically get for your money? A hardbound 216 page full colour and lavishly illustrated volume. Pages are of the staandard "Osprey" size (that is a little over A5 but under A4 - I'm sure it must have a name). Most of the illustrations are pure eye-candy but there are diagrams/illustrations to illustrate play. The quality of the miniatures in the photographs are generally outstanding. The Peter Denis illustrations that proliferate are not quite to my taste but that is a purely personal matter. Page count could probably be cut in half if the illustrations were reduced.

OK then lets get to the "meat". The game is designed around a reinforced platoon of WW2 infantry. In game terms this will be organised into a number of infantry squads or sections and a number of teams; each of these is a "unit" in game terms and cannot be sub-divided; each acts as a group at all times. In many respects this keeps things nice and easy BUT it does also mean that it isn't possible to use WW2 fireteam or group tactics. Each platoon can be further reinforced by individual heavy weapons or vehicles - so you can add a single MMG team and/or a single tank but as written you can't add several tanks or several MMGs.

Game play is quite interesting. For each unit you have a chit that is placed into a container. Players draw chits and if, for example a "German" chit is drawn then the German player selects a unit and carries out an action with that unit. Once that has been completed another chit is draw and another unit activated; the effect of this is that play swings back and forth between players in a very unpredictable way; you could get play more or less alternate or you can have players getting a "run" of activations. I like this but I imagine there are many who would hate this unpredictability (presumably because war is entirely predictable and plans always go off exactly as intended...) The choice of actions is fairly straightforward and consist of Fire, Advance, Run, Ambush (which is in effect being on "overwatch"), Rally or Down (making maximum use of cover).

Shooting is handled with D6 rolls and uses a very basic "to hit" mechanism modified for range, movement etc. There is then a further roll to damage the target - this is dependent upon the quality of the target not the shooter. Again I like this as it emphasises troop quality. Units also accrue "pinned" markers as they're hit - this makes return shooting less accurate and requires the owner of the pinned unit to roll to activate the unit. The number of dice rolled ranges from one for rifles up to 3 or 4 for MMGs. Heavier weapons may only have a single die but a successful hit can inflict multiple hits. Indirect fire initially needs a 6 to hit; this number is reduced by one each successive turn; this had a really nice effect in the game that I played in that I felt enemy mortar fire was slowly zeroing in on me and I decided to move out (thus re-setting the attacker's die to 6). HE weapons used in this way though either hit or miss - there are no deviating rounds for small, on-table, weapons. The morale rules are very simple and basic; a unit checks morale if it loses 50% or more of its strength from a sinlge firing i.e. I started of with 7 men and lost one a while ago. I now have 6; if I now lose 3 or more to a single attack I check but I don't check if I lose a further 2 in a single attack or if I lose 3 to separate attacks. However if the number of pinned markers exceeds my original strength then the unit is eliminated. I suspect that the moral rules on their own are not terribly realistic BUT if one thinks of the number of figures on table as representing the overall remaining combat effectiveness of the squad/section then it works. The pinning markers do have the effect of making you feel as though you're gradually losing control of your army and encourage you to rally whenever possible. The "down" action is also a nice option as it allows you to scrabble in the dirt and not shoot back in exchange for the enemy having a to hit penalty.

Close combat is a fairly all or nothing afair with no "to hit" roll, it skips directly to a roll "to wound". The attackers roll first and only survivors fight back. The unit that inflicts fewer casualties loses and is completely removed from the game. The main issue that I forsee here is that close combat is unit vs unit; a rifle section could attack a position containing a sniper, an MMG team and a Forward Observor but may only attack ONE of those units. A simple ammendment would be to "pool" those units but this doesn't exist in the rules as written.

There are also fairly simple artillery and vehicle rules. In both cases weapons/vehicles are divided into fairly broad categories of light/medium/heavy armour and/or gun. Again I have no problem with this as it facilitates a fast play system - I am sure that there will be those who are apalled by the fact that armour and penetration aren't measured to the nearest mm and precise angle. I shant comment further as I've not played with these, but they are very much a supporting arm to the infantry.

The book is then rounded out with some simple generic scenario set ups and some basic introductory army lists. The latter include points values - someting that I almost certainly wouldn't use but then again there are many gamers who cannot live without them.

Conclusions - the one game that I played was great fun; I think that the rules have bags of potential and I look forward to playing again - I'll also probably start adapting them to other periods. Are they the most super detailed set of rules ever? No, but they don't pretend to be; my experience of super detailed rules is that they almost inevitably break down into an utter tedium of tables and charts and the final conclusion is often little different to that of the quick play game other than the headache and torn out hair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, Fast-playing Rules for WWII Platoon or Company Actions, 4 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bolt Action: World War II Wargames Rules (Hardcover)
Superficially this game may seem overly-simplistic to some but it captures very well the flavour of Platoon-Company actions in the Second World War without becoming bogged down with rules that try to detail trivia and in fact add little to realism.

The key mechanics are Orders and Pinning, the former allowing a pleasing mix of doubt and control over which units will be able to act when, and the latter being a supremely elegant method of modelling how suppression impacts on morale and command-control.

Orders include Advance (move and fire), Ambush ('overwatch'), Down (keeping heads down to become harder to hit), Fire (firing at full effect without moving), Rally (remove pin markers) and Run (move at double speed, includes assaulting). Orders require a test to pass if the unit has any pin markers and every pin marker reduces the chance of passing (nearby officers can mitigate this) and knowing when to rally and when to risk another action is important.

Army lists for late war Commonwealth, German, Soviet and US troops are included and are quiet comprehensive, allowing you to model almost any formation based upon infantry platoons. The lists are points-based and the costs of each unit are probably as well balanced as one could hope for. Each army gets two special rules that help model national differences in weapons or doctrine (so for instance German light and medium machine-guns are more effective than those of other nations but US troops are better able to fire and manoeuvre.

Six 'standard' scenarios are included and all of them give good games that fit the system well. Not all these scenarios could be considered terribly common in a historical sense (Demolition and Top Secret for instance) but they do work well from a gaming perspective.

If you're the sort of player that insists the difference between the front armour on a T34/85 and that of a Cromwell should be modelled or gets worked up over the difference in range between the Lee-Enfield and M1 then this game probably isn't for you. But if you're able to accept that such precise modelling of such things is in fact over-detailing and ultimately unrealistic and want a game with slick mechanics that model WWII actions reasonably well, then this game is ideal.

Warlord support the games with an ever-expanding range of good value 28mm miniatures and you can also run the game as it is with 15mm or other scales with little or no modifications. There are some instances of rules requiring greater clarity (a regrettably common theme in modern rulebooks where thorough editing and especially proper playtesting seem often skimped), but Warlord appear committed to clarifying grey areas and gaps. Fuller army lists for all the major nations are being released in separate (relatively cheap) books and these complement the rulebook lists rather than supplanting them.

A great value set of rules allowing fast, fun and well-flavoured play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's nice to see this type of publication ( Wargame rules ..., 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having this on my Kindle allows me to take it with me to friends and clubs. It's nice to see this type of publication ( Wargame rules and supplements) in a format that allows me to have them all together on one mobile device instead of having to lug around a box full of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun game, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome rule set for WWII tabletop wargaming with a strong emphasis on simplicity and fluidity of play. It's quite easy to get to grips with and really fun to play.
Compared to some similar games, the initial financial outlay to get started is very reasonable making this an ideal starting point for breaking into the hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Rules, 7 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bolt Action: World War II Wargames Rules (Hardcover)
A simple to understand set of rules without having to use dozens of tables and charts to work out each individual bullet fired etc etc. Probably the best set of rules I have used for WW2 games. I especially like the randomness of the turns, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... reading to aimed at creating a game to be enjoyed rather than endured, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The rules seem on reading to aimed at creating a game to be enjoyed rather than endured. This isn't aimed at the anal brigade delving into reams of charts. Recommended to those interested in getting into or retuning wargaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great game, it can get expensive with buying the ..., 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bolt Action: World War II Wargames Rules (Hardcover)
a great game, it can get expensive with buying the models but as long as you look at what you want/need you can do it for a reasonable price.
i would recommend this game you assemble paint and the engage your tactics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. So useful to be able to carry all ..., 13 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. So useful to be able to carry all the text & colour pictures in your pocket, especially if you have all the books in the set. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bolt Action, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bolt Action: World War II Wargames Rules (Hardcover)
A very nice set of rules aimed at platoon/company level actions. These rules allow the reproduction of period tactics such as Fire and Manuever. If a unit achieves at least one hit the target unit must take a pin marker. Each pin marker reduces the capability to obey orders including move, fire and rally so it would be advisable to avoid leaving a rally attempt for toolong or you might find your squad out of the battle! The armour rules seem to do the job in a simple but realistic fashion. Though there is a very slight chance a Tiger could be knocked out by a Sherman or T-34 at long range it s quite unlikely. Given th one to one vehicle scale a lucky hit is acceptable

The artillery rulesseem to allow offboard fire once per game for each observer but, since this is a company level game that isok and you can always change ths

There isno seperate provision for hand grenades but their use seems to be assumed in close assault which is fair enough. Close assualt is an all or nothingwith the losing squad being destroyed (killed, surrenered or running for their lives) thoughat this point pinned markers don't count. However, a defendewho has already acted that turn cannot fire in self defence. A defender who has a lot of pin markers won't be very effective in any defensive fire it mightbe able to do. Interestinglly an attacker who starts a close asssualt within a short distane (6 inches) cannot fire in self defence, it being azssumed the defender has noo time to react. So, if you see an enemy unit within 6 inches of one of your squads you would be well advised to activate that unit as early aspossible to get a shot in or risk being overrun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indepth and useful book for anyone looking to start or learn about ..., 29 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bolt Action: World War II Wargames Rules (Hardcover)
Indepth and useful book for anyone looking to start or learn about Bolt Action. Here starts a terrible addiction to wargaming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bolt Action: World War II Wargames Rules
Bolt Action: World War II Wargames Rules by Warlord Games (Hardcover - 20 Sept. 2012)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews