Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An introduction to the world of Deduction and Holmes that is second to none.
You buy a book by someone called 'The Real Sherlock Holmes' who clearly has a lot to live up to with such a grand title. Yet the answer to the question 'does it live up to it?' Oh my god yes!! Over and over again! What is provided within these pages is an exquisite insight into the mind of a mental specialist! It quickly becomes apparent by the knowledge that is imparted...
Published 16 months ago by Ben Cardall

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Real Sherlock Holmes:
Very simplistic and sorry to say it is pretty poor. It doesn't have much to do with Sherlock Holmes, it is more to do with the person that wrote it.
Published on 6 Nov. 2012 by The Mind Magician


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An introduction to the world of Deduction and Holmes that is second to none., 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Sherlock Holmes: The Mysterious Methods and Curious History of a True Mental Specialist (Paperback)
You buy a book by someone called 'The Real Sherlock Holmes' who clearly has a lot to live up to with such a grand title. Yet the answer to the question 'does it live up to it?' Oh my god yes!! Over and over again! What is provided within these pages is an exquisite insight into the mind of a mental specialist! It quickly becomes apparent by the knowledge that is imparted within this book that a specialist is precisely what he is! Each chapter does exactly as it says it does, tells you precisely what to do and how to do it yet in such a way as to not over face you or overwhelm you in any way. It is done in such a way so you are never put off by the outlined work within each chapter. I would like to make a particular note of the chapter regarding the science of deduction, the magnitude of the wisdom you the reader receives for the mere pittance of the asking price is outstanding. Covered concepts such as observation and deduction via self annihilation and the suppressing of emotions to allow clear reasoning are just magnificent. I personally have had the rare pleasure (as it is I live on a different continent) to have Joe demonstrate his Sherlock worthy deductive skills for me. Watching these skills be performed in front of you is truly phenomenal! The best part is that they are all in this wonderful book! I showed him around my living room for less than TEN seconds via my laptop's webcam, He then proceeded to deduce nearly my entire life story in unimaginable detail! Do yourself a favor and if you want to know how to think like or begin to build your mind like Sherlock Holmes then buy this book! NOW!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read! easy to follow, bite sized chunks!, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book covering a huge amount of information about mentalism, in a quick easy to read style. A great starting point for anyone looking to delve into this fascinating arena and a good refresher for those that have delved before. I like the way the book has been compiled to incorporate a wide variety of subjects which are often not put together in other books. For example I have read about memory palace in other books but Joe covers issues such as nutritional boosters to memory too! A very practical book giving the reader exercises to start practicing immediately with instant results as well as tips on how to expand and develop the skills with further practice and reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book!, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real find to lovers of Sherlock Holmes and his diabolical way of thinking! Joe Riggs is a master of deductive reasoning - using his well honed skills he can deduce a persons history within minutes o meeting them, tell what has gone on in what appears to be an empty room but which screams at him with clues and insights so meaningful it would seem to the untrained eye that Joe was some kind of super psychic - But no, these are down to earth real and learnable skills that can enhance your everyday life and interaction beyond what you could imagine!.

The layout takes you step - by - step through the skills building as you progress through the book - these include in-depth understanding of a persons wants and needs through cold reading skills to remembering what you have seem moments before with enhanced memory skills....

All in all, this is an enjoyable ride through the mind of a modern day Holmes - Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Real Sherlock Holmes:, 6 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Sherlock Holmes: The Mysterious Methods and Curious History of a True Mental Specialist (Paperback)
Very simplistic and sorry to say it is pretty poor. It doesn't have much to do with Sherlock Holmes, it is more to do with the person that wrote it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Real Sherlock Holmes? Not really, 5 July 2012
This review is from: The Real Sherlock Holmes: The Mysterious Methods and Curious History of a True Mental Specialist (Paperback)
It is not the first time a reviewer has gone back through and had a different opinion on something. Having done just that with this book I must adjust my review and apologies for getting it wrong the first time. Joe Riggs is not the real sherlock holmes. The Real Sherlock Holmes is an average book full of average details. There are other books that are more in-depth and worth your time. The book is more of an outline with some interesting facts and use Holmes's name just to sell. But truth be told the only reason the book is worth it is that the proceeds go to the Undershaw Preservation Trust. If it wasn't for that I wouldn't have got this book. As one of the other reviewers stated: the book is a con. Well, I think I agree with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More of a pamphlet than a book, still contains some interesting ideas, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Sherlock Holmes: The Mysterious Methods and Curious History of a True Mental Specialist (Paperback)
An extremely thin read - I'd read it in it's entirety within an hour. In the main, not too much useful information or things of interest here, a couple of subjects I thought sounded good could have given value to the cost of the "book", however as with everything here it's all glossed over at lightning speed and in no depth whatsoever.

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOE RIGGS - A REAL SHERLOCK HOLMES., 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Sherlock Holmes: The Mysterious Methods and Curious History of a True Mental Specialist (Paperback)
This is a good looking publication, priced reasonably and of interest to all ages from young teens to my 98 year old dad!

After a fascinating introduction about his own life, famous American Mentalist, Joe Riggs, proceeds to teach the reader how to develop the mind and memory to handle much more than is usually expected. While Joe parallels these, entertainingly. with the legendary skills of Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes, he insists ANYONE can think and remember with greater effectiveness.

The beauty of this book lies in its thoughtful anticipation of reader problems - Mr. Riggs knows his subject and I recommend The Real Sherlock Holmes to all who would like some practical advice and workable techniques to improve memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enlightening book, 6 Aug. 2012
This review is from: The Real Sherlock Holmes: The Mysterious Methods and Curious History of a True Mental Specialist (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this fascinating book and would highly recommend it. You certainly do start to see the world differently after reading it and the memory techniques are very useful. Joe really knows his stuff, the section about reading body language and NLP were particularly interesting. His early life growing up with psychics must have been very unusual and I would like to have descovered more about this, especially the way he turned away from the community to become a mentalist. I do hope Joe considers a follow-up book about more of his personal experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to think like Sherlock Holmes, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
Ye Olde Ed (Chelmsford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Real Sherlock Holmes: The Mysterious Methods and Curious History of a True Mental Specialist (Paperback)
Joe Riggs is a mentalist, like Derren Brown and the Amazing Kreskin. In "The Real Sherlock Holmes: The Mysterious Methods and Curious History of a True Mental Specialist" he packs a surprising amount of information into 60 pages. The connection with Sherlock Holmes is actually rather tenuous, but Mr Riggs's exposure of methods used by con artists is valuable, and I suspect that if we could follow his own methods for training ourselves to observe, to reason and to remember we'd achieve some of the qualities that we admire so much in the great detective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews