Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nhs sos
Its the most important book ever written on the modern NHS. It did wonders for my low blood pressure. I am a GP and have put it in the waiting room. I have told all my patients and colleagues, and am amazed it has not been talked about more in the media,(there's a chapter in the book that might be relevant). I feel all NHS staff should read it, as, apart from opening...
Published 15 months ago by dr p.j.j.brewer

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
Lots of ideas and preconceptions could be challenged but it certainly raises some interesting issues.
Worth reading on a train near a travelling politician.........
Published 14 months ago by Balew


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nhs sos, 24 July 2013
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
Its the most important book ever written on the modern NHS. It did wonders for my low blood pressure. I am a GP and have put it in the waiting room. I have told all my patients and colleagues, and am amazed it has not been talked about more in the media,(there's a chapter in the book that might be relevant). I feel all NHS staff should read it, as, apart from opening their eyes to the destruction of the NHS, its a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The NHS will be a state insurance provider not a state deliverer", 6 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
"The NHS will be a state insurance provider not a state deliverer" is the key message of this book. The reforms of the NHS over the past 30 years, carried out by both Labour and Tory/Lib Dem governments, have been a vehicle to enable the creation of conditions whereby private providers can gain access to billions of pounds of health funding.

The book is a multi-author series of essays that each addresses aspects of the assault upon our health service. The reader is presented with the evidence of what actually happened; how the introduction of a full-blown market into the National Health Service was carefully planned. The authors convincingly set out a good case that the latest set of NHS reforms were a fraudulent deception on the part of mainstream politicians beyond reasonable doubt and that the assault on the NHS is also an assault upon democracy. This is the books great strength.

The weakness is the section which deals with 'what is to be done?' to save our health service. Taking the NHS back into being a public provider isn't suggested, whereas as this is surely an essential first step, and no solution to the attack upon democracy embodied by the health reforms is addressed such as the social-democratic proposal of elected health boards to both increase service accountability and prevent future attacks by the vultures and spivs, as advocated in Player and Leys 'The Plot Against the NHS'.

That criticism aside, this is an essential book and everyone should read it and judge our politicians accordingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important must read, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
I found this a most important book and commend it. It provides important insight into what lies behind the Governments motives for changes that are taking place (radical changes that they haven't got a mandate to undertake) and the way they have and are going about this. It helps to understand actions and statements that are being made and advocates challenging the move towards the dismantling of our NHS. I think it also acts as an illustration for what is happening to other parts of our Welfare State.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deforming the NHS, 18 Jan 2014
By 
S Wood (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
"NHS SOS: How the NHS was betrayed - and how we can save it" is a collection of writing on the Coalitions NHS deforms ably put together by Dr Jackie Davis and Prof Raymond Tallis to enlighten the general public on what the implications of the reforms are, a task that the mainstream media have unsurprisingly failed to accomplish.

After a short foreword from Ken Loach, and an introduction to the book and the issues covered by Raymond Tallis, we have John Lister's (see Health Policy Reform: Global Health Versus Private Profit) opening chapter "Breaking the Public Trust" which makes clear that the Coalition has absolutely no mandate for their "reforms" (it was in neither parties manifestos nor in the coalition agreement) and summarises the main thrust of them which is far from the GP led health service that has featured so prominently in public discourse.

Stewart Player (see The Plot Against the NHS & Confuse and Conceal) in "Ready for the Market" looks into how the NHS was re-engineered over many years to the stage where it could be essentially consumed by private sector interests. He is perhaps a little confusing though undoubtedly this reflects the ad hoc, underhand and opportunistic nature of the private sectors penetration of the NHS. In "Parliamentary Bombshell" Dr David Wrigley charts the parliamentary and extra-parliamentary progress of the Coalitions Health Bill, revealing the arrogance of power, and if anyone was in any doubt, the spineless supine-ness of Shirley Williams.

Dr Jacky Davis and Dr Wrigley go on in "The Silence of the Lambs" to dissect the actions of those who are supposed to represent Consultants, Doctors and Nurses (the BMA and the Royal Colleges) and tells a story which at best paints them as naïve in their engagement with the Coalition, and at worst as complicit, undemocratic collaborators. Retired GP and former Liberal Democrat parliamentary candidate Dr Charles West's "A Failure of Politics" reports from inside the Liberal Democrat camp, and makes crystal clear the manipulative, duplicitous and undemocratic nature of the parties parliamentary leadership. West also takes a look at conflicts of interests within parliament, noting that 70 MP's and 142 Peers have interests in the private health sector, probably a somewhat higher ratio than one would expect amongst voters, and perhaps indicative of who these MP's and Peers really represent - not the people but private interests.

Oliver Huitson, a co-editor of the British section of the OpenDemocracy website (& contributor to Public Service on the Brink) examines the lamentable record of the media's coverage of the Coalitions Health Bill. The focus is on the BBC's poor performance, including its practically non-existent coverage of the conflicts of interests of those Peers and MP's connected to the private health sector, and their endless regurgitation of Coalition slogans in lieu of informed analysis, not to mention labelling industry funded "think" tanks as independent! Even the Mail and Torygraph come out better (but not by much).

Prof Allyson Pollock (see NHS Plc: The Privatisation of Our Health Care) and David Price dissect the Coalitions Health Bill in "From Cradle to Grave" and make clear its implications: the destruction of the NHS, power devolved onto unaccountable private bodies who may ration treatments and choose patients at their pleasure. Those parts of the NHS that the private sector is not interested in (eg. Mental Health) are to be transferred to Local Authorities, the very same Local Authorities who have faced the biggest spending cuts under the Coalitions Austerity Regime (basically a feel-good name for an off the IMF shelf Structural Adjustment Program). Jacky Davis and Raymond Tallis finish with an excellent guide to saving the NHS from destruction which includes many resources and contacts for those who wish to fight back against this miserable and mendacious Coalitions policies. This is a book that Id strongly recommend, in particular to those in England as the NHS in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland is thus far free from the most pernicious aspects of privatisation, though as a precautionary measure it is no doubt relavent in those countries too as doubtlessly once the private sector has their snouts well and truly in the NHS trough they will look to expand their operations over the borders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find out what is really happening to the NHS, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS (Kindle Edition)
If you want the truth about what is happening to the NHS, and not just government hype, then you must read this. Well researched with contributions from doctors and academics. This book exposes the systematic fragmentation and privatisation of the NHS, started under Labour but accelerated under the Con-Dem government. This will lead to poorer, more expensive care without universal coverage. Unfortunately there was no effective opposition from the BMA and other Royal Colleges, except the Royal College of GPs.
There is still hope, the book details what we can all do to help retrieve the NHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 25 years of change explained!, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
Structured explanation of the changes imposed on the NHS over the past 25 years. For anyone who cares about the NHS this is a 'must read'. Puts all the fragmented changes into perspective and shines a bright shining light on the privatisation of healthcare in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read., 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
This is an eye opener for people who are not aware how the nhs is being slowly killed off for private profit. It covers how all the political parties have colluded to undermine and destroy our welfare state, the deafening silence of our media and the apathy of we the public. as Aneurin Bevin said " the Nhs will last as long as we are willing to fight for it". The death of our welfare state is happening now, the information is here to allow us to act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good explanation of the NHS demise, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Big Pete (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
A good summary of what has happened to the NHS recently. It remains a mystery why this ha not been publicised more even though there is a chapter on the press.
As a doctor it is an embarrassment to me that my professional bodies were so complicit in this change. Perhaps a case of looking to gongs in the future for the leaders of the colleges / BMA? They forget that the system that we are left with is the one that will be replacing their hips and heart valves in the future.
This only gets 4 stars because it is a little repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet more hidden truths., 13 Jan 2014
By 
E. Phillips (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It (Paperback)
Whilst I acknowledge that there may be some bias from the authors, my life experience leads me to believe that politicians language is cloaked in deception and half truths. With regard to the NHS this is true of the present and the previous government and the book identifies this. The frightening thing is that this government and the Tory quota in particular are driven by an ideology of destruction of all Public Services and the book shows how this relates to the NHS. Since reading the book I have checked on the number of members on my regions Clinical commissioning Group who have past or present interests in the private sector medical services and the numbers confirm the concerns aired in the book.
Anyone who cares about the NHS should read this book. It has shaken me out of my complacency about the future of the NHS. I will be taking an interest in the new local and nationally structured Health & Care framework and if like me you do not want to see the NHS become the cash cow of the markets as so many other public services have, I recommend you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last gasp chance to save the NHS, 26 July 2013
By 
John (Pontefract UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NHS SOS (Kindle Edition)
This book lays bare the terrible conspiracy to open up our NHS to an American system of market-led competition. This will inevitably substitute an inefficient, inequitable and expensive system for what was relatively efficient, equitable and inexpensive. It will also almost certainly lead, over the next few years, to declining population health and rationing of access for those who can't afford private insurance. And why? So that (largely American-based) Healthcare Corporations can take over the commissioning and provision of the NHS and make enormous profits for shareholders and bonuses for senior managers in the process.

It also exposes terrible corruption in the political classes, ineptitude, possibly complicity, by professional organisations and journalists and the determination of the capitalists to have things their way. It has taken thirty years of persistent campaigning and corruption to get here but unless someone (the Labour Party???) with political clout takes up the fight we might as well say the NHS died on its 65th birthday!

Being a retired consultant in old age psychiatry with a long-term interest in service design and delivery and co-author of a book for doctors in management Practical Management and Leadership for Doctors I was already aware, to a point, of what was going on. Now I know the details, I am incandescent.

Buy, read, act!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It
NHS SOS: How the NHS Was Betrayed - and How We Can Save It by Jacky Davis (Paperback - 5 July 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews