Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every pregnant woman 'must' read
I have worked on a labour ward in Russia and have comforted hundreds of women in various stages of labour and I was personally present at over a hundred births. I am so pleased that I came across a book I can refer people to when they express incredulity at the fact that 90% of women give birth in Russia just on breathing techniques and a Russian equivalent of paracitamol...
Published 10 months ago by Nadia

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a classic but way too old!!
A 1920s booked masked as modern. Grantly Dick-read was a genius, and his ideas very progressive - but same subjects (natural birth) are much better researched now, and better understanding and techniques are available. Waste of money
Published 1 month ago by Max


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every pregnant woman 'must' read, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childbirth without Fear: The Principles and Practice of Natural Childbirth (Paperback)
I have worked on a labour ward in Russia and have comforted hundreds of women in various stages of labour and I was personally present at over a hundred births. I am so pleased that I came across a book I can refer people to when they express incredulity at the fact that 90% of women give birth in Russia just on breathing techniques and a Russian equivalent of paracitamol and DO NOT suffer unbearable pain. (The 10% that do are given an epidural). I often found women's experience of pain was worse if their contractions had started in the middle of the night and they did not get much sleep; the book confirmed my observation. A must read for every pregnant woman. However you might want to go straight to chapter 3; the first two chapters mostly deal with political issues that are not longer relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A booking with real care for and respect for women and the most natural process of childbirth, 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: Childbirth without Fear: The Principles and Practice of Natural Childbirth (Paperback)
A thoughtful and insightful book about childbirth and how it should be and can be for all women.
Explains the different process of pregnancy and childbirth and how the obstacles of fear and ignorance in the mother or those assisting the birth can sometimes be the biggest cause of a long and difficult labour and enhancer of pain in labour. Written by man who truly loves the magic and sacredness of childbirth and appreciates what is required by the mother and for the mother to keep it that way. Well worth reading. Reassuring empowering and educational
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every woman should read this, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childbirth without Fear: The Principles and Practice of Natural Childbirth (Paperback)
What an amazing book, and so ahead of its time it's just as relevant today. Not sure I'll get through all of it before I give birth, because it's not a light read, but very informative, and dare I use the cliche - empowering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Notes from a pioneer, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grantly-Read was one of the first proponents of active, natural birth in the times when this was considered an outright madness. His book is an uplifting and sometimes haunting account of how he developed his method and implemented his method. A great introduction to further reading on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic ideas in childbirth, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childbirth without Fear: The Principles and Practice of Natural Childbirth (Paperback)
I am halfway through reading this, so this is just a review for the impression I have so far.
It seems to cover some classic studies in natural childbirth practices and although the language and writing format seems a little dated at times! the ideas are very relevant today.
I am reading this in the hope of a relatively intervention-free birth, and I have to say the positive studies of women going through childbirth contained within this book are heartening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a classic but way too old!!, 4 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A 1920s booked masked as modern. Grantly Dick-read was a genius, and his ideas very progressive - but same subjects (natural birth) are much better researched now, and better understanding and techniques are available. Waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They should teach this in schools, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before I read this book I knew nothing of childbirth but the images we are shown on TV and movies. Despised having great grades in biology classes back in school, and despised having a very understanding mother who told me many things about childbirth, nothing compares to the insights this book holds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for natural childbirth advocates., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childbirth without Fear: The Principles and Practice of Natural Childbirth (Paperback)
I ordered this after reading the Hypnobirthing book by Marie Mongan. Very insightful and the author Grantly Dick-Read was years ahead of his time when he wrote this. A must for those wanting to experience natural childbirth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Childbirth without Fear: The Principles and Practice of Natural Childbirth
£9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews