Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2015
great book but even XL is really small! It took us a bit to figure it out but in the end the pattern (#4) was simple to pin together. Sadly even XL is too small for me (L/XL would be sold as M/L here probably)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
This is the drape pattern featured in the Great British Sewing Bee final. This is a great book just like the first Drape Drape book. One tip to make your life easier is an Overlocker or Serger. Next is buy lots of jersey fabric and then go play. Some of the projects look difficult but as long as you know its just fabric origami you should be ok.
Have fun
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
This book is great, lovely designs including the single piece pattern that was used in the last episode of the Great British Sewing Bee 2015 but ... and it is a very big but and you should beware. The pattern sizes , even the extra large , are tiny and will not fit an average shapely person. There are no indications of how to increase the pattern size which is really disappointing and the pieces are complex so it is a difficult to work out how to enlarge them. I understand that some other Japanese patterns when published in English have included other , more European, sizes. But sadly not this one.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
This is a great book, it takes a little bit of time to wrap your head around the instructions as the photos inside are black and white but absolutely doable with decent drawn plans. Most of the patterns use jersey material so you may need to watch a few online videos / save small amount of additional material to practice on if you are not used to working with stretch materials. Also the book techniques are assuming you are using an overlocker, this would help considerably but is not essential. I don't have one, am not an amazing seamstress but still managed to create wearable clothes.

Please note the sizing in this book, L-XL (the largest size) is still only a UK 10-12. Also make sure you've lots of paper to trace designs onto as included patterns are all printed on top of one another and need tracing off.

These are the first jersey items I've sewn and whilst hemming took a bit of practise I made my first item in a day. If you like the look of the clothes just get hold of some jersey, stretch needles and have a go, its easier than you might imagine. Once you get the picture its relatively easy to pattern hack some of these designs if you want to change necklines etc. Be bold!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
I had no idea when I ordered this book that it comes complete with the styles in real sizes!
It saves lots of time and it is much easier than having to make patterns for what you like.
Really happy with it, instructions are there to sew the pieces as well :0)
You can't ask for anything more...
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
The book is absolutely fantastic and the accompanying patterns are extremely useful.
Definitely a book on the strongest can be recommended for people who are interested in fashion and stitching.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
I've made 2 patterns from this book so far. I absolutely love the designs. The process of tracing the pattern is a very long one. It takes more time to trace than to sew the garments.

I made Pattern No.2 the one-piece drape top and after making one, I immediately had to make another. Once you've gone through the process of tracing the pattern (which takes all day), the sewing bit is quick and easy so you might as well make more if you like it.

This book is not for the beginner sewer. Pattern No. 8 the two piece gather drape blouse is a step up in pattern origami from Pattern No.2. It takes a while to get your head round but again, after making one, I made another and it's a lot easier second time round.

I thoroughly recommend this book (a) if you like the designs (b) your are competent sewer.

Unfortunately though if you are a size 14+ the patterns in the book may be too small for you.
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Bought this book after being recommended by a friend and because it has the top from Sewing Bee. I haven't been disappointed it is everything I expected it to be. Looking forward to trying some of the projects, not a book for a beginner but a fascinating challenge for an experienced stitcher. It is also useful to have some experience of pattern drafting and draping as the sizes are quite small. There are plenty of ideas for sculpting with fabric. Quick delivery, good packaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
came as described, price reflects condition and directions easy to read. Must say though that the patterns at the back are to congested. Could do with better laid out blocks which is why i gave it a 5 star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Buyer beware! Bought this after seeing the GB Sewing Bee, and it's pattern number 4 from this book. Lovely patterns BUT the sizing is teeny tiny. The XL is for a 29 inch waist, which on e.g. Burda patterns would be a Small to Medium size, so if you needed to tweak sizing to suit, you can do so easily as the patterns are graded. So if you're anything larger than a UK shop size 10/12 this book is not for you (unless you have a genius ability to upsize patterns!) As my size is just on the cusp for this book, I'll be sewing in the seam allowance and using very stretchy jersey with lycra!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.56
£16.56

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)