Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fred's War, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches (Hardcover)
Given both of my grandfathers fought in France during 1914/18, it's no surprise that the subject of the First World War - we always referred to it as The Great War prior to 1945 - always held a special, one could say `family', interest for me. Fred's War, tells the story of the band of brothers who were the 1st Cameronians'. I found it a truly wonderful read, with the individuals and life and times they endured in the trenches, becoming alive off the page: there's Sergeant Blakemore, sniper and the battalions crack shot, the Cameronians' secret weapon... Robertson the CO who warns Fred to be more careful due to snipers; a dead Medical Officer is no use to the battalion... Lieutenant Woods, the Quartermaster; a former sergeant - major, hard drinking 43 year old Cockney, a father figure...
Over the years I have read many a book concerning the 1914/18 war and in my opinion, Fred's War is ranks amongst the very best. Andrew Davidson narrative crackles along and is supported by a veritable treasure-trove of photographs. I read it, enjoyed it, and will undoubtedly be dipping into it regularly for many - God willing - years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful book that brings to life the personal narratives of the First World War - a must read!, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches (Hardcover)
I read Fred's War in a single-sitting when I came home from work last night; I just couldn't put it down. I'm not ashamed to say that I had tears streaming down my face on several occasions. Andrew, you have brought these men to life and for that I can't thank you enough. From my own interests and reading, I already felt as though I had come to know many of the men mentioned in the book, but seeing their stories come through so clearly in line with Fred's, and along with the photographs, well I can't really explain how emotional it was. I had goosebumps the first time I saw Lieutenant Hill's words on the page, and despite knowing what happened to so many of these men, I cried real tears when following their stories. I can't say much more than that other than to recommend this book to everyone; even if you don't think you have an interest in the First World War this book still has so much to offer.

To Andrew - the 2nd Battalion have "Morale" to tell their story. Now, the 1st Battalion have "Fred's War", and I think they would be proud to have it so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches (Hardcover)
Totally gripping. A truly vivid depiction of life for a military doctor in the first year of the Great War. Writing in the present tense the author brings an immediacy to the daily lives of these young men caught in a conflict beyond their imagination.
The level of detail in the research brings these ordinary men back to life in an extraordinary fashion. Arriving in France without maps, ill-equipped and unprepared you get a real sense of how an epic adventure turned to disaster.Davidson's rich and colourful descriptions of the photographs make them unnervingly modern and hugely personal. The reader gets to know Fred, and his mates, just as the author got to know his grandfather ! Real insight into the personality of a generation for whom character, stoicism, and chums were everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fred's War, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches (Hardcover)
There are a whole lot of books coming out on the First World War right now: this is the one to go for. Andrew Davidson writes with the drive of a seasoned journalist and the book is a treasure trove of remarkable contemporary photographs. By following the fortunes of one man, the book is given narrative coherence and emotional weight. Fred's role as a medic offers a fascinating and different angle of entry into the war, its warriors and British society at the time. The author has done his research and gives us innumerable details whilst reminding us constantly of the bigger picture. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Maryhill to Mons and beyond, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches (Hardcover)
My interest in this book stems from Fred and I being brought up and raised on the east coast of Scotland and our both attending Montrose Academy, albeit 60 years apart. I have awarded the book 5 stars for its writing and interpretation of what is a personal and unique insight into Fred's War. The book is also a social commentary into the very start of the First World War where the officers were far from 'donkey's leading lions'. The narrative provides a very personal view of how Fred Davidson integrated and supported the 1st Cameronian Highlanders as their Medical Officer as part of the British Expeditionary Force deployed to France at the very start of the conflict. The unique photographs and Andrew Davidson's intelligent interpretation shows all to clearly the confusion and unpreparedness of the BEF to stem the German advance leading up to Christmas 1914 and the stalemate that & followed. The German onslaught was overwhelming on the men, logistics, resources and command staffs and this book expertly balances the facts for the reader. It also provides an insight into the French population plus the unquestionably bravery of the 'Jocks' and their affection for the professional officers whose leadership, example and experience did much to avert a disastrous start to the campaign. The book follows-up on how Fred prospers but also on the lives and fortunes of the many characters of the Cameronians who embarked for France from Maryhill Barracks in August 1914. A highly recommended read for the centenary of WW1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid account of wartime, 24 Dec 2013
This review is from: Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches (Hardcover)
This book is a family affair. A grandson brings life to photos of a distant war. The author, having written Sunday Times profiles for years, channels personality and picks up every fleck of detail. You can almost smell the places and feel the black/white photos come to coloured life. Such a grim war. But retold with touching and inquiring sensitivity.
And readable. Took me three sittings - I was gripped every time I picked it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches (Hardcover)
A very good book about the Great War with a great collection of photos. A book I was unable to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and in depth history of the 1st Cameronians, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches (Hardcover)
A superb account of a young mans journey from the religious surroundings of his family life to full blown Doctor on the Western Front in the earlier years. Photographs by the score that should never have been taken ! Beautifully written and in depth history of the 1st Cameronians. Dr Frederick Davidson was to make a real mark in life following his eventual departure in 1919 from the Army. A great man, a great story, real history. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully and well written account of Regimental Medical Officer during the early stages of the Great War., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches (Hardcover)
Based on the early life experiences of Fred Davidson. The son of a Scottish Reverend who was sent away early in his life to boarding school followed by university where Fred studied medicine. He joined the 1st Cameronians, ( The Scottish Rifles. )
Simply based around a set of four photograph albums showing pictures of the regiment leading up to the beginning of the Great War and it`s mobilisation. It charts daily life through the personal photographs taken by Fred and fellow officers. The beauty of the book is the way that the text leads you into the when, who and how the 250 photographs in the book and original albums came to be taken.
It was a book I borrowed to read but liked it so much I bought a copy for my own military book library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars History brought to life, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches (Hardcover)
My grandfather fought in this regiment but I'm not certain that their paths would have crossed. The book adds details to what we already knew, it's well written and worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches
Fred's War: A Doctor in the Trenches by Andrew Davidson (Hardcover - 17 Oct 2013)
£19.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews