Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Bikes to drool over
A great companion book to CYLEPEDIA - A TOUR OF ICONIC BICYCLE DESIGNS. Informative, with a great range of photographs. The book covers race/touring, BMX/mountain, city,folding/innovative bikes and accessories.My favourite machine is STARKE 1 bySilverbackTechnologies. BMW, Porche and Mercedes-Benz also have entries. Full price £15 but The Book Depository had it at a...
Published on 5 Jan. 2013 by Alan Miller

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Coffee table stuff
The book is not written by an engineer or cycle designer as such, many of the descriptions are factually inacurate and does not really do what it says on the tin. adiition to a collection of bike books? maybe other than that not worth the bother really
Published on 2 Feb. 2013 by jack of all trades


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Coffee table stuff, 2 Feb. 2013
This review is from: 100 Best Bikes (Paperback)
The book is not written by an engineer or cycle designer as such, many of the descriptions are factually inacurate and does not really do what it says on the tin. adiition to a collection of bike books? maybe other than that not worth the bother really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The German auto makers book of bikes, 9 Feb. 2014
This review is from: 100 Best Bikes (Paperback)
A quick flick through this book at SF airport led me to think it looked interesting. I'm a bike rider and a designer. However it is either very lazily written, or has been funded by a coalition of German auto makers.
There are some great bikes in here, but does anyone really think that BMW produces great bikes, or that Mercedes, Porsche, or even Puma has?
Their bikes are little more than branding exercises. I can see no grounds for their inclusion.
One innovation I think worthy of note has to be the Cannondale Lefty. Surely that deserves a placing above a regular bike branded by an auto company?
AC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bikes to drool over, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best Bikes (Paperback)
A great companion book to CYLEPEDIA - A TOUR OF ICONIC BICYCLE DESIGNS. Informative, with a great range of photographs. The book covers race/touring, BMX/mountain, city,folding/innovative bikes and accessories.My favourite machine is STARKE 1 bySilverbackTechnologies. BMW, Porche and Mercedes-Benz also have entries. Full price £15 but The Book Depository had it at a reduced price - well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 14 Jun. 2013
This review is from: 100 Best Bikes (Paperback)
I bought this book as I am interested in all aspects of cycling and I thought it would be an interesting book to add to my collection. It is a fairly poor book and I was quickly bored with the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Ian Franklin "Justme" (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best Bikes (Paperback)
I don't think this book contains the 100 best bikes. It's got some nice piccies but I could have done better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, but with too many questions, 3 July 2013
By 
G. Ward "Sotto Voce" (You are here ->) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 100 Best Bikes (Paperback)
I believe that this books attempts to do what it says on the cover, by offering one hundred items (of which the majority are bicycles) of interest. They range from the tradition, through road bikes, mountain bikes and BMX, through to more urban designs. There's also a small, select, range of accessories that are picked out for attention.

Images are good, with the occassional detailed shot and bicycles get a full page image, with the supporting text.

The actual structure of the book seems reasonably logical, with the content ordered by 'type' or 'purpose' into the sections. Beyond that though, things get a little 'thin' and 'vague' for my liking.

There doesn't appear to be much in the way of explanation as to why this particular one hundred items were selected. I approached it with the hope that it might be 'significant' designs, innovation or even things that were just different. What I felt was that, it read more like a catalogue, with little in the way of flow or connection between the bicycles that are presented.

The text really doesn't help either, as the information could easily be found in the websites or catalogues of the respective manufacturers. There's little that really catches the interest and makes a particular model, feature or detail stand out.

I'm left with the lingering question as to 'why' the selection was made, what made something stadnout from the crowd. Perhaps that's the purpose of the book, to make you think about it; but there's not enough information for me to chew over, leaving me feeling just a little short changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Best Bikes (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Best Bikes
100 Best Bikes by Zahid Sardar (Paperback - 10 Sept. 2012)
£14.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews