Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WELL RESEARCHED AND FASCINATING ANALYSIS OF THE RECENT FINANCIAL CRISIS
I bought the Kindle version of this book as a "daily deal offer" without having heard of the film, which I have now bought (but not yet watched).

I previously had a fairly vague idea of the reasons behind the crisis, and tended to the view that yes the bankers were overpaid and greedy, but that we had all participated in borrowing and spending "easy money". I...
Published on 30 July 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars That Day Is Done
Yet another book detailing the problems of the financial crash which began in 2007/8 and has not yet finished. It's OK until the final chapter when the writer misses many important points.

Chapter 10 asks: What should be done? While some of the suggestions are sensible, some are not. "In the meantime, we can do a number of things, both politically and...
Published 20 months ago by Honrus Publicus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WELL RESEARCHED AND FASCINATING ANALYSIS OF THE RECENT FINANCIAL CRISIS, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the Kindle version of this book as a "daily deal offer" without having heard of the film, which I have now bought (but not yet watched).

I previously had a fairly vague idea of the reasons behind the crisis, and tended to the view that yes the bankers were overpaid and greedy, but that we had all participated in borrowing and spending "easy money". I thought that the crisis was simply an unforseeable accident.

The book soon wiped away this view. Ferguson writes well and describes in easily understandable language just what was behind the crisis. He explains sub-prime mortgages, structured products, derivatives and hedge funds, CDOs and other exotic financial instuments. I now feel that I understand what these things are. Ferguson's writing style is clear and pleasurable to read, his only failing in this respect is that he often repeats things later on, but this is a minor irritation.

The book is well researched and backed up with extensive citations and references - the last 20% of the Kindle edition. What really opened my eyes was his detailed account of how the entire finance industry, banks, investment banks,mortgage lenders, ratings agencies, academics, regulators (in the USA) and insureres are all in each others pockets, with a common goal of self-enrichment at all costs. It is truly horrifying to learn that even when the property bubble was deflating, investment banks and insurers were offloading toxic assets onto unsuspecting investors, even betting (via "shorts") that these investment funds, sold to inexperienced or non-savvy institutions, would fail.

This book is a biting indictment of a system which rewards insiders by huge salaries and bonuses, while allows failure and fraud to go unpunished. The recent revelations of LIBOR rate fixing and HSBC's involvement in money laundering are not in fact very new, Ferguson points to them in the book.

Ferguson broadens his analysis to the current structures (and woes)of the US economic and social systems. I strongly recommend Inside Job as essential reading to anyone who wants to understand what happened in this crisis, and to the lack of any coherent political response to the dominance and rapacity of finance in the US (and the UK).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A more rounded picture than the film, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this having watched the film several times. The book has the advantage of being able to go into subjects in greater depth, with more examples, and whilst the film's awkward interviews and "xxxx declined to be interviewed" lines made for a good spectacle they ultimately made the film appear very one-sided. The book is much better at placing the 2008 crisis in context - comparing the banking "industry" with other large, complacent and often corrupt American industries of the past (cars, steel etc.); and also there's more on how banking and finance have contributed to a massive rise in income inequality over the past few decades - a rise which has masked declining living standards for the bulk of the US (and UK) population.

It's also more up-to-date, of course. However the final chapter on "What should be done" is very brief - none of the ideas are fully developed. And the book has several irritating typographical errors, especially near the beginning - the odd word missed out or two words conflated. Not to mention the use of the word "incented" instead of "incentivised"; not a word I was able to find in the dictionary online (English or American).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent expansion of ideas and thoughts in oscar winning documentary, 18 Sep 2014
By 
history fan (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
I found this kindle edition of this book hard to put down at times such was my interest in what he had to write. To coin a phrase it is right on the money, in my opinion (pardon the puns).

Divided up into 9 long chapters and a short tenth epilogue of reform ideas and actions that need to be taken, it is an exposition of ideas and thoughts on the events in financial markets and banking primarily in the United States, culminating in the recent financial crisis of 2008.

The first chapter is an overview of what is to follow in the book and the why of what it is about.

Chapter 2 is a short history of the "20 year period that led to the rise of a deregulated, concentrated, destabilizing financial sector". Chapter 3 covers mortgage lending, chapter 4 investment banking and related activities and chapter 5 the crisis and the behaviour it produced. Chapter 6 covers the case for criminal prosecutions resulting from the crisis. Chapter 7 and 9 deals with a wider analysis of American society and what the previous chapters context is and wider problems with the US economy and society with the huge ramifications for the rest of the world and political ideas at work there. Chapter 8 focuses on the world of academia principally that of economists and their part of the solution and the problem, by-in-large though their share of the problem.

There is a lot more to the story told in this book than sub prime mortgages and a few silly investors, it basically says if things don't change, the future does not look good particularly for the people of the USA but also with wider ramifications in the global economy. This is a worrying read and it could do with a follow up book on the context of financial crises in general originating in the USA and Wall Street and the impact and influence on recent i.e late 19th and 20th century history. i.e this book speaks to a wider pattern in history in my opinion. However this book is mainly concerned with recent events and calls for immediate action within the context it sets out. It is weak on future developments and the kind of reforms needed but its a good place to start. An important book with a constructive outlook, informative, well documented and with expert input from the author whose credentials appear sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps best book on the finance crisis, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ferguson has also done a documentary, but the book is better. The analysis is clear and convincing and touches areas which are not mentioned in other books. E.g., in comparison to Lewis' "Big short" Ferguson, offers a much more comprehensive analysis on the mechanisms that led to the meltdown. The main explanation that it was not in the individual actors' interests to blow the whistle, mainly because they did not stand to lose personally. And so much money was involved that you could corrupt anybody... So most people were quite aware that terrible things were happening, but still did nothing. Ferguson thinks it was grievously wrong that the main culprits have not been prosecuted, because only this would stop future crises from developing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We needed this..., 1 July 2012
It's a powerful expose, & a genuine rallying call against the dangers of poorly governanced hegemonies. I only withhold one star for what the author doesn't fully take on board, despite the title: it is the culture that needs reform. We all need to play our part in encouraging health & transparency, by recognising service where it is delivered, & reasoning or voting with our feet otherwise. "Them versus us" risks perpetuating the falsehood that allowed the idiotic disaster in the first place. Still, if this book rneans more folk feel empowered to take the issues seriously & demand proper answers, it will surely serve its purpose well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREAT PRISON ESCAPE, 20 Nov 2013
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Charles Ferguson in 'Inside Job' sets out incontrovertibly and in a highly readable fashion, how the much once highly respected financial industry and its senior executives went rogue. Through three decades of self-influenced, politically manipulated, and payola encouraged deregulation' the picture emerges of the corruption, and erosion of long standing ethical customer trust in bankers and financial advisers. The pursuit of the big green dollar massively flamed by the outrageous personal monetary incentives offered to anyone in an organisation who could book a profit however achieved, whether morally acceptable, principled, honest or not, was allowed to get completely and totally out of hand, particularly in all aspects of home mortgages, their subsequent collateralization, crazy casino gambling synthetic CDO's, and the highly questionable use of Credit Default Swaps by banks to hedge against dodgy, almost certain time bombs loaded with the worst possible sub prime rubbish, that the banks themselves had sold its own customers.

Political leaders when asked why little or no criminal action has been taken against the senior executives of companies that were actively involved in this business, simply claim that these people had not broken any of the laws of the country, and offer some less than confidence giving pledge to tighten up the laws governing the financial industry. However, Charles Ferguson meticulously examines a whole raft of existing and on the statute books laws, and details numerous examples of how these have been violated and by whom, thus exposing the 'no laws were broken' excuse as a downright falsehood.

Recently one of the concerns heavily involved in this sorry period of fiscal shame, JP Morgan has agreed to pay fines way in excess of $22 billion for its inexcusable performance in mainly the sub prime mortgage scandal. It is risible, and beyond the bounds of human credibility to believe that a company would pay $22 billion for something, that supposedly broke no laws. Obviously laws were ignored and trashed, but not one single CEO or other senior executive have faced criminal charges and been sent to prison....and there are many who should be answering for their part in this affair which has cost us all very dearly, many of them very well known financiers, who instead of languishing behind bars, stripped of their ill-gotten gains, continue to live the life of extreme opulence derived from their dubious business dealings. All right for some!

This is a very good and well argued thought provoking work but be prepared to be made angry at the ability of the very rich and influential to avoid the law, long periods of imprisonment, and confiscation of ill-gotten gains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the film and the book is very bit as good a truly fascinating insight to the nature of finance and the causes of the crash. Also an excellent analysis of the problems with modern America. I heartily recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you want to know., 5 May 2013
By 
R. Sykes (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always wondered that despite the fact the world was bought to its financial knees by the bankers from 2008, no-one has really been held to account - neither are they ever likely to be. This book explains it all; what happened, why it happened, who dunnit and who was let off and why! I can't wait for his sequel later this month (May 2013).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Damning indictment of the mess we're in, 4 Mar 2013
Detailed and insightful critique of corporate America, although Europe is mentioned too. The writing at times got a bit panic stricken. Overused the word 'toxic' and some facts were repeated several times but overall, an interesting book which made angry and sad all at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having watched the film I found this a very interesting follow up. Although some parts were a bit heavy I understood a lot about why the present crash has happened and how the problems are still there, A very well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inside Job: The Financiers Who Pulled Off the Heist of the Century
Inside Job: The Financiers Who Pulled Off the Heist of the Century by Charles Ferguson (Paperback - 6 Feb 2014)
£6.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews