Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
Excellent book, impossible to keep it down once started reading. Looking forward to part two and part three from this author
Published 17 months ago by Sanjay Krishnankutty

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking, but flawed
Amish is one of the rare self-published authors - like Amanda Hocking and E.L. James - who made it big before selling their books to a legacy publisher. When Jo Fletcher announced she'd picked up the rights for the Shiva trilogy, my interest was immediately piqued by its subject matter. I love retellings of myths and legends and origin stories and here was a whole new...
Published 19 months ago by W.M.M. van der Salm-Pallada


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, 17 Nov 2013
An excellent experiment with Indian history and mythology. There are some anachronisms and author also tried to write the story in modern peoples language. Once you get used to those it is worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First book I ever read, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is interesting enough to hold a non reader like me.
I will definitely read the next parts.
Jai shri ram.
Har Har Mahadrv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shiva Trilogy, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Immortals of Meluha (The Shiva Trilogy) (Paperback)
Read the book in a couple of days could not put it down, it is fantastically written. Beautiful story, can't wait to read the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The immortals of meluha (the shiva trioligy), 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Immortals of Meluha (The Shiva Trilogy) (Paperback)
Powerful read! Hard to put down. Excellent reading, The book is Gripping the writer brings the Shiva mythology to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every person should read it, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
absolutely brilliant writing, a must must read for everyone. The author has researched his subject well , even the smallest things are detailed neatly. Every person should read it, it teaches a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, 21 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Immortals of Meluha (The Shiva Trilogy) (Paperback)
Well, I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of reading this fictional piece of art. It was quite gripping and which forced me to stay in and finish the book within 3 days. The language used fits it so beautifully keeping the aura and it just keeps flowing spontaneously. I definitely recommend this reading to anyone who wants to understand clearly about the ethics and science behind the Indian mythology for which the current generation including me didn't actually understand the principles and reasoning behind all our rituals. Reading this book has definitely enlightened me to a greater level since Amish the fantabulous author brings out the essence by roping in philosophy, science and mythology under a single roof .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very catchy, 2 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Immortals of Meluha (The Shiva Trilogy) (Paperback)
Very catchy subject with interesting explanations gives scientific reason for every miracle and the passionate love story in between makes it must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting retelling of the legend., 9 July 2013
By 
Gaurav Rathore (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Immortals of Meluha (The Shiva Trilogy) (Paperback)
I did pick up this book with reluctance, as the title and cover were both designed to lure the teenage audience, but found it a surprisingly refreshing and compelling read. Not only does the author retell the story of Shiva, who is probably the most important god to the Hindus, but it also showcases the basics of Hindu philosophy in a very readable manner.
The characters are mostly well developed and some names from the mythology carry the traits which are well known to those familiar with old Indian Mythological stories. The prose has been criticised by some reviewers and probably carries some merit, but as a non native English speaker, I would sympathise with Amish, and forgive the slightly clunky narrative.
However, Amish has excelled as a master story teller and keeps you hooked till the very last page and beyond. I was glad that I had bought the whole trilogy and dived straight into the next one! The next book actually reveals the full complexity of the story and the first one often appears to be a prelude to a richly layered fable, which is in many ways deserving to be placed alongside the wonderful mythological stories that inspired it.
I think and hope most readers would enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amish has masterfully combined history, mythology, geography, philosophy, politics, science, sociology with story-telling, 6 July 2013
This review is from: The Immortals of Meluha (The Shiva Trilogy) (Paperback)
The author takes the reader on an evocative journey through the Indian mythology and traces the journey of Shiva in logically ordered chapters, from a normal tribal leader to a God. This is the first book that I finished in one sitting, in many years. The story telling is fast paced and is quite incredible. It has also compelled me to wonder how the 33 million Hindu Gods were created. Amish has masterfully combined history, mythology, geography, philosophy, politics, science, sociology with his unique art of story-telling, which entices and tranports the reader into 1900 BC!

I have finished reading "The Secret of the Nagas" and am in the middle of the third book - "The Oath of the Vayuputras". Incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ......, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Immortals of Meluha (The Shiva Trilogy) (Paperback)
Now the life of shiva,and Hinduism .i would buy other parts .tell my friend and family about it .so they buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Immortals of Meluha (The Shiva Trilogy)
The Immortals of Meluha (The Shiva Trilogy) by Amish (Paperback - 3 Jan 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews