Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
Written by Michael Bright with a foreward by David Attenborough this is a beautifully designed and organised book to accompany the superb TV series. The images are astonishingly stunning and cover the world's greatest wilderness with its incredible array of wildlife. The sharpness of the animal life is captured from close-up, almost touchable, photographs, to aerial shots...
Published 19 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Africa; Eye to Eye with the Unknown
Disappointed with this book as the photographs and text are rather limited. I thought there would be more text of the animals that are displayed in the photographs, a glossary of terms and presenters. It lacks clarity and the text does not 'flow' easily through the chapters.
Published 15 months ago by anton


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 12 Jan 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Africa: Eye to Eye with the Unknown (Hardcover)
Written by Michael Bright with a foreward by David Attenborough this is a beautifully designed and organised book to accompany the superb TV series. The images are astonishingly stunning and cover the world's greatest wilderness with its incredible array of wildlife. The sharpness of the animal life is captured from close-up, almost touchable, photographs, to aerial shots including the astounding scenery. I bought this book to complement the BBC series as I have become so engrossed by the magnificent pictorial content and lulled by the narrator's voice that I felt the need to find out more of the five regions that will be covered (Kalahari, Savannah, Congo, Cape and Sahara). This is where the text by Michael Bright is so forthright and explanatory in elaborating the characteristics of each installment. His descriptions are rich in factual information.

Ideal for reading before or after each of the televised episodes but also a book that can stand alone as a guide to the mysteries of this great continent. Also included are chapters on the future, behind the scenes technical difficulties and how shots were achieved and a discover Africa addition. Highly recommended to anyone interested in the 'Africa' series or, indeed, Africa itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and suprising, 3 Dec 2012
This review is from: Africa: Eye to Eye with the Unknown (Hardcover)
We all have an image of what we expect from another book about African wildlife - sweeping savannahs, aerial shots of trains of wildebeest running into trouble with lions and crocodiles and tales of cute lion cubs. But while the broad sweep is certainly covered in a nicely-paced narrative, this book also offers an intimate and unexpected perspective that reveals how much of this vast continent we have never taken the trouble to get to know.

The text is supported by some truly beautiful photography throughout, capturing some incredible detail, which makes this weighty tome very hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa: Eye to Eye with the Unknown (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed the TV series and the book lives up to expectations. Brilliant photography and well presented as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Africa, Eye to Eye with the Unknown, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa: Eye to Eye with the Unknown (Hardcover)
Absolutely beautiful book, stunning photography, a really good read and one to be looked at again and again.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photos & images come to life with QuercusEye app, 17 Jan 2013
By 
L. R. Wiggin (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa: Eye to Eye with the Unknown (Hardcover)
I love the series to date & decided to buy the book for more details. I expected stunning photos & wasn't disappointed in any way. The text is just about right without it becoming "heavy". So, as a book, it is well worth buying, especially at half the RRP. But the real surprise was the ability to use a free downloaded App called QuercusEye. This allows you to hold your iphone, ipod or android device above a selection of photos in the book & hey presto, your device will launch a short video of the animal(s) in the photo.
It's worth buying this as a fabulous, colouful & informative book alone, but add in the inter- activity from the App & you have a delightful product that you'll return to time & again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that comes to life, 11 Sep 2013
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa: Eye to Eye with the Unknown (Hardcover)
Years ago I was quite green when it came to the world outside my own country almost to the point of ignorance. I used to think Africa was just some big hot place with lots of sand, no water, lions, zebras, giraffes and elephants. Over the years my knowledge has expanded and so to has my thirst for knowledge of these far away countries, that I am unlikely to ever visit and it is books such as these that help in that hunger to learn more.

BBC Africa is a wonderful companion book to the TV series of the same name and it can act as a great source of reference to this great continent. My knowledge of Africa has expanded over the years, but there was still a lot that this book had to offer me. You are taken on a tour of the desserts, plains, lush rain forests, snow covered mountains and even the surrounding seas. The book is filled with high quality full page images with side notes. A narrative that is both informative and captivating will have you marveling at how some of the African species survive.

There is a foreword by Sir David Attenborough and each chapter has a small map to show you the region being covered. Additionally there is a chapter that takes you behind the scenes. The final chapter shows you sections of a map of Africa with help on where to go and what to see, should you be fortunate enough to visit.

As I usually advise on these kind of books; don't overlook the market place. Books like these tend to be only read once and some real bargains can be picked up for good quality second hand books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I missed some of the tv programme, so was pleased to see this. It's a lovely book with great pictures and commentary. I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in wildlife. I haven't bought anything similar so can't compare it, but much better than trying to read a heavy book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking images, 21 Feb 2013
This review is from: Africa: Eye to Eye with the Unknown (Hardcover)
A tie in to the Africa series that has been on our screen recently.

It has been another magnificent series by the BBC and the accompanying book for the series is a worthy tome. And a weighty tome, perfect for coffee tables.

There is a mix of 50% text and 50% pictures. And as you would expect the pictures are magnificent and breathtaking. The text plays second fiddle to the images, but is still worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensational AFRICA, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa: Eye to Eye with the Unknown (Hardcover)
Beautiful photography. Having watched the programme on the television, I can appreciate the hours spent waiting for the perfect shot! This book is a perfect reminder of the enjoyable hours spent watching and also listening to the voice of an experienced presenter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent publication, full of high quality pictures and an absorbing narrative, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Africa: Eye to Eye with the Unknown (Hardcover)
This book is a "must have" for anyone interested in the subject and provides a new perspective on Africa's wildlife
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Africa: Eye to Eye with the Unknown
Africa: Eye to Eye with the Unknown by Michael Bright (Hardcover - 6 Dec 2012)
21.14
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews