Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotionally gripping read
Chrissie Reid is a broken and scared shadow of the woman she used to be. Her husband Jack, is evil, malicious and beats his wife for the simplest of things. One night Chrissie has been beaten within an inch of her life and resorts to poisoning Jack. Having found sanctuary in an old friend their relationship begins to grow and, with no recollection of what happened to her...
Published 18 months ago by What Nikki Read

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Basic novel.
Published 5 months ago by Les Crowe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotionally gripping read, 30 May 2013
Chrissie Reid is a broken and scared shadow of the woman she used to be. Her husband Jack, is evil, malicious and beats his wife for the simplest of things. One night Chrissie has been beaten within an inch of her life and resorts to poisoning Jack. Having found sanctuary in an old friend their relationship begins to grow and, with no recollection of what happened to her husband she is led to believe that she killed him. Rebuilding her life in a better way she carries on for years keeping the secret to herself, only to receive a letter one day that turns her whole world upside down. Living on a small Orkney island, things are hard for the islanders as the threat of the first world war creeps in but, more so for Chrissie as her secretly kept demons are escaping.

With unforeseen events happening throughout the book it constantly keeps your emotions on the go. Set in 1906 i really felt i was in the times with them as the characters are so well written and thought out. I thoroughly enjoyed this book it was not as i expected, it was great. The romantic side to the story outweighs the hardships that Chrissie faces making all her loss's easier to bare. There is so much more i would love to say about this book but i can't without giving too much away. A great read thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, couldn't put it down, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant , couldn't put it down, well written and had you hanging on to every word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book, very like Rhanna books, great read couldn't put it down , everyone should read it, about Stroma, Kirkwall and Wick at the turn of the century
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BrokenHorizon, 10 May 2013
By 
R. C. Bowen (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broken Horizon (Paperback)
Review

Title: The Broken Horizon
Author: Catherine M. Byrne
* ISBN-13: 978-1-78088-496-7
Publisher: Matador
Published: December 2013
Copyright © 2013

Incredible!
I need not say more, but to give Catherin M. Byrne credit I will complete this review in the normal style.
General Subject Matter: The life of a young woman in Scotland, her hardships, and her guilt.
Theme: Lifestyle of the early 20th century in Scotland.
Thesis: This book tells the story of Chrissie, a young woman who had a brief affair with Davie, the lead character of `Follow the Dove'. After Davie leaves the small island, Chrissie marries Jack Ried, a local fisherman who works hard, can make a good life for her, and give her the family she hopes to have. Soon after the wedding, Chrissie finds the true nature of Jack Ried, who beats her regularly when he is angry. After a particularly brutal beating, Chrissie realizes that Jack will kill her the next time he beats her. Driven to the farthest extreme, and fearing for her life, Chrissie decides that she must kill him first. A she is the local midwife, and healer for the island she knows which herbs can help an ailing person, and which will kill. She puts poison in his whiskey, and shortly afterwards he comes home and starts again. As she loses consciousness during her beating, she sees him stop for a drink, which is what he usually does, and then fall to the floor, dead from the poison. When she finally regains consciousness, she drags his body to the barn, and buries him.
This begins 20 years of guilt for Chrissie, and culminates in total fear, as she receives a letter in his handwriting, stating that he is coming back to the island to be with her.
The letter opens the book, and the reader is lead through the entire story by following her memories. Then, the most awful thing happens. Jack Ried returns to the Island, and brings tragedy to everyone as he invokes his plan to kill her.
In this story Catherin M. Byrne uses small descriptions in her narrative to bring a very personal touch to this Scottish island. Typically, she will not write anything like `night fell', but something much more descriptive, `when night had squeezed out the last of the daylight,' and this makes the story even more intense.
When I read `Follow the Dove' I thought that it would be a long time before I read a story as good as Catherine M. Byrne had written, but I was wrong. `The Broken Horizon' shows that Catherine M.Byrne can write great books, again, and again.
RB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, drama, love, sadness, love, shock, love xXx, 1 April 2013
I have know Catherine all my life, my early days as her neighbour my working days she was my Team Leader and now proud to say I've done all these things with her. As I have told her I don't read much, if at all but I decided because I know her so well I would read Follow the Dove which I LOVED i felt I was there in the story and proud off myself for actually starting and finishing a book I then went on and read Broken Horizon which had me gripped that I couldn't put it down until I finished it, a well written and thought out story, now I can't wait for the third book (there is a third book I hope) I highly recommend these books xXx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It made me miss Scotland..., 14 Oct 2013
By 
digsblues (Oceanside, CA) - See all my reviews
But how can you have nostalgia for a place you've never been?

I finished Follow the Dove last week, and immediately ordered The Broken Horizon. I was a bit afraid that this one wouldn't be as good, but it was better. The story of the families on Raumsey Island continues, with Chrissie and Jack Reid.

Life is hard on the island, with shortages of food in the winter, and a constant fight against the elements. But Chrissie loves life there, except for her abusive husband. However, after beating her, he disappears from the island under mysterious circumstances and Chrissie has a chance at happiness. But her joy was short lived.

Charlie, who has always had a crush on Chrissie finally gets a good job... on the Titanic.

This was a page turning novel. I felt like I lived on Raumsey Island and didn't want it to end. It's the story of hopes and dreams, true love, and deceit. The characters came alive and I cared deeply about them.

Highly recommended as a book you won't want to put down. I hope there will be more sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another winner, 21 Sep 2013
After the first book, I did not think Catherine Byrne could come up with anything better. But I was wrong. I read this book in three nights and could not wait to get back to it each night. Can't wait for the next one. She has a way with words that transports me back to a time and place that makes me feel I am actually there, living life with Chrissie and Charlie. I miss them so much - please hurry with book number three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a lovely sequel to Follow the Dove which I also enjoyed. Catherine manages to create a time gone by and evokes a life that was harsh but more real than lives we live today. The characters are well drawn and you find yourself not wanting to come to the end and say goodbye to them. This is no rosy story. It pulls no punches and is exciting and nail biting in places. A super and very believable story. I will be waiting foot the next with bated breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely loved reading this book! After reading "Follow the Dove" I was really looking forward to reading this sequel and was not disappointed! the characters really come to life and even now I find myself wondering what they're all up to as if they are real life people carrying on their lives even though I have stopped reading about them! Would 100% recommend this book to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Broken Horizon, 17 Feb 2013
By 
A. Calder "Helmeboy" (Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having enjoyed Follow The Dove I read The broken Horizon with high expectations. I was not disappointed. Catherine puts her long suffering heroine, Chrissie, through the physical and psychological mill created by the return of her abusive man. Her suffering is all the more intense in the grinding poverty of subsistence living that was island life in former times. The story is an island itself, sitting in the sea surrounded by the great sky patrolled by the ever present gulls, evoking a natural claustrophobia that limited the options of folk like Chrissie. There are some clever twists that carry the story along and keep the reader wondering. I'm looking forward to book three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Broken Horizon
The Broken Horizon by Catherine M. Byrne (Paperback - 1 April 2013)
£5.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews