Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must read" for all Welsh rugby supporters, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Barry Taylor (Blackwood, South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pontypool RFC was once one of the strongest clubs in Wales, and famous all over the rugby world. Yet the club that could once boast an all-international pack has nearly folded several times and the glory days are just a memory. What happened?

This book explores, as its title suggests, the good, the bad and the ugly from a Pontypool perspective. Here you will read about the glory days, the fall from prominence during the unsustainable cash-waving of the early professional era, and the betrayal of not only Pontypool but of Welsh club rugby in general by the WRU as they badly botched the introduction of "regional" teams.

The authors pull no punches; they simply tell it as they see it.
Quite simply, if you're a Welsh rugby fan, even if you have never supported Pontypool, you should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insights into the change from amateur to professional game, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: The Rise and Fall of Pontypool RFC (Hardcover)
First half of the book charts the story of the Pooler with Ray Prosser's uncompromising fitness and need for southern hemisphere intimidation on field. I was surprised by the revelations about the "extras" handed out by my childhood heroes - it does explain why so many teams cancelled fixtures. I remember so well opposition supporters calling us animals - always thought it was down to our superior fitness, strength and uncompromising pack - but the book reveals that we set out to deliberately hurt the opposition, by fair means or foul. Having just watched the Autumn internationals, so much rings true - the first dilemma faced by WRU (and the Northern unions), to beat the SH, we've got to be willing to embrace the extras.

The second half jumps swiftly, and I think appropriately past the management issues on and off the field at Pooler - just a few facts covered in enough detail to not leave gaps, now we're onto professionalism in Welsh Rugby. From the outset, it seems like the WRU focused on the Welsh team, then the big clubs, then the players when implementing professional rugby. No mention of supporters. Just a basic analysis to say 30 elite players = 2 or 3 regions. A few parochial arguments later and we end up with 4 regions with the same supporter base that they always had. As long as the national team does well, then all is rosy in Welsh Rugby. This book explains the physics and economics of why this is unsustainable and a doomed plan. We can see it today with elite players following the money to the big English/French clubs.
All in all an easy read with contributions from great players and minds in valleys rugby - its great to know that the glaringly obvious solution to professional rugby in Wales is simple and known to everyone in Wales except the WRU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent well written book, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: The Rise and Fall of Pontypool RFC (Hardcover)
An excellent well written book. Very informative behind the scenes stories about Pontypool R.F.C. Such information not known to the general Poola supporter. I now know of some reasons for "The rise and fall of PONTYPOOL R.F.C." Also personally it was pleasing and surprising to read a couple of pages relative to my experiences with the co author Alun Carter during our employment in the Police Service. Thankyou Nick and Alun for a very good rugby book. You both did your homework
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insigbt, 22 Nov 2013
By 
K. Ronan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: The Rise and Fall of Pontypool RFC (Hardcover)
The book was bought as a present for an avid Pontypool Rugby fan. Suffice to say, he was t disappointed with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 22 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: The Rise and Fall of Pontypool RFC (Hardcover)
Bought this book as a present for my dad as he"s a lifelong Pontypool supporter. By the look that he didn't put it down for 2days that he enjoyed reading the book. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh Rugby is nothing without a Poola, 20 Nov 2013
I am a Blaenavon boy who has followed this iconic Gwent team all my life. The book is superb reading warts and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pontypool i love you, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: The Rise and Fall of Pontypool RFC (Hardcover)
outstanding book all the star rugby players if like me you have been a pooler fan four years its a must on the christmas list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 7 Dec 2013
By 
G. Williams (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: The Rise and Fall of Pontypool RFC (Hardcover)
I love well written sports books and, having grown up in Pontypool during the 70s and 80s, the prospect of a book on Pooler was mouth-watering. It didn't let me down. I love this book. It's very well written and jogs along at a steady pace, delving into areas that we Bank supporters wouldn't normally have access to. Of course, bearing in mind the authors, it's a little biased but why wouldn't it be? But then again, it isn't blind bias and offers a good insight into why Pontypool was such a great side whilst at the same time attracting the displeasure of rugby purists. I thoroughly recommend this book to Pontypool rugby followers and to anyone who is interested in Welsh rugby and to anyone who wants to learn about how southern hemisphere forward play arrived in the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed the Rise and fall of Pontypool RFC, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: The Rise and Fall of Pontypool RFC (Hardcover)
a very easy read, and good to get behind the nick names.
Could have read a few more chapters though before "the fall"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Jill Wadley (ORLANDO, FLORIDA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book brought to the many hours of standing on the halfway line being a young child. Then sitting in the stand as proud as punch knowing my boyfriend (Alun Carter) played for "Poola". A fabulous read and yet again brilliantly written by both authors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3190528)

This product

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: The Rise and Fall of Pontypool RFC
11.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews