Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
I bought this book as a bit of a reference so that I can plan a trip abroad and being a sucker for a bit of pain it's helped me work out the area I will stay in. The pictures are amazing and the detailed description and elevation profile of each climb is very well thought out. Any cyclist that loves climbing will really enjoy this book as it also goes into the history of...
Published on 26 Oct 2011 by Dan

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Racing 'Great' climbs
This is a very nice book with some great pictures.

I would just like to point out that the 'Great' in the title relates more to great hill climbing days in road racing history not as in 'stunning and amazing'. Most of the writing is about how the climb became great during a Tour du France stage race or other similar races.

I have never followed the...
Published 11 months ago by paddle man


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational - Alpine Cyclists Dream, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, displays profiles of grades on all climbs so you can see what you are getting into and where it is going to hurt. Little busy in terms of layout but not enough to take away the fifth star. Must read for any cyclist living in the Alps or visiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful and motivating book., 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At 12.95, this book feels like an absolute bargain given the quality production and plethora of beautiful photos. The text is insightful and full of interesting history and anecdotes and the gradient profiles for the different routes offers easily digestible information at a glance. It is a truly motivating book, and I cannot wait to attack the ones I have not yet climbed - although some of them do look pretty terrifying !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful hard back book, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic book, the pictures are beautiful and it's fabulous to read about the cols I have climbed and the ones I want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
General interest? You will enjoy
Cyclist? You will devour this book
Good value fascinating detail and added respect for professional racers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My dad loved it, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this as a present for my dad, he loves it. Good book, What more can I say ? ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs - Saddlebag Edition (Paperback)
Lovely book. Perfect size for taking away on holiday with us as he ticks off the various rides. Great pictures and interesting facts about the area linking it to well-know races etc. Useful statistics and information. Hubby was very pleased with his Father's Day present from his little girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great coffee table book, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very nice production (in hardback at least) and an inspiring armchair read, Might even do one or two when next over there. Held back from 5 star rating only because it's a shame there aren't more photos from the great races on the climbs, but the prose is descriptive and seems well researched. Very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't fault it!!, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here is a tip, Read reviews.
I have just read a race for mad men and loved it, thought I would buy Chris Sidwells book of Tour climbs.
I read the reviews of it and then read the reviews of Mountain High.
I intend to do trips to the Alps for a secound time the Pyrenees, spain and Italy, Mountain High give's you history, loctaion, gradiants and excellent photography.
Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great info, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs - Saddlebag Edition (Paperback)
Lots of info on the famous and interesting climbs in europe. Looking forward to takin this book to the Mountains this summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mountain high, 21 Mar 2013
Excellent book, good details to most of europe's highest climbs. Well worth buying if planning a trip to the alps, Dolomites or the Pyrenees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs - Saddlebag Edition
6.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews