Customer Reviews


282 Reviews
5 star:
 (208)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A good solid ending - but not quite spectacular
A highly readable conclusion to the trilogy, but it's obvious Howey was working himself hard to finish up: it doesn't flow with quite the surprising bits and alien-ness of the earlier books, part of whose joy came from experiencing the very truncated world of the silo dwellers through their eyes and emotional biases.

By this time we're heavily invested in the...
Published 22 days ago by Chris Worth

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fairly mundane conclusion
Reasonable conclusion to an at times excellent trilogy. It feels a little like Howey is just running out of steam by the end. A couple of neat little twists, but generally it's fairly predictable as the series ambles to a conclusion. Entertaining enough, but still I can't help feeling that some of the earlier promise has gone unfulfilled.
Published 5 months ago by A. Gibb


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly good read, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the trilogy. Had thought about not bothering with the last two books. How wrong was I. When I thought it couldn't get any better, two and three had me gripped. I decided to read two and literally ploughed on through three straight after.
Great story, so many twists and turns. Thank you for the world of Wool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 9 Sep 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Review

This series has been a revelation, I don't think i have read a dystopian series that's made me stop and think as much as this one, that so subtly examines the human condition, the things that drive us as people, as families, as communities. A series that looks at the what ifs of our own destruction, our own arrogance. Normally this is the sort of deeper plot scope reserved for "literary fiction" and i would avoid it like the plague. This series

Dust concludes this trilogy, taking us back to Silo's 17 and 18 and with the aid of Donald in Silo 1 provides enlightenment surrounding the plan hundreds of years in the making, set in motion by the man now called Shepard.

I was left feeling on the edge of my seat through out this book, a true emotional roller coaster, and an exhaustingly disturbing view of humanities folly, and ability to survive almost any adversity.

I'm not sure i will ever read a better written/ conceived dystopian tale.

very highly recommended

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sci Fi, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely the best Sci Fi I've read in years. I hope they make this into a film, there's going to be some edge of the seat stuff in it. Just don't get invested in the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Barely could be bothered finishing it, 9 July 2014
the whole trilogy is a progressive downwards spiral. wool starts off with some brilliant rapid twists which then slow down somewhat, shift gets by with a midling "how it came to pass" story and dirt is just so dire I couldnt wait for it to be over. Reviews implying that the whole series was one twist after another are woefully inaccurate .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, massively let-down by an average conclusion., 2 July 2014
This review is from: Dust: (Wool Trilogy 3) (Paperback)
This final book of the trilogy felt a bit rushed to be honest. I would have preferred another book, as the conclusion was a bit mundane, and fails to address some interesting questions.

I've always felt the series prided itself on the sense of sci-fi realism, all aspects of the story are investigated. The consclusion fails to do this, and it honestly drastically lets the series down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust: (Wool Trilogy 3) (Paperback)
Brilliant, wish there were more than three books, didn't want it to end yet! Great ending to a fab trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dust, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Sean Thornton (Scunthorpe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh man, I was sold on Hugh Howey’s world building skills after reading the first short story of Wool. The silo world with the sheriff and his wife. Oh man that was a mind… well it wasn’t a mind cuddle.

Dust now comes and build further on this story and it does it in proper science fiction fashion.

Oh man I love these books. More and more again please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dust: (Wool Trilogy 3)
Dust: (Wool Trilogy 3) by Hugh Howey (Hardcover - 24 Oct 2013)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews