Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book.
Fantastic True Story of Ron's life to date.

The only thing lacking is that neither is it leather bound or smelling of rich mahogany.
Published 14 months ago by Phil B

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Maybe my expectations were too high. I am a massive fan of the original Anchorman film and was really excited to see this book. I expected it to be very similar to the Alan Partridge autobiography which I thought was hilarious. Comparing it like that was probably where I went wrong, as this book just simply did not live up to my expectations. Some parts were good,...
Published 12 months ago by jch


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book., 21 Nov. 2013
By 
This review is from: Let Me Off at the Top!: My Classy Life and Other Musings (Hardcover)
Fantastic True Story of Ron's life to date.

The only thing lacking is that neither is it leather bound or smelling of rich mahogany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the newsman that's fit to print., 30 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let Me Off at the Top!: My Classy Life and Other Musings (Hardcover)
This is a book. It has words, and sentences, and pages, and chapter breaks. But it is not just a book. The bible is JUST a book. This is one mans struggle against everything that is not leather bound, or smells of mahogany. Reading this book will make the hairs on your chest grow. This book will give you the power to Tame The Sun, and bend the world to your will. Just believe in yourself, and accept your superpower : YOU CAN READ HIS WORDS. It's like a self help book, and good Lord, you can learn so much from the word of not just THE Man, but also THE Anchorman.

Fear not. Every skill a man needs is here, including having a dog who can speak every animal language known. Sadly, Burgundy's voice in this book shows that whilst is the Alpha Anchorman, there are other people that can thunk of better words and can do a better write, but they aren't Ron Burgundy. And - if I read this - I can see the voice of the Man, which is authentically in tune with the films of his life, except a man alone, without his trusty Champ, Brick, or Brian Fantana - and thus, the singularity of his voice is also, somewhat dominating. But he is a man. The Anchorman, and that is a scientific fact. Like A Velvet Panther Of Style Stalking Your Feeble Mind, this is his manfesto. His vision. His Classy Life, and Other Musings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life used to be different and more relaxed, 24 Nov. 2013
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"Let Me Off at the Top!" by Ron Burgundy is the autobiography of famous News Anchorman back from the 70's.

This book will make you laugh to tears, and to older readers will be a great reminder of a time long gone when television was a different medium, when there was no 24/7 news coverage and people were more relaxed.
In such a time, back in the 70's, Ronald "Ron" Burgundy started working as anchorman for a local San Diego station and soon became very popular due to relaxed and unconventional behavior during his TV shows.

And while viewers for the last eight years have enjoyed watching the movie made based on first years of his career (whose sequel will follow in December), the book is showing another behind-the-scenes view into the real life of a man considered by many people the greatest ever living news anchor.

Ron is telling that it took him eight years to write this book due to his extensive research about own life, starting from his beginnings in a forsaken Iowa coal mining town, followed by his education on Chewbacca High School up to the becoming known and beloved TV star.
In book he'll mention the many known and unknown heroes of past times, and only mentioning some of these names will cause laughter and inevitable memories.

So if you want to spend some good time with TV star from another time, remembering the good old youth, don't miss this book.

Though I'm a bit younger and some of people he mentioned I don't know or can remember together with the younger readers I can enjoy his funny work and realize how life then used to be different and more relaxed.

Therefore, I recommend reading this well-written and funny autobiography by Ron Burgundy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book from a talented, well dressed author., 21 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Let Me Off at the Top!: My Classy Life and Other Musings (Hardcover)
By the hammer of Thor, there simply aren't words out there to describe this masterpiece, a perfect addition to a nice glass of scotch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary Classic!, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Off at the Top!: My Classy Life and Other Musings (Hardcover)
Given time this book will surely go down as a literary classic. It not only gives an insight to the thoughts and inner workings of the great Ron Burgundy but also gives great life lessons that everyone can learn from. From '12 rules to survive a prison riot' to 'what kind of breathe turns a woman on' everyone is sure to learn something from reading this book.

Like many classic books this should be passed from generation to generation for all to enjoy and learn from.

In Ron's words he writes a hell of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Off at the Top!: My Classy Life and Other Musings (Hardcover)
This book is absolutely hilarious. There's a part in the book involving Bruce Lee and 60% of the time I cry from laughter every time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is not to like!, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Me Off at the Top!: My Classy Life and Other Musings (Hardcover)
Ron Burgundy fans will be very happy with this purchase, absolutely chock full of Ron Burgundisms! A definite good fun book to dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 2 Jan. 2014
Maybe my expectations were too high. I am a massive fan of the original Anchorman film and was really excited to see this book. I expected it to be very similar to the Alan Partridge autobiography which I thought was hilarious. Comparing it like that was probably where I went wrong, as this book just simply did not live up to my expectations. Some parts were good, hence the two stars, but overall it just wasn't very funny. The character of Ron Burgundy didn't really stand out and at times was inconsistent. When I read the Alan Partridge bio I could almost hear Alan saying the words as it all spot on in terms of the character. I didn't get this with this book at all. It's a shame as some sections were funny. Perhaps Ron Burgundy's guide to reading the news would have been funnier than an attempted autobiography as it just doesn't really work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Ron, you old dog you., 23 May 2014
By 
Sinderella (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Obviously Im a great fan of the Anchorman.
This "Autobiography" will not disappoint. All those confusing bits that made no sense in the movies, will become in more vague and strange. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious & forced, 18 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Let Me Off at the Top!: My Classy Life and Other Musings (Hardcover)
I bought this as a light read just for a laugh & oh do I regret it.
Will Farrell or his shadow writers really are trying to force the point that Ron Burgundy is the every-man all american. It jumps all over the place and though there are funny parts in it they are few & far between. It's a forgettable read that 5 minutes after putting it down you won't be able to recall anything about.
Save your money & just buy Anchorman DVD & a ticket to Anchorman 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let Me Off at the Top!: My Classy Life and Other Musings
Let Me Off at the Top!: My Classy Life and Other Musings by Ron Burgundy (Hardcover - 19 Nov. 2013)
£8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews