Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass!!, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Ms E. Exintaris "bibliophile" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draping: The Complete Course (Paperback)
I have been sewing for decades, and have occasionally attempted to use draping techniques to make clothes. Two dresses resulted from that. They're pretty good. But i wish i'd had this book when I was doing it. So much detail! So many garments! Jersey top to trench coat, through a red carpet dress. Huge book. Great detail. It's brilliant.

Would definitely recommend it for anyone who loves making clothes, has been working from patterns and has enough experience to build a garment from scratch, but does not want, under any circumstances, to do maths and measure things in two dimensions while trying to make a three dimensional garment. Draping is amazing, as it creates a pattern ON the stand. Genius. Practical. Quick. I'm addicted.

The author takes a red carpet or runway photo and proceeds to demonstrate, with explanations and detailed step by step photographs, how to make it! Best. Book. Ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draping: The Complete Course (Paperback)
From beginning to end, this book is the tops. Chock fulla information, history, and tons of photos. Best draping book I have in my collection now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised. Well presented book., 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draping: The Complete Course (Paperback)
Excellent book if you want to learn dressmaking. You would understand it more if you already have a little knowledge in draping and flat pattern cutting. For a tutor in pattern cutting I found this book to be very inspiration to students due to the designs it had chosen to reflect on. Many Hollywood/Iconic/Statement garments have been chosen. Not a first book for dressmaking, but more of a book for researching on how certain garments are made. If you already have knowledge in pattern cutting intermediate level and have a keen eye for detail you might can workout the methods. Some books might already have covered the Leg of Mutton sleeve for example, but this book will show you how to achieve the Rhianna power jacket look. The book is thick and have a lot of pictures to show you how to create the whole outfit. I have purely bought this for reference and it has pleasantly surprised me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 25 paperback bargain, 26 Nov 2013
This review is from: Draping: The Complete Course (Paperback)
Wow! Wasn't sure what to expect but this book really is excellent. The book covers a wide range of draping projects that have already started to improve my basic pattern cutting skills. If you can sew and wish to take your skills beyond following/ adjusting patterns then I'd recommend this book. A little prior pattern cutting knowledge probably beneficial but not essential..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draping: The Complete Course (Paperback)
This book is so informative and nice to look at to boot. There are a few spelling errors, but that is the only fault I can find in this book (and it is a very pernickety one at that).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to self-study, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draping: The Complete Course (Paperback)
This is a great draping book for self-study. The book has basic draping to applied draping. Easy to understand and good to adaptation. I reccommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous, but not for beginners, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Draping: The Complete Course (Paperback)
Lovely book, great pics, clear, concise... But note it is not an instruction manual on sewing. If you haven't sewn or draped at all before, I'd say this would be a great acompaniment to a course. I'd call myself an intermediate sewer and will use this to improve. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, inspiring book, 9 Nov 2013
By 
A. Croenen (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draping: The Complete Course (Paperback)
This is one of my absolute favourite sewing books. So beautifully laid out and designed, this is a larger than average book with an unusually generous spirit. I love reading through the chapters and I am learning so much on the way. There is also a dvd which shows the draping process in great detail. I recommend this book to people who want to gain an understanding of the draping process and about fabric as an artistic medium in general. What a treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on draping, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draping: The Complete Course (Paperback)
A great book that covers the basics of draping and encourages you to try much harder draped garments. The book is substantial and I feel I got a lot for my money. I use the draping method everyday in my job but still feel there was something to learn from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent book to work your way through systematically, 29 July 2014
By 
S. Strawbridge (east Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draping: The Complete Course (Paperback)
This is an excellent book to work your way through systematically . I have been dressmaking for over 40 years and was inspired when watching the latest 'Great BRITISH SEWING BEE' to try my hand at draping as a more creative means of dressmaking. With this book I am learning both basic and more advanced skills of draping in easy to follow steps and pictures. The book in itself is lovely to look at and excellent value for the price. The instructions are interspersed with fashion history depicting vintage clothing from films and crazes, showing these can be draped to achieve that particular iconic look or inspire you to adapt them to design your own look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Draping: The Complete Course
Draping: The Complete Course by Karolyn Kiisel (Paperback - 16 Sep 2013)
24.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews