Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nhs sos
Its the most important book ever written on the modern NHS. It did wonders for my low blood pressure. I am a GP and have put it in the waiting room. I have told all my patients and colleagues, and am amazed it has not been talked about more in the media,(there's a chapter in the book that might be relevant). I feel all NHS staff should read it, as, apart from opening...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
Lots of ideas and preconceptions could be challenged but it certainly raises some interesting issues.
Worth reading on a train near a travelling politician.........
Published 16 months ago by Balew


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it. Read it. Get angry. Take action!, 16 Sep 2013
By 
C G Woodhouse (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
A must-read for anyone who cares about the NHS, and the way in which current changes are seemingly forcing it into privatisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone who might ever get ill should read this book!, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
Not finished reading it yet but a very revealing book, showing that dismantling the NHS has been high on the political agenda for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes You Angry !, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
Read this and get angry at the betrayal of the NHS. Lied to and misled by our leaders its a coherent and compelling history of deliberate political double-speak. Its also a call to arms to act now and save the NHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your NHS is being dismantled..., 23 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS (Kindle Edition)
This book is a real eye opener into the accelerated privatisation of the NHS.

I have been working in the NHS since 2000 and am pretty worn down by all the various bits & bobs that have been sold off but the scale of the Health & Social Act 2012 is immense.

I am ashamed to say that when it was passed I fell for the mainstream media line of CCGs will be run by GPs malarkey, the opinion of those against was pretty much ignored, if I as a NHS worker wasn't aware of the impact of the bill and consider myself well informed than what chance did the public have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A devastating commentary on our "democracy", 10 Aug 2013
By 
Dr. R. G. Bullock "Gavin Bullock" (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
I do not want to repeat other reviews, which describe the book in general terms, but concentrate on the overarching implications for British, or more specifically, English, democracy. Just bear in mind that the government has relinquished its old responsibility of providing comprehensive health care to the citizens of England. In his Dimbleby Lecture of 1976, Lord Hailsham spoke of what he called the "elective dictatorship". He described a House of Commons more or less rubber-stamping legislation promoted by the executive, with little in the way of opposition. This book describes the advanced state of this "elective dictatorship" nearly 40 years later. In the case of the health bill, this process has now been amplified by a series of other anti-democratic phenomena outlined in the Afterword of the book under the heading of `key lessons'. The authors lay out several of these and they are closely related to the general argument of the book.

The first is the mendacity of politicians and the total lack of their discomfiture on being found out. This almost defining characteristic of their class enabled the coalition to conceal the purposes of Lansley's Health and Social Care Bill right up to the end of its parliamentary journey, and they still do so. Secondly, the book draws attention to the fact that many parliamentarians had financial interests in commercial health companies and that these individuals voted for the bill. A more arcane but important thing was the lack of democratic processes in most of the supposedly democratic professional organisations - the British Medical Association and the Royal Colleges of Physicians, Surgeons and others. Members of these powerful organisations found it difficult or impossible to get the bill discussed in the forums prescribed by their constitutions. This failure was very likely a game-changer. Was this a result of those Raymond Tallis calls `useful idiots' not realising what was going on or of some other hidden cause. Finally, and just as importantly, there is the failure of the media, in particular the BBC, in informing the public about the bill and its background. In a devastating chapter with the title, `Hidden in Plain Sight', Oliver Huitson shows how these newspapers and broadcasters, self-styled guardians of our democracy, greatly assisted the government in its task by omissions, poor analyses and repetition of the government line without much modification. Only Channel 4 News and the Guardian come out with much credit. Let me quote a small passage to give the flavour:

"On the BBC's This Week programme, Michael Portillo admitted, astonishingly, `[the Tories] didn't believe they could win an election if they told you what they were going to do'. Yet concerns over the health bill's democratic mandate were mentioned only twice by the BBC in their online news and analysis in the nearly two years of debate. For some reason, they did not deem it an issue worth exploring".
Huitson concludes his chapter: "The health bill, a near perfect vision of Westminster's appropriation by high commerce, only made the disparity between reality and reporting all the more stark".

Prof. Allyson Pollock and David Price state in their chapter "that the bill became law in the end is testimony not to our robust democratic processes, but the autocratic power of government". It was a "constitutional outrage". Later, they claim it to be "a catastrophe" , "an act of tyranny". Strong words but outrage pervades these pages. They outline a change hardly reported, even in this book: "under the new system...the health care market can choose the services they wish to provide and the patients for whom they provide them. The principle is not, as the Coalition Government repeatedly claimed, increased patient choice but increased CHOICE OF PATIENT [the authors' stress]. As I read it, patients will not have the automatic right to a GP practice (you are registered with a practice now, not the individual doctor), so difficult, time consuming or expensive patients might find themselves without such a service (in the past, they could be allocated to a practice by the NHS). What is to become of such people? Apparently the provider of last resort is the local authority. What part of my local council do I contact to deal with my flu? Doubtless, we shall all find out very soon.

These 'reforms' are not a matter of the left and right of politics. Those on the right who support neo-liberal economics have every right to promote private health care and argue vigorously for such a system. What they do not have the right to do is smuggle their laws through parliament by deception and without a mandate.

The changes described in the book apply only to those living in England. Those in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland continue to enjoy the old NHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It isn't too late, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS (Kindle Edition)
A heart-breaking expose of the chicanery, lies and cowardice on the part of the royal colleges and the media. It gives hope for the future as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives the facts about wholesale destruction of this great institution, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
Divided into chapters dealing with various aspects of the process - from the political enabling of private sector involvement, to the acquiescence of the medical professions, and the lack of scrutiny by the media - this book reveals the depth of the deceptions involved and the heroic struggles of some members of the medical professions and concerned individuals to try and stop the piecemeal destruction of the NHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read Now!, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
A fascinating and extremely informative read with each contribution written in a clear and accessible style. Highly recommended for anyone who would like to know what's really going on with our National Health Service and what can be done to salvage it. If you value your NHS, read this important book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book should be required reading for Every Thoughtful Citizen, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
This disturbing collection of essays by leading academics is a well focused analysis of the problems besetting the NHS. It is clear from the evidence supplied that the NHS is not safe in the hands of any major political party in this country. The only course of action apart from active campaigning is to support the Green part7y who at least have a coherent polcy about the NHs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it if you want to understand motives behind this reorganisation of the NHS despite manifesto committments, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
A thoughtful collection of chapters on how a Conservative manifesto commitment - backed by an equally clear Coalition agreement - not to inflict any further top-down reorganisations on the NHS (which was functioning well and very high satisfaction ratings) was turned into the most drastic reorganisation since 1948 within weeks of the Coalition agreement.
A case study of the value attached to manifesto committments by some political parties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It
NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It by Jacky Davis (Paperback - 5 July 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews