Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quantum physics, 50 things you really need to know.
I bought two books one called the particle at the end of the universe and this one. I found myself reading both at the same time and they worked well together explaining things from each book. For a study book this is superb!!
Published 11 months ago by neil

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Ok but a little dry
Published 3 months ago by MickeyD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quantum physics, 50 things you really need to know., 23 Jan 2014
This review is from: 50 Quantum Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
I bought two books one called the particle at the end of the universe and this one. I found myself reading both at the same time and they worked well together explaining things from each book. For a study book this is superb!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult ideas explained very clearly, 3 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. David Hitchin "DavidHH" (Seaford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Einstein say that everything should be as simple as possible - but no simpler. Quantum theory can only be properly explained (if it can) with advanced mathematics, and the ideas behind it go against all of our ordinary ideas of common sense, so it is quite an achievement to write a clear account with only one equation (Einstein's e = mc squared), and not surprising that it is one of the editors of Nature who has done it. She hasn't been constrained by the list of 50 things to include, but maintains a coherent thread throughout the book, and is as up to date as a book published in 2013 could be.
The book is well presented, apart from the panels, mostly biographical information, which are printed grey upon grey, legible only in a good light.
I spotted only one error, or perhaps oversimplification. "in 1862 he (Maxwell) showed ... and eleven years later he published his four equations of electromagnetism." In fact he published 20 equations in 20 unknowns, and it was Oliver Heaviside who in 1884 used vector notation to combine them into four equations. Still known as "Maxwell's equations" they are subtlety different from Maxwell's originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent summary of the subject., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well constructed chapters that describe each 'idea' in a clear way, with summaries and timelines for each idea, whilst also leading you through the historical development of quantum physics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good shot at a large subject, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting tour of the field taking in a wide range of associated developments . Maybe short on details but the wider view it presents is satisfying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok but a little dry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
badly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another failed attempt at the impossible, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Quantum Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
This book tries to explain quantum mechanics without mathematics or even graphics describing the experiments. The result is a big failure to add to the many that have tried to do the same thing before. You have been warned. I suggest Ohanian's Modern Physics instead. My true rating is ZERO Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

50 Quantum Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series)
£7.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews