Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars37
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2015
Be warned that the title of this book is misleading: this book isn't about "The Most Beautiful Walk in the World". Instead you discover in the last quarter of the book and in just a few sentences that the walk referred to just happens to be the street in Paris in which the writer lives, in which there is some character and colour and in which a number of famous persons have lived in previous decades and centuries. And even this street is not described in any detail in any part of the book!

The first quarter of this book is spent in a kind of long preamble about walking in various cities, and only after the author completes this preamble does he begin to occasionally share some interesting information about Paris. As other reviewers have pointed out he also spends a great deal of the time throughout the entire book name-dropping, either idolising people (usually writers) who once spent time living in Paris, or telling us of personalities he has met in his lucrative employment in Paris as a tour-guide.

The essence of this book is really this: if you want to be a sought-after tour-guide you must introduce your group of walkers to the food and drink of Paris while telling them anecdotes about anything salacious. In other words, don't focus on giving them facts, information, data.

Consequently Baxter gives the reader of this book very little interesting information about the French capital and one realises by its end that he's been spinning a yarn to spin himself some money.

However, Baxter generally writes well, and occasionally he does dispense some information of value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
It brings Paris alive- feeds the imagination,stirs the memory,rekindles the desire and longing to go back to this most beautiful of cities and ......just be xxx
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
I must have got it wrong. It's not about walking in one of the most walkable cities in Europe. This is one of those books about how ex pats find themselves experiencing Paris... and not a la Hemmingway! The real shops, the local characters...heard and read it all before.
It isn't a bad book....just one like several others and instantly forgettable. It's probably me..that's at fault.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
I found this book very easy reading and quite lot of information about Paris,
The chapters are not too long thus making bed time reading a joy.
The tips in the last chapter are an eye opener.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in Paris,
C.D,
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
I had read 20-25% of this book with barely a walk mentioned. It's OK as a book but a significant amount of the book is about neither walking nor Paris.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
no photos and text too disjointed not very inviting to read.I found it hard going, I was disappointed and I gave up after a couple of chapters
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Definitely intended for the "typical" tourist, i.e. American, this book nevertheless does give insights into the "real" Paris and the French as they really are. I'm sure many who yearn to go to Paris but know little about it outside typical literature (Hemingway…) would enjoy this book, which is more of an introduction - and the message that one should take a little more time, wander the streets and just simply sit down occasionally, comes across very clearly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
I've been to Paris loads of times, but found out lot's of new things in this book and some roads I want to go to now. A good read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
At last, a book that really lives up to its title. This is not just an entertaining amble through the streets and boulevards of Paris, it is also full of distractions, particularly of a literary nature. So we are diverted into the cafes of Hemingway and Scott Fitzgerald, how and why the characters of the late 19th century lived, and places to seek out when you are lucky enough to return to the City of Light. C'est magnifique!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Certainly not your normal travelogue. More a series of humorous anecdotes, from the broken door-lock, via the opium pipe, to the Swiss performance artist and Marlene Dietrich, with Paris as a backdrop. I really liked the author's style, and his descriptions of the numerous, often eccentric, characters who intersperse the stories. When next I travel to Paris I'd very much like to hire Mr Baxter for a day as a tour guide!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)