Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heartwarming and heartbreaking
If ever there was a story that demonstrated the genorosity of the human spirit then it is within this book. The story is heartwarming as Mr. Coogan tells the story of his formative years and in particular how his passion for running would literally save his life when he was a prisoner of war in Japan during the Second World war.
His experience of being held captive...
Published on 22 Aug 2012 by Nicky Dorrian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andy Coogan's life story
I liked the book but felt that the title is not an accurate depiction of it (hence the 3 stars rather than 4). This is more a biography of Andy Coogan rather than a book which centres on the Japanese war camps. Much of the book concentrates on Andy's life before the war whilst his war experience is really secondary to the story of the man himself. Don't get me wrong, its...
Published 13 months ago by ps99


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars true story, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow You Die: The Astonishing Survival Story of a Second World War Prisoner of the Japanese (Paperback)
this book was really amazing .The story starts as a young boy and follows his life through the war and is truelly in put downable .yuo have got toknow what happens to him .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRAVE, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow You Die: The Astonishing Survival Story of a Second World War Prisoner of the Japanese (Paperback)
a very good book everyone should read do not know how they all survived or can forgive their captors but it was war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 5 Jun 2013
Could'nt put this book down. Amazing story of survival in the most awful of circumstances. I do not normally read this type of war book ... An excellent read .. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing man, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is by far the best book on Japanese pow I have ever read I urge people too read it. Thanks Andy googan now I know what my own father went through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book written by an outstanding individual. Although faced with a hard life he never gave up and always tried to help others. In today's world many could learn from Andy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tomorrow you die, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I grew up knowing the author I just had to buy it ,as a younger generation we do not know what these brave men went through and very few left to tell us . I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in this history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, how privileged we should be to walk in the footsteps of such brave people., 27 Mar 2013
I have read many p.o.w books, this is amongst the best, a touching reminder of what life was like and how thankful we should all be today; without such individuals what would life be like today ?

A emotionally challenging read, but respect the writer & it makes this book an honour to complete .......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tommorow you die, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written. The authors background is vividly described, the hardship he experienced did not deter him from making a very constructive life. He was fortunate in this respect from having a loving family and the people who surrounded them. The dreadful experiences he endured during his years as a POW did not affect his faith, and with the comradeship of his mates he comes through and continues his life in a very full and understanding way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Samuel BC McAusland (Lochearnhead, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful story of a very inspirational life. I liked it because it spoke of runners and events that I knew and spoke of them in affectionate detail but the book was more than that. It also covered Andy's time as a Japanese prisoner in grim detail but the cover picture is perhaps a bit misleading since both parts of his life are dealt with equally. It is a book to lift your spirits and understand a bit - we'll never understand the Japanese prisoner's lot properly - of the generation that was involved in the War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real tear-jerker, 25 Jan 2013
Brilliantly written. Moving and harrowing, but with laughter too. What a spirit Mr Coogan has . He is a great example to us all.

His experiences in Malaya were thrilling and his suffering as a prisoner were very moving. I could not put this book down.

Get it into the schools now!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews