Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book - there's more than you thought...
Having been brought up on a diet of exotic Attenborough adventures, it can seem that the UK is the poor relation in wildlife terms, but a flick through this book will soon correct that view. The text provides a narrative seasonal approach, so you can tell what is happening at each time of year and why, with some side-by-side comparisons. The fantastic photos really bring...
Published 19 months ago by Dan M

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paper quality is mediocre, and detracts from accompanying photos.
Rather mundane descriptions of British wildlife, in my estimation. This volume didn't live up to my expectations, which were based on the publisher's "blurb."
Published 17 months ago by CalProf


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book - there's more than you thought..., 4 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Great British Year: Wildlife through the Seasons (Hardcover)
Having been brought up on a diet of exotic Attenborough adventures, it can seem that the UK is the poor relation in wildlife terms, but a flick through this book will soon correct that view. The text provides a narrative seasonal approach, so you can tell what is happening at each time of year and why, with some side-by-side comparisons. The fantastic photos really bring the book to life, ranging from surprising close ups such as wood ants squirting formic acid, to double page panoramas and satellite shots.

You really will look at British wildlife in a new way - and the resource section at the back tells you where to go out to find it. You can even see what it took to make the BBC series which the book accompanies in the 'Behind the Scenes' chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious photography of Britain, 10 Oct. 2013
By 
Caroline (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great British Year: Wildlife through the Seasons (Hardcover)
We live in a beautiful country and the seasons distinguish it from any other so it is terrific to have a book that shows each season off in all it's glory. The photography is truly stunning and it's a book anyone of any age will love to look at time and again. I shall be buying this for all my friends and family for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Wildlife Book, 16 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Great British Year: Wildlife through the Seasons (Hardcover)
The Great British Year is one of the most stunning wildlife books I've seen! Absolutely amazing photography accompanied by beautifully written chapters by Stephen Moss. Both my children are transfixed by the images and we have agreed to buy a copy for my nature-loving mother-in-law for Christmas. A wonderful present for any wildlife lover as it expertly guides you through the seasons showing how truly magical Great Britain and all it's wildlife is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 22 Oct. 2013
Having bought this book for my Kindle i must buy a copy for my book shelf. It is a very informative book with beautiful illustrations a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xmas gift, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Year: Wildlife through the Seasons (Hardcover)
Bought this book for an elderly uncle who lives in london but enjoys everything to do with the countryside and animals. He will love looking through this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a year of british wildlife., 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Year: Wildlife through the Seasons (Hardcover)
A very good book following British wildlife thru the seasons.
The book is packed with stunning photos of Britain's wild animals and insects.
It is a good accompaniment to the BBC series.
A recommended read for anyone who watched the series or for nature lovers in general, very informative.
The book shows what wonderful and diverse wildlife there is in Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Delight, 28 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Great British Year: Wildlife through the Seasons (Hardcover)
I found "The Great British Year" on a bargain books table which seems a real shame because it's genuinely beautiful! The photographs are stunning. The detail is incredible. One of my favourites features a ladybird in an empty acorn cup. I bought the book on the strength of the photographs. Imagine my delight, however, on reading the book at home and discovering that it's not "just" eye candy (albeit a very superior kind of eye candy in this case!). The text takes the reader through the year from winter to winter, describing the habits of different creatures, providing an accessible, fascinating, moment-by-moment journey into the secret world of nature which surrounds us but which we're often too busy to notice on our own. The book is a delight and one that I hope to enjoy for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book on Britain's wildlife through the seasons!, 9 May 2015
By 
This review is from: The Great British Year: Wildlife through the Seasons (Hardcover)
Anyone with a love of nature or an interest in wildlife photography should buy this book. It is an utter delight! It takes you on a wonderful wildlife journey through Britain detailing what the nature of our islands goes through during the different seasons. Chapters are entitled Winter into Spring, Spring into Summer, Summer into Autumn, Autumn into Winter and is filled with many stunning photos and interesting and informative text. There is also a section at the back called Behind the Scenes which tells you how they made the TV series which accompanies the book and a very useful piece on specific places to watch wildlife and also key wildlife wonders that are musts like the dawn chorus, deer rut, where to see bluebells, kingfishers, red squirrels, seal colonies etc etc! Excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! - THANK YOU SO MUCH BBC!, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic book! I'm so glad I picked it out! This book deserves 5 stars and more! Easy to read, easy to follow, a wealth of knowledge to be had, and some magnificent close up colour photographs too!! If anyone wants to know about Britain's wildlife throughout the seasons - I thoroughly recommend this book! Thank you so much BBC and everyone involved in the making of it!! Absolutely fascinating!! I simply cannot give enough praise for this book! I look forward to watching the television series - if I haven't already missed it! Very well done to all concerned in the making of this book, and the TV series too!! Excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 21 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Great British Year: Wildlife through the Seasons (Hardcover)
I enjoyed the tv series and bought the book partly to re-live this. I love the time-lapse stuff and the seasonal transitions. Highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great British Year: Wildlife through the Seasons
The Great British Year: Wildlife through the Seasons by Stephen Moss (Hardcover - 3 Oct. 2013)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews