Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars9
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2014
An extremely well researched book which is very well written. It explains the war from several very distinct angles (foreigners, blacks, Afrikaner and uitlander etc), which adds tremendously to the overall understanding of the impact of the war. It constantly surprised me e.g I never knew that many countries of the Commonwealth answered the call to fight on Britain's side. The descriptions of the main battles and sieges are authoritative. Well recommended.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
A good history, easy to read and fascinating. I recommend it to anyone wanting to know about the operations of Britain in Southern Africa, and the impact upon the resident peoples.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Fascinating read. Well researched. Anyone interested in the current situation in South Africa will gain insight from reading this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
value for money and goodpostal service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Really good buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
Very good as an overview of the whole conflict but I had hoped to find some more specific information regarding the City of London Imperial Yeomanry who were only mentioned quite briefly my name.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
A comprehensive history reasonably easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
It is an interesting book with a lot of facts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Very detailed account of who fought against who, but too little background of the situation before the war and the non-military happenings during it, for example concentration camps.
Another example of the English colonial army winning a war but the English government losing the peace. And it is going on today- just read a newspaper.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)