Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read
Second Honeymoon is the second book in the second book in the Honeymoon series by prolific American author, James Patterson. It is co-written with Howard Roughan. It is set some four years after the events of the first book. FBI special agent John O'Hara is on suspended duty when he accepts an assignment from a very wealthy man to investigate the murder of a couple on...
Published 8 months ago by Cloggie Downunder

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SECOND HONEYMOON
A Newlywed couple are killed on their honeymoon, and although FBI agent John O'Hara has been suspended he finds himself taking on the case when he receives a plea from the devastated father of the groom. Sarah Brubaker is a Special Agent who has been assigned to find a serial killer, a man with a very strange mission. As more murders are taking place the two agents...
Published 19 days ago by Amanda


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Second Honeymoon (Kindle Edition)
Second Honeymoon is the second book in the second book in the Honeymoon series by prolific American author, James Patterson. It is co-written with Howard Roughan. It is set some four years after the events of the first book. FBI special agent John O'Hara is on suspended duty when he accepts an assignment from a very wealthy man to investigate the murder of a couple on their honeymoon. With a motive and even a suspect, O'Hara thinks he has a handle on the case, until more honeymoon couples are murdered. Meanwhile special agent and serial killer expert, Sarah Brubaker finds herself investigating a series of murders with a bizarre twist: all the victims are named John O'Hara. Which means, of course, that Sarah's path is bound to cross John's, and they soon find themselves involved in each other's cases. Both cases are intriguing, have a few twists, clever clues and some red herrings. There is some black humour and the banter between Brubaker and O'Hara is enjoyable. The honeymoon cases neatly demonstrate the importance of guarding personal information on the web. Ned Sinclair's escape from the mental facility was rather too easy, and a punch to Ted's jaw should have left Sarah with a damaged hand, but apart from this, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SECOND HONEYMOON, 3 Sep 2014
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Honeymoon (Kindle Edition)
A Newlywed couple are killed on their honeymoon, and although FBI agent John O'Hara has been suspended he finds himself taking on the case when he receives a plea from the devastated father of the groom. Sarah Brubaker is a Special Agent who has been assigned to find a serial killer, a man with a very strange mission. As more murders are taking place the two agents find themselves working together in an attempt to solve what has become two very complicated and dangerous investigations.
A reasonably interesting novel for the most part, but I did find myself drifting, and I put that down to the fact that it became quite disjointed at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Thriller, 26 July 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Honeymoon (Kindle Edition)
James Patterson and co-author Howard Roughan are the producers of this latest novel. 'A holiday to die for' sums up the introduction. FBI agent John O'Hara is on leave of absence until he overcomes his wife's drink-driver death by a lawyer, with psychiatric help. Given the green light by his bosses he freelances onto a lucrative case of the honeymoon deaths of powerful and wealthy Warner Breslow's son and wife in the Caribbean. This is followed by other honeymoon murders whose marriages and honeymoon details are posted in the New York Times and on internet wedding websites. John O'Hara is also mixed up with a killer who is taunting the FBI agent by murdering innocent people sharing the John O'Hara name and who seems full of hatred and revenge.

What's in a name? Special agent Sarah Brubaker becomes involved after the kidnapping of a 13 year old girl and hears of the O'Hara serial murders. From the Talahassee police department she instinctively believes this is more than coincidence.

Quickly, O'Hara and Brubaker team-up and realise they are dealing with at least two meticulous killers devious in their motivation and intent to see the bitter feuds through. O'Hara is clearly being threatened by a previous case he was on. The honeymoon murders likewise must have a link. The pair work well together facing dangers based on their hunches and data, clues planted that need interpretation. Serial killers are at large. Things are made worse by the USA President Montgomery's brother-in-law being named John O'Hara.

Eventually, through skilled detective work, the pieces of the jigsaw fall into place. This is achieved through determination and fact-finding as the evidence builds up against the likely perpetrators. The book throws in some surprises and twists amongst the action and dangers the detectives face. This is a Patterson output, after all. Some of the suspects, under pseudonyms, are high on the reader's suspicious list. Their backgrounds are interesting to say the least. The honeymoon murders saga is the most gripping and unpredictable, full of intrigue and surprise, especially the bizarre, perilous outcome. John O'Hara and Sarah Brubaker are the star turns and well-developed characters. They bounce off each other with an understanding, not without humour, that has the potential for a closer liaison.

This is an enjoyable read with more than enough encounters to keep the interest flowing. Nothing particularly different in the overall Patterson formula but as always, entertaining and thrilling. A guaranteed success, no doubt. A comfortable, enthralling read with enough suspense to be consumed in laid-back relaxed style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was quite surprised by the writing style as I usually really enjoy James Patterson books, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Honeymoon (Kindle Edition)
I don't often write reviews but felt compelled to review this book. I was quite surprised by the writing style as I usually really enjoy James Patterson books. This one reads like it was written by a teenager. I found it a very irritating read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second honeymoon, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Honeymoon (Kindle Edition)
Another good read from j Patterson. Looking forward to the next The last two books from j Patterson have been great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One if my favourite authors, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Honeymoon (Kindle Edition)
This book is an excellent read. I was hooked from page one. Wish I had such a talent. I'm always looking out for his new books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Honeymoon, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Honeymoon (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy James Paterson novels very much his stories are just great and keep you interested till the very last page
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Honeymoon, 7 Jan 2014
By 
VICTOR (WALTON-ON-THE-NAZE,ESSEX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Honeymoon (Audio CD)
Another great read from James Patterson. I have only just started reading/listening to audio books and look forward to listening to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I just love James Patterson books, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Honeymoon (Kindle Edition)
I just love James Patterson books, and this one is no exception. I have read a lot of his books, and I do not get tired of them, in fact,

I enjoy getting into the shoes of his various characters. I am inclined to go for stories that have lots of chapters, because I read so quickly and can finish a story in a few days. Having said that, he obviously does a massive amount of research, because each of the characters in his stories are very believable. Keep them coming Mr. Patterson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Honeymoon (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book and I had not read the first one so while it was a good read in itself and I was not lost I do feel that having read the 1st book would have made this a better experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Second Honeymoon
Second Honeymoon by James Patterson (Hardcover - 18 July 2013)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews