Customer Reviews


5 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0


1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the true Orient supporter
This is a fantastic read. Whilst its appeal probably won't extend to the mass market, it's a must for the true Orient fan. It documents a time when footballers really were footballers (some of them - Matt Lockwood springs to mind - still are), unlike today's breed of preening Premiership prima-donnas.

The author has done a great job of researching and...
Published on 5 Aug. 2008 by Howie

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Leyton Orient Greats
The book did not really cover Leyton Orient players from the early years. In addition, not many players were actually included. There was scope for far more players who could have been selected.
Published 15 months ago by Graham Holland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the true Orient supporter, 5 Aug. 2008
By 
Howie (East Lothian, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leyton Orient Greats (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic read. Whilst its appeal probably won't extend to the mass market, it's a must for the true Orient fan. It documents a time when footballers really were footballers (some of them - Matt Lockwood springs to mind - still are), unlike today's breed of preening Premiership prima-donnas.

The author has done a great job of researching and interviewing past greats who have graced Brisbane Road, and the tone is both lively and entertaining.

It's nostalgic, without being cloying; and respectful without being deferential. There are some lovely anecdotes in there too. Thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leyton Orient FC - Greats, 23 Sept. 2008
By 
Mr. P. D. Roberts "puzzle haven" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leyton Orient Greats (Hardcover)
Brilliant book and a superb read. I echo the sentiments of the previous reviewer - these players were the salt of the earth and played the game with style, panache and no little skill. Tommy Johnston, Tony Grealish, Peter Allen, etc could show a lot of the "player's" of today a thing or two. Highly recommended for true O's fans and people genuinely interested in the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wheres supercarl ?, 25 Jun. 2012
By 
Chosroes "sassy" (chingford,london,uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leyton Orient Greats (Hardcover)
Great little book - started reading it and couldnt put it down
I have seen a lot of one of the guys in this book.

Matt Lockwood I have seen a great deal of and really enjoyed that chapter
But why oh why no super carl griffiths one of our only consistent goal scorers
and if he couldnt get one any other way - fall over in the box and get matt
to knock the penalty in

Still good though

Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Leyton Orient Greats, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leyton Orient Greats (Hardcover)
The book did not really cover Leyton Orient players from the early years. In addition, not many players were actually included. There was scope for far more players who could have been selected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I sent this book straight back, so have no ..., 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leyton Orient Greats (Hardcover)
I sent this book straight back, so have no idea on the content. I bought it as a present for my dad and the text is so small even my teenage children found it difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leyton Orient Greats
Leyton Orient Greats by Matt Simpson (Paperback - 26 Jan. 2014)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews