Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, apposite, and extremely useful
Told with the aid of a highly entertaining tale about the fictional Chocolate Teapot Company, the Psychology of Price explains the key effects of pricing on retail, service and tender-based commerce.

Most people are aware of the 99p effect, but it turns out that the psychology of price goes much deeper, with techniques such as anchoring, bundles and decoys able...
Published on 7 Jan. 2013 by Martin Turner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the psychology of price
This is a topic I am interested in and there is a lot of relevant and

helpful information and examples in the book. I think if we truly knew

why 100% of buy things 100% of the time we would be on to a winner but

the answer isn't that simple, however there is a lot of food for

thought in this book especially in the "why people...
Published on 15 May 2013 by GBAL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars I like this book..., 11 Feb. 2013
By 
Clarke (Linlithgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Psychology of Price: How to use price to increase demand, profit and customer satisfaction (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nice, easy book to read which, considering the subject, makes it exceptional. I've got several books on pricing and it's a pretty dry subject. The author did a great job here of making it interesting and accessible. I happily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an interesting book, 16 May 2013
By 
Jessie (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Psychology of Price: How to use price to increase demand, profit and customer satisfaction (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This makes interesting reading for anyone in retail or anyone interested in retail. It discusses how the price points of items can increase your chances of a sale. A great read in the psychology of pricing and how you can use it in your business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good toolbox of pricing strategies, 20 May 2014
By 
Jim Smith (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An approach to teaching a range of rpicing strategies through a story of a fictional company. Hardly novel but still effective as the product - chocolate teapots - have little intrinsic value on the face of it until you read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars poor, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lot of common sense info structured in a difficult and slow read. I gave up half way through (not something I do very often)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Book, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant in terms of sharing a wide variety of pricing offerings and structures and the benefits of each. Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is good for someone who wants increase their sales by pricing their product. It's a good book. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, story lead foray into pricing strategy, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
Robert Hardie "Rob Hardie" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Psychology of Price: How to use price to increase demand, profit and customer satisfaction (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a well written and fascinating account of pricing. It delves into the psychology of pricing and how product placement affects the perceived value of a product. It is based on a story, a journey of a product and the different ways that the pricing comes about. The book is easy to read and is not too technical.
It doesn't cover all aspects and there are several popular pricing strategies that I hoped would be covered that aren't. That said, it is well worth the read if you are interested in the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars undoubtedly useful, 29 Mar. 2013
By 
R de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Psychology of Price: How to use price to increase demand, profit and customer satisfaction (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I struggled with whether to give this book 4 or 5 stars: much of the content and the information it gives is definitely 5 star material, but there are elements, to my mind, that might deter the reader, not least the back-story business that provides practical examples which gives an element of implausibility that may be hard to get around. However, the good points about the book are that I read it through with care and over time: it never ceased to hold my interest and, while not every idea or suggestion was helpful to my business, many were and others were adaptable. There are 30 diagnostic questions to evaluate your pricing structures and processes and I found it fascinating to explore different ways and means to present services and goods to customers in such practical and workable ways: if I use just three or four of them, I can see some definite advantages and have started with one already and received positive feedback. I have to say, that this is not an area of business that I have given enough attention to, having considered pricing as a purely economic exercise: this book adds an emotional element, which the author calls cognitive economics and differs from many books that use similar 'emotional response' tactics, because it is, basically, pragmatic and workable without having to change your normal mindset. I think that this is an unusual book, and one that I believe I have benefitted from reading and will refer back to as an aid to business. Recommended reading, as far as I am concerned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cuteness hides information, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
Graham R. Hill (Ilkley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Psychology of Price: How to use price to increase demand, profit and customer satisfaction (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The author's conceit of using the marketing of chocolate teapots to illustrate the points being made about pricing strategy are amusing for the first chapter, but rapidly pall. One significant problem is that much of the subject matter doesn't fit neatly into that framework and so the examples become, in the end, ridiculous. This is especially true of the epilogue, where stupid is probably a better word.

It's a shame because there is some good stuff behind the twee story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Psychology of Price: How to use price to increase demand, profit and customer satisfaction
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews