Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happiness Revealed?
A short simple book that takes the reader on a gentle journey with Giles which ends with him sharing his 7 secrets fo happiness. These are not necessarily secret, but they are primarily undiscovered or maybe unappreciated. I loved this book, it made me feel happy and it made me feel like I could think about these things and I would feel happy again- what more could I ask?
Published 18 months ago by Mazza

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really for me
I was disappointed that you had to get to the end of the book before you got to the ' 7 Secrets of Happiness'. I thought there was a lot of information that I had read before in the general sense, and it really didn't tell me anything I didn't know before. I feel as though the book was advertised as being 'something different' but I don't share that view.
Published 18 months ago by J Cunningham-Jones


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happiness Revealed?, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A short simple book that takes the reader on a gentle journey with Giles which ends with him sharing his 7 secrets fo happiness. These are not necessarily secret, but they are primarily undiscovered or maybe unappreciated. I loved this book, it made me feel happy and it made me feel like I could think about these things and I would feel happy again- what more could I ask?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you need seven secrets to be happy?, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Secrets of Happiness (Paperback)
I bought this for the old man and he can't put it down. This will be read over and over again and will probably never leave our small but select library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Treatise, 1 Oct. 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gyles Brandreth writes about happiness. The 7 secrets are not revelationary. They are the starting point of his subject. What he has done is to illustrate the difficulties and possible thoughts on striving to achieve the nebulous goal of 'what is happiness?'. He takes the reader through a factual, anecdotal and personal narrative.

This is a short and entertaining postulation of what makes a person happy in the short and more difficult long-term. It is food for thought and his own case history, aided with discussion alongside psychiatrist Anthony Clare, adds to the philosophy of happiness. We could equally add 'what is good?'. It is probably individualistic, but contentment with enjoyment may be one long-term solution as opposed to a quick fix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happiness, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Very uplifting inspiring and humerous read. Gyles is a clever word smith. The only bad thing I have to say about this book - it was too short!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really for me, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Secrets of Happiness (Paperback)
I was disappointed that you had to get to the end of the book before you got to the ' 7 Secrets of Happiness'. I thought there was a lot of information that I had read before in the general sense, and it really didn't tell me anything I didn't know before. I feel as though the book was advertised as being 'something different' but I don't share that view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short and fun but lacks depth or uniqueness, 30 April 2014
This is a decent book and fun to read (I read it in the bath as it is tiny) but I missed any reference to any eastern points of view on mindfulness and chi and found it a little too shallow.
Too much in this book of "me and the old boys were in the houses of parliament having a rather smug time" stuff going on here for my liking, despite a few good stories, and I'm not a royalist either so yawned a few times at some of the pomposity. Overall it may wake a few people up and help a few people who want some stress busters but it's nothing special and I'd borrow it from the library rather than pay for this book if I were you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth in a small package, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Secrets of Happiness (Paperback)
Unlike many "self help" books, there is no padding, just the content of an insightful talk on Happiness.
Despite a slightly larky persona on morning television, Gyles Brandreth is a very intelligent decent chap who has managed to capture some real insight here.
Its a quick, accessible read for sure, but holds much food for thought.
A lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Secrets of Happiness (Paperback)
A short book, easy read, in a humorous style but there are home truths within. Easy to understand, no complex psychology and so true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was hoping for more than this book actually delivered - I had read what I thought was a short part of it in the Sunday paper and liked what I read so bought this. Quite a boring read really, apart from a few interesting ideas - most of which had already been in the paper so there wasn't much point paying out for the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i picked this reading book as a good read because of the writer gyles brandreth i brillliant person and good writer too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

7 Secrets of Happiness
7 Secrets of Happiness by Gyles Brandreth (Paperback - 5 Sept. 2013)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews