Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always fun to travel with Phryne
Murder on the Ballarat Train is Kerry Greenwood's third installment in the popular Phryne Fisher series. Ms Greenwood has Phryne dealing with, in her inimitable fashion, matters as diverse as chloroform poisoning, amnesic victims of the child sex trade, kidnapping, mesmerism and murder. Bert and Cec make a useful appearance, and Dot and the Butlers play their usual...
Published on 28 Feb 2011 by Cloggie Downunder

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder on the Ballarat Train
A story which does not require too much thinking. A simple little plot with no gratuitous violence, which makes it good bed-time reading.
Published 13 months ago by ed.scot


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always fun to travel with Phryne, 28 Feb 2011
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Murder on the Ballarat Train is Kerry Greenwood's third installment in the popular Phryne Fisher series. Ms Greenwood has Phryne dealing with, in her inimitable fashion, matters as diverse as chloroform poisoning, amnesic victims of the child sex trade, kidnapping, mesmerism and murder. Bert and Cec make a useful appearance, and Dot and the Butlers play their usual dependable roles. Phryne takes a youthful lover, adopts two young girls and still manages to solve the cases of amnesia, kidnapping and murder before the week is out. Phryne's train trip may not have been too pleasant, but your journey with her in this novel is guaranteed to be very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Fisher a new type of detective, 27 April 2013
By 
S M A S K "smask" (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very much enjoyed this book, not intellectually demanding and didn't pretend to be. A little different from the tv series but nothing to throw you as the book clearly came first. Bit of a page turner and has encouraged me to buy more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book. She is cool character. Am watching series on television at moment and books are mostly the same. Not very big books so didn't take long to read. Will buy more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real 'cant put it down' page turner, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great fun with interesting people. I would say Phyrne Fisher is the closest I have ever read to a female version of 'The Saint' with the same taste in cars as Simon Templar and similar methods of investigation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder on the Ballarat Train, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A story which does not require too much thinking. A simple little plot with no gratuitous violence, which makes it good bed-time reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MISS PHRYNE, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this as much as others that I have read in this series andI found the Australian connection interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder on the Ballarat Train, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Phryne Fisher and her maid Dot are travelling by train to Ballarat when someone tries to chloroform the whole carriage and an elderly lady is murdered. Thanks to Phryne's quick thinking no one else suffers any lasting ill effects from the frightening experience. Phryne is asked by the victim's daughter to investigate the murder.

I enjoyed this fast paced story and thought it was well plotted. This is the third in the series Bert and Cec the taxi drivers find themselves investigating a mystery of their own. As well as showing the life of the rich the story features the lives of the poor and the seedy underbelly of Melbourne, Australia in the nineteen twenties.

The book is well written with plenty of touches of humour as well as the serious side of the mystery. If you enjoy Carola Dunn's Daisy Dalrymple series then you may enjoy Phryne Fisher as well. The books can be read in any order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up to her usual standard ...., 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always find the Phryne Fisher mysteries a delightful step back in time and laced with a rather wicked sense of humour.
This was no exception and I enjoyed the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and light, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another great Phryne Fisher mystery. Engaging characters, amazing clothes, and light romance. Mystery itself was hardly Agatha Christie, but then, they never are. Enjoyable nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've seen the TV series you'll enjoy the books.

I thought I'd take a look at the books as until I'd watched the show I'd never heard of Kerry Greenwood or her pistol packing lady dick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder on the Ballarat Train: Miss Phryne Fisher Investigates
Murder on the Ballarat Train: Miss Phryne Fisher Investigates by Kerry Greenwood (Paperback - 18 April 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews