Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So pleased to meet Miss Phryne Fisher
With the Australian TV series currently showing on UK's Alibi channel this series of charming cosy mysteries are finally getting published in the UK, though only the first three to date have appeared via C&R Crime's imprint.

For some reason though they decided to ditch the original title: 'Cocaine Blues' for a more generic title without drug reference even...
Published 16 months ago by V. O'Regan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant enough read
It's OK, but I'm not motivated to read any of the others. There are too many coincidences for me. There are some nice descriptions of life in Australia a hundred years ago.
Published 5 months ago by Graham R. Hill


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Cocaine Blues, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like all of Phrine Fisher murder mysteries, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and would recommend it to anyone who enjoy reading murder and detective mysteries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars relaxing fun, 13 May 2013
By 
S M A S K "smask" (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good fun to read, reads we'll, does what it says. Differs in places from the t v programmes but is very recognisable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Funny business", 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it is very like the TV productions. It is funny in places and as I have spent time in Melbourne some of the places filmed are those Iv'e seen.Although in some places it is risque there has been nothing nasty in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Phryne Fisher Investgates, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The Honourable Phryne Fisher has moved to Melbourne, Australia. It is the nineteen twenties and she is rich, beautiful and glamorous with a well-developed sense of justice. She has been asked to find out what is happening with Lydia Andrews by her parents, as Lydia always seems to be ill when her husband is at home and well when he isn't. Her worried parents fear he is trying to murder her in order to inherit her money.

Inadvertently Phryne becomes involved in tracking down and exposing an illegal abortionist and a cocaine racket. Then there's the gorgeous Sasha and the mysterious Princesse de Grasse. Ably assisted by the very down to earth Dot who is Phryne's maid and assistant, Phryne cuts a swathe through Melbourne society and routs out the wrong doers with admirable panache. The book is humorous and fast paced and even though it is dealing with serious subjects it is an entertaining read.

If you like mystery stories with plenty of life and adventure then you will love this book. I first read it nearly two years ago and enjoyed it then but on second reading it is even better. If you enjoy series such as Daisy Dalrymple by Carola Dunn then you will love Phryne Fisher.

NB: This book was originally published under the title of 'Cocaine Blues'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie meets Wonder Woman., 6 May 2012
THIS is what I have been waiting for, what a find!
The 1920's are a time period I have merely factual knowledge of, nothing cultural. I feel now that I have learnt an awful lot about clothes, expectations, food, travel, talk,prejudices and so on. The lead character of Phryne Fisher is instantly likable, a little too Daryl Rivers of Mallory Towers all grown up, she could have been a bit sassyer perhaps but a gem none the less. Supporting characters of Dot and the 2 taxi drivers and the leotard sporting Russian were cleverly drawn out and kept their place just behind Phryne without stealing her limelight. The drugs busting story line seems, upon reflection after finishing it to have been a little long winded but as I was going through it I didn't mind. Basically, this is the offering to start you off with your love affair with Phryne, I personally am hooked and want to know ehat else she gets up to.
Best bit? The racing car. Worst? The stop start recording of this audiobook was really annoying.
Apart from that, fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't even finish it!, 5 Jun 2013
By 
A. E. Copinger-symes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very rarely do I give up on a book, but this was one I struggled with and finally abandoned. The heroine is the most irritating character I have ever met, if she had "paused to light another gasper" one more time I would have thrown her, Kindle and all out of the nearest window. I bought it as Amazon was offering the Kindle edition for 99p. Very glad I did not spend any more money on it. Would urge you not to waste yours fellow review readers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because I seen TV series. Book of course gives you more details that what can be fitted in to tv. I love Phryne. What a character. Pity there is no romance between her and Jack as they have put into tv series. Have bought 2 more books in this series. Enjoying so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 9 Oct 2011
If you think you would like entertaining audio books about a glamorous young lady private investigator in Melbourne, Australia of the 1920's, then you will like Ms Phryne Fisher . Is the heroine rather too perfect, lucky, beautiful and talented - yes of course she is! But, this book is a lot of escapist fun. Be warned that there are even some mild sex scenes - tastefully done of course! Those familiar with Melbourne Australia will recognize many landmarks and places still in existence today. An excellent start to a wonderful series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Phryne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saw it on the TV, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this series on the TV and decided that I would like to read the books. I was happy to find them but as yet I have not read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miss Phryne Fisher Investigates (A Phryne Fisher Mystery)
Miss Phryne Fisher Investigates (A Phryne Fisher Mystery) by Kerry Greenwood (Paperback - 18 April 2013)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews