Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars9
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2013
A great book covering a huge amount of information about mentalism, in a quick easy to read style. A great starting point for anyone looking to delve into this fascinating arena and a good refresher for those that have delved before. I like the way the book has been compiled to incorporate a wide variety of subjects which are often not put together in other books. For example I have read about memory palace in other books but Joe covers issues such as nutritional boosters to memory too! A very practical book giving the reader exercises to start practicing immediately with instant results as well as tips on how to expand and develop the skills with further practice and reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
A real find to lovers of Sherlock Holmes and his diabolical way of thinking! Joe Riggs is a master of deductive reasoning - using his well honed skills he can deduce a persons history within minutes o meeting them, tell what has gone on in what appears to be an empty room but which screams at him with clues and insights so meaningful it would seem to the untrained eye that Joe was some kind of super psychic - But no, these are down to earth real and learnable skills that can enhance your everyday life and interaction beyond what you could imagine!.

The layout takes you step - by - step through the skills building as you progress through the book - these include in-depth understanding of a persons wants and needs through cold reading skills to remembering what you have seem moments before with enhanced memory skills....

All in all, this is an enjoyable ride through the mind of a modern day Holmes - Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
Very simplistic and sorry to say it is pretty poor. It doesn't have much to do with Sherlock Holmes, it is more to do with the person that wrote it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2012
It is not the first time a reviewer has gone back through and had a different opinion on something. Having done just that with this book I must adjust my review and apologies for getting it wrong the first time. Joe Riggs is not the real sherlock holmes. The Real Sherlock Holmes is an average book full of average details. There are other books that are more in-depth and worth your time. The book is more of an outline with some interesting facts and use Holmes's name just to sell. But truth be told the only reason the book is worth it is that the proceeds go to the Undershaw Preservation Trust. If it wasn't for that I wouldn't have got this book. As one of the other reviewers stated: the book is a con. Well, I think I agree with them.
44 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
An extremely thin read - I'd read it in it's entirety within an hour. In the main, not too much useful information or things of interest here, a couple of subjects I thought sounded good could have given value to the cost of the "book", however as with everything here it's all glossed over at lightning speed and in no depth whatsoever.

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
This is a good looking publication, priced reasonably and of interest to all ages from young teens to my 98 year old dad!

After a fascinating introduction about his own life, famous American Mentalist, Joe Riggs, proceeds to teach the reader how to develop the mind and memory to handle much more than is usually expected. While Joe parallels these, entertainingly. with the legendary skills of Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes, he insists ANYONE can think and remember with greater effectiveness.

The beauty of this book lies in its thoughtful anticipation of reader problems - Mr. Riggs knows his subject and I recommend The Real Sherlock Holmes to all who would like some practical advice and workable techniques to improve memory.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
I really enjoyed this fascinating book and would highly recommend it. You certainly do start to see the world differently after reading it and the memory techniques are very useful. Joe really knows his stuff, the section about reading body language and NLP were particularly interesting. His early life growing up with psychics must have been very unusual and I would like to have descovered more about this, especially the way he turned away from the community to become a mentalist. I do hope Joe considers a follow-up book about more of his personal experiences.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Joe Riggs is a mentalist, like Derren Brown and the Amazing Kreskin. In "The Real Sherlock Holmes: The Mysterious Methods and Curious History of a True Mental Specialist" he packs a surprising amount of information into 60 pages. The connection with Sherlock Holmes is actually rather tenuous, but Mr Riggs's exposure of methods used by con artists is valuable, and I suspect that if we could follow his own methods for training ourselves to observe, to reason and to remember we'd achieve some of the qualities that we admire so much in the great detective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
interesting book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)